Legislation Quick Search
08/08/2020 09:59 AM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
https://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=H&SPick=20190&cosponId=29977
Share:
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


House of Representatives
Session of 2019 - 2020 Regular Session

MEMORANDUM

Posted: July 16, 2019 03:19 PM
From: Representative Lori A. Mizgorski
To: All House members
Subject: Notification Requirements for CDL Drivers
 
Every day thousands of motorists, cyclists and pedestrians travel on roads across Pennsylvania, and we all share the responsibility of keeping our roadways safe. For those who hold commercial driver’s licenses (CDL), there is a greater responsibility to drive safely because of the greater size and weight of commercial vehicles.

I was alarmed to learn of a tractor trailer driver who caused two fatal accidents within six months. In July of 2018, the first fatal accident occurred on Interstate 81 in Lebanon County. By the time this individual was convicted of careless driving, he had already caused a second fatal accident in Ohio. The reckless actions of this commercial driver caused me to review Pennsylvania’s laws regarding the reporting of traffic violations. I found that the current PA Vehicle Code requires commercial drivers to report non-parking traffic violations to their employer within 30 days of conviction.

Given current law, I believe Pennsylvania’s traffic violation reporting requirements should be
updated to ensure employers receive notifications from their employees more expediently, as
well as require the reporting of violations pending adjudication.

My legislation will specifically provide for the following with the respect to CDL drivers reporting traffic violations to their employers:
  • A non-parking traffic violation conviction must be reported within 15 days instead of 30.
  • A driver must notify his or her employer within 30 days of being arrested, cited or charged with a non-parking traffic violation.
  • An employer that receives a timely notice regarding an employee being arrested, cited or charged with a non-parking traffic violation may not terminate the employee unless the employee is convicted of the violation.
  • Failure to provide employer notice is a summary offense and a $100 fine.
  • If the unreported violation is a serious traffic offense, felony or DUI, an additional $300 fine shall be imposed.
I hope you will join me in cosponsoring this legislation that will increase the safety of all drivers
in the Commonwealth.



Introduced as HB2296