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2021 Legislator Salary, Mileage, and Per Diem by State

November 1, 2021
State Salaries Mileage Session Per Diem Rate
Reimbursement
Per Diem Salary Annual Salary Rate (cents/mile)

Alabama n/a $51,734 56/mile. For overnight stays: $85/day. For two or more
days with overnight stays: $100/day.

Alaska n/a $50,400 56/mile. For legislators whose permanent residence is not
in Juneau: up to $293/day. For Juneau
legislators: no per diem. Additionally, legislators
who must move to and from Juneau for regular
session are entitled to be reimbursed for
relocation expenses.

Arizona n/a $24,000 56/mile. Tred to the For legislators residing within Maricopa County:

Jederal rate. $35/day for the first 120 days of regular and
special sessions and $10/day for all following
days. For legislators residing outside of Maricopa
County: $60/day for the first 120 days of regular
and special sessions and $20/day for all
following days. Set by statute.

Arkansas n/a $42,428 56/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the
capitol: $55/day. For legislators residing more
than 50 miles from the capitol: $151/day.

California n/a $114,877 53/mile. $211/day.
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Colorado n/a $40,242 56/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the
capitol: $45/day. For legislators living more than
50 miles from the capitol: $219/day. Sez by zhe
legistature. Vonchered.

Connecticut n/a $28,000 56/mile. Téed #o foderal | No per diem is paid.

rate.

Delaware n/a $47,291 40/ mile. No per diem is paid.

Florida n/a $29,697 44.5/mile. $152/day for up to 50 days for senators and up
to 60 days for representatives. Vouchered.

Georgia n/a $15,608 56/mile. Tied o federal $173/day. Set by the 1 egislative Services Commrittee.

rate. Unvonchered,

Hawaii n/a $62,604 56/mile, For legislators who do not reside on Ozhu:
$225/day. For legislators living on Oahu during
the mandatory five-day recess only: $10/day.
Legislators who do not reside on Ozhu also
receive reimbursement for their air travel costs
to commute from their home island to Oahu.

Idaho n/a $18,691 56/mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the
capitol: $71/day. For legislators residing more
than 50 miles from the capitol: $139/day.

Ilinois n/a $69,464 39/mile. $151/day.

Indiana n/a $28,102.50 57/1’!1116 Tied tofedem/ $183/day Unvouchered, Any additional expenses

rate. must be approved by the President pro tem.

Iowa n/a $25,000 39/mile. $172/day. Unvouchered. During the intetim, hotel
stays are covered for two-day meetings or with
prior approval.

Kansas $88.66/session day. n/a 56/mile. One round $151/day.

trip per week.
Kentucky $188.22/calendar day, | n/a 56/mile. Tied 2o federal | $166.10/day.
rate.
Louisiana n/a $16,800 56/mile. Tied to federal | $160/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.

rate.




Maine n/a $15,417 for the first regular | 44/mile. $38/day for lodging (or mileage up to $38/day in
session. $10,923 (estimate) lieu of lodging, plus actual tolls). $32/day for
for the second regular meals. Sez by statute.
session.
Maryland n/a $50,330 56/mile. Legislators $106/day for lodging. $56/day for meals.
receive §750/ year as
tascable income for in-
district travel, but they
may decline the
allowance.
Massachusetts n/a $70,536 No mileage No per diem is paid. Legislators residing within 50
reimbursement. miles of the statehouse receive an office expense stgpend of
Legistators residing 817,043 that can be used for travel expenses. Legislators
within 50 miiles of the residing more than 50 miles from the state honse receive
statehouse receive an $22,723.
office expense stipend of
$17,043 that can be
used for travel expenses.
Legislators residing more
than 50 miles from the
state house receive
$22,723.

Michigan n/a $71,685 56/mile. Tied 2o federal | No per diem is paid. Legistators receive an exqpense
rate. allowance of $10,800/ year for session and interim. Set

by the compensation commission. V ouchered.
Minnesota n/a $46,500 56/mile. One ro#nd For senators: $86/day. For representatives:
trip per week. Tied to $66/day. Additional compensaton for
Jederal rate. communication, living expenses and district
travel may be possible.

