Tioga County Commissioners

MARK L. HAMILTON COMMISSIONER

ROGER C. BUNN COMMISSIONER

ERICK J. COOLIDGE COMMISSIONER



JANICE CHAMBERLAIN CHIEF CLERK

CHRISTOPHER GABRIEL SOLICITOR

PHONE 570-723-8209 FAX 570-723-8206

Courthouse Annex 118 Main Street Wellsboro, PA 16901

Tioga County Board of Commissioners - Testimony
PA House State Government Committee
Redistricting
October 12, 2021

Mr. Chairman and Members of the Committee:

The Tioga County Board of Commissioners wish to thank you and this esteemed committee for the opportunity to comment on the important issue of how our Congressional District will be geographically defined for the next decade. I will be brief.

The Tioga County Board of Commissioners offer no change to the geographical boundaries already established that define our political boundaries. As currently defined, all of Tioga County is included in the 12th Congressional District.

Regionally, our composition of "rural" needs is understood by those who represent Tioga County and surrounding Counties; and any proposal to reconstruct our area, simply to create a different geographic region, does not have justification, in our opinion.

It is, however critical in any event that our County remain as a whole in any redistricting project. For our County to be divided amongst multiple districts would create undue burden for our election officials, create confusion with our electorate, and make clear communication with our state elected officials more difficult.

We respectfully request that our Congressional boundaries, as currently defined, remain unchanged.

Thank you for your time and efforts on this most important issue.

Tioga County Board of Commissioners

Mark L. Hamilton

Roger C. Bunn

Erick J. Coolidge