|Posted:||December 10, 2019 01:30 PM|
|From:||Representative Kristine C. Howard and Rep. Christopher M. Rabb|
|To:||All House members|
|Subject:||Co-Sponsorship: Prohibiting Concealed Carry While Intoxicated|
|As you know, Pennsylvania law allows citizens to carry a concealed firearm after obtaining a permit from their local sheriff’s department. Firearms and alcohol, when used together, greatly increase the risk of tragedy, even for the most diligent of firearm owners. A number of states have recognized this combination as a danger to citizen safety, with at least 30 states, including Ohio and Maryland, banning the carrying of a weapon while under the influence of alcohol.
Our bill aims to protect our Commonwealth’s responsible firearm users and their loved ones from potentially deadly incidents by adding blood alcohol content limits for concealed carrying. Under this measure, individuals carrying a firearm with a blood alcohol content of .08% or greater would commit a summary offense, with a $100 fine and suspension of their concealed carry permit for up to three years. A second or subsequent offense would result in a misdemeanor of the third degree, a $500 fine, and a license suspension of at least three years, with the possibility of permanent permit revocation.
With that said, firearms can be, and too often are, deadly weapons. When used under the influence of alcohol by irresponsible firearm owners, they can injure and even kill those we love.
To that end, please join us in co-sponsoring this important, commonsense bill to help keep our Commonwealth safe.
If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Representative Howard’s office at (717) 783-4088.
Introduced as HB2145