Mississippi n/a $23,500 56/mile. $151/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered.
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Missouri n/a $35,915 37 /mile. $121/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvouchered,
Montana $100.48/legislative n/a 56/mile. Tied to federal | $126.12/day. For additional expenses, legislators
day. rate. also reeive a primary $3,000 stipend and a
secondary amount between $1,000 and $4,000
depending on the square mileage of a legislator's
district.
Nebraska n/a $12,000 56/mile. Tied to federal | For legislators residing within 50 miles of the
rate. capitol: $55/day. For legislators residing mote
than 50 miles from the capitol: §151/day.
Nevada $164.69/calendar day | n/a 56/mile. Tied to federal | $151/day. Travel allowance of $10,000/session,
up 10 60 days. Senators rate. and additional $900/session leadership
who are not up for allowance.
reelection until 2022
receive §159.89/ calendar
day.
New Hampshire | n/a $100 56/mile. Téed to federal | No per diem is paid.

rate. Legislators can
nstead choose the state
mileage reimbursement
option, which is 38/ mile
Jor the first 45 miles,
and 19/ mile thereafler.
With this alternative
method, the
reimbursement is taxed
as income, and legislators
do not need to drive their
personal vebicle.




New Jersey n/a $49,000 No mileage No per diem is paid.
reimbursement.
New Mexico n/a $0 56/mile. Tied to federal | $165/day (January and February); §194/day
rate. (Match). Tied to federal rate. Vonchered.
New York n/a $110,000 56/mile Tied to federal | For non-overnight travel: $61/day. For
rate. overnight stays: $176/day.
North Carolina n/a $13,951 29/mile. One round $104/day. Set by statute. Unvonchered. For
trip per week. additional expenses, legislators receive
$559/month.
North Dakota n/a $518/month. $526/month 56/mile. Tied to federal | $186/day. $189/day starting July 1, 2021;
starting July 1, 2021; rate. $193/day starting July 1, 2022.
$537/month starting July 1
2022,
Ohio n/a $67,492 52/mile for legislators | No per diem is paid.
living ontside Franklin
Connyy.
Oklahoma n/a $47,500 56/mile. Tied to federal | $165/day. Tied to federal rate. Unvonchered.
rate.
Oregon n/a $32,839 56/ mile. Tied to federal | $151/day.
rate.
Pennsylvania n/a $90,335 56/tmile.Tied to federal | $178/day.
rate.
Rhode Island n/a $16,636 57.5/mile. No per diem is paid.
South Carolina n/a $10,400 56/mile. Tied to federal | $173/day. Tied 2o federal rate.

rate.




South Dakota n/a $12,851 One trip is paid at $151/day. Legisiative days only. Unvouchered.
5/mile, and the
remaining are paid at
42/mile. One round
trip per week.

Tennessee n/a $24,316 47 /mile. For legislators residing within 50 miles of the
capitol: $61/day. For legislators residing more
than 50 miles from the capitol: $295/day. Tied #o

federal rate. Unvonchered.

Texas n/a $7,200 50/mile. $1.21/mile | $221/day. Set by ethics commission. Unvonchered,

for single, twin and
turbo engine
airplanes. Sez by
general appropriations
bill. Legislators also
receive
reimbursement for
transportation costs
for one roundtrip
home each week.

Utah $285/legislative day. n/a 56/mile. No per diem is paid. Legislators residing more than
100 mriles from the capito! can receive expense
reimbursement for meals and lodging.

Vermont n/a $742.92/week during 56/mile. T7ed to federal | $75/day because the legislature is meeting

session. rate. remotely for the 2021 session.

Virginia o/a $18,000 for senators. 56/mile. $211/day.

$17,640 for delegates.
Washington n/a $56,881 56/mile. Tied to foderal | $120/day.
rate.
West Virginia n/a $20,000 48.5/mile. $131/day. Sez by compensation commission.

Unvouchered.




Wisconsin n/a $55,141 51/mile. One round $115/day for senators who reside outside of
trip per week. Dane County; those in Dane County receive
$57.50. $153 (with overnight) or $76.50/day (no
overnight) for representatives. Per diem can be
dlaimed up to 90 days per year.
Wyoming $150/day. n/a 56/mile. $109/day. Set by legislature. Vonchered. Legislators

also receive an additional $300/month; 1/2
salary for 1 day of preparation for each day the
legislator is engaged in work for the Management
Council or any committee; and 1/2 salary for
each day the member travels to and from an
interim activity for which he/she is entitled to
receive a salary.




