Test Drive Our New Site! We have some improvements in the works that we're excited for you to experience. Click here to try our new, faster, mobile friendly beta site. We will be maintaining our current version of the site thru the end of 2024, so you can switch back as our improvements continue.
Legislation Quick Search
06/22/2024 01:05 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2021 - 2022 Regular Session


Posted: February 12, 2021 01:33 PM
From: Representative Ed Neilson
To: All House members
Subject: Unemployment Compensation During Extended Mandatory Quarantines (Formerly HB 2766)
Extended quarantine due to the COVID-19 pandemic has had a profound consequence, especially on our workers. For those without paid sick leave, unemployment compensation benefits should be available when workers are prevented from being on the job during an extended mandatory quarantine. While staunching the spread of COVID-19 is our priority, Pennsylvania workers and their families still have households to maintain and bills to pay.   

My legislation will ensure unemployment compensation benefits are immediately available for workers ordered into quarantine or isolation and that benefits remain available for the duration of the quarantine or isolation period. It excludes workers using paid sick or other leave during these periods.

Those struggling to keep their families safe, cut off from work with no income through no fault of their own, need and deserve our support. I ask you to join me in providing this necessary benefit to our workforce doing their part in the battle against this pandemic and future public health emergencies.

Previous co-sponsors were Representatives Williams, Isaacson, Mullery, Burgos, Malagari, Kim, A. Davis, Solomon, Ciresi, McNeill, Sanchez, Harkins, Kinsey, Hanbidge, Lee, Pashinski, Hohenstein, Freeman, Zabel, Rozzi, Cephas, Howard, Schlossberg, Sims, Delloso, Hill-Evans, O'Mara, Gleim, Galloway, Webster, Merski, Bernstine, Gaydos, Schweyer, Warren, Madden, Gainey, Deasy, Donatucci, Caltagirone, and Ravenstahl.

Introduced as HB582