Legislation Quick Search
12/07/2021 08:15 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

Subscribe to PaLegis Notifications

Subscribe to receive notifications of new Co-Sponsorship Memos circulated

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search

House of Representatives
Session of 2017 - 2018 Regular Session


Posted: December 14, 2016 03:12 PM
From: Representative William C. Kortz, II
To: All House members
Subject: Loan Forgiveness for Dentists Act (former HB 1815)
In the near future, I intend to re-introduce legislation (former HB 1815 of the 2015-2016 Legislative Session), which would establish the Loan Forgiveness for Dentists Program in the Pennsylvania Higher Education Assistance Agency (PHEAA).

According to the American Dental Education Association, the average dental student graduates with upwards of $241,000 in debt, which is an increase of more than 66% in the last decade. Dentists who continue their education in specialty training typically assume an even greater amount. Graduating dentists quickly become small business owners subject to their state’s economy, taxes, regulations and insurance policies. Many dentists choose to relocate to an area with a large patient base in order to increase their chances of earnings and reduce their overwhelming debt. Unfortunately, in Pennsylvania, only 30% of graduating dentists return to practice in our Commonwealth.

It is my belief that we must offer a greater incentive to our students to pursue training in dentistry in order to maintain the delivery of quality dentistry in the Commonwealth. My legislation would establish the Loan Forgiveness for Dentists Program in which PHEAA would be able to forgive up to 50% of the dentist’s loan, not exceeding $100,000. The recipient would be subject to a four (4) year contract with the agency and the award would be forgiven over a four (4) year period at an annual rate of 25%.

Please join me in encouraging quality dentistry in our Commonwealth by adding your name as a co-sponsor to this legislation.

Previous co-sponsors: V. Brown, Schweyer, Thomas, James, Boback, McNeill, McCarter, Rozzi, Fabrizio, Schlossberg, DeLuca, Youngblood, Cohen, Saylor, Murt and Gibbons

Introduced as HB1135