Legislation Quick Search
12/01/2021 08:42 AM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2019 - 2020 Regular Session


Posted: December 10, 2018 03:10 PM
From: Representative Greg Rothman
To: All House members
Subject: Electronic Recycling Relief (Previously HB 2089 in 2015-16 Legislative Session)
In 2010, the Pennsylvania General Assembly passed the Covered Device Recycling Act (Act 108), requiring recycling of certain “covered” electronic devices, including computers, monitors, tablets, and televisions. Though well-intentioned, since passage of this law, a variety of systemic obstacles have developed. Today, we see frustrating pileups of recyclables with no market for their repurposing or option for their disposal. Recycling programs have collapsed under this weight, leaving consumers with no opportunities to dispose of unwanted items. And residents across rural Pennsylvania have seen already limited options for recycling become even more uncommon.

Before these problems turn into more illegal dumpsites (already a growing problem that threatens water and environmental quality), in the near future, I will introduce legislation to authorize the Department of Environmental Protection to waive the provisions of Act 108 for municipalities located greater than five (5) miles from a DEP-permitted electronic recycling facility. This legislation will help ease the glut of recyclables while also providing relief to our rural communities where access to recycling centers is extremely sparse, all while ensuring that covered devices are properly disposed of in safely regulated landfills rather than illegally dumped or dangerously stockpiled.

Please join me in cosponsoring this important piece of legislation.

Previous Cosponsors: Kauffman, Schemel, Causer, Phillips-Hill, Murt, Irvin, Grove, Saylor, McGinnis, Warner, Major, Moul, Regan, Ortitay, Kavulich, B. Miller, Boback, Topper and Klunk

Introduced as HB75