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Re: State Gift Disclosure Laws and Pennsylvania Comparison 

The purpose of this memo is to provide a national perspective on states' gift disclosure laws and to 
compare the proposed HB 1872 to these laws. 

Gi ft laws. States generally define gifts as the giving of something of value for which nothing is expected 
in return. Pennsylvania's definition is similar. In Title 65, Section 13A03, a gift is defined as "Anything 
which is received without consideration of equal or great value." States may be similar in their definitions 
of gifts, but they differ in their exceptions. Common exceptions include de minimis gifts, gifts given by 
friends or family members, awards, or gifts for certain occasions. Exemptions related to hospitality are 
also common. Pennsylvania exempts hospitality, including meals, beverages, recreation and 
entertainment, transportation or lodging from its gift definition, as do many other states. 

Regulating gifts. A growing trend by states is to regulate both the giving and receiving of gifts. Among 
the ways states regulate gifts are to: 

• Ban gifts from lobbyists and others 

• Set a monetary limit on gifts that can be given or received 

• Require gifts at certain monetary threshold to be disclosed by legislators. Categories may include 
food and beverage, travel, general gifts, honorariums and gifts to members of the lawmaker's 
household 

• Establish exceptions that may include food, hospitality and events 

• Limit or prohibit the acceptance of gifts in certain situations 

• Require lobbyists disclose the gifts that they provide to public officials. 

Disclosure: Pennsylvania's Public Officers' Law states that "in order to strengthen faith and 
confidence" in government, the public has a right to "be assured that the financial interests of (office 
holders) do not conflict with the public trust." Similar language exists in other state statutes that have 
disclosure laws. These laws are one of the tools states use to regulate gifts. 

Thirty-six states plus the District of Columbia require legislators to disclose gifts received from lobbyists 
and others. States may also require lobbyists to disclose gifts they give to lawmakers. These are not 
necessarily the same states. Indiana once required legislators to disclose gifts but in 2011 the law was 
amended to only require that lobbyists report on gifts given to legislators. 



Colorado, Florida, Kentucky, Massachusetts, North Carolina and Wisconsin, which are considered no 
cup-of-coffee states (where limited or no gift giving or receiving from lobbyists is allowed), also have 
disclosure requirements. In these states, the disclosure requirements apply to limited gifts that can be 
accepted - gifts such as reimbursement for permissible travel related to official public duties, gifts 
received on behalf of the legislature or gifts from non-lobbyists. The other "no cup of coffee" states, 
Louisiana, Minnesota and South Carolina, do not require disclosure of gifts, as most gifts are not 
permissible. Idaho, Michigan and Vermont have no legislator financial disclosure requirements at all- be 
it for gifts or sources of personal income. 

Disclosure thresholds. Nearly 70 percent of all reporting thresholds are set at a value that is greater than 
or equal to one hundred dollars. The most common threshold is $100. Eight states and the District of 
Columbia use a reporting threshold of $100 for gifts. The states are Arkansas, Indiana, Maryland, 
Massachusetts, Nebraska, Rhode Island, Virginia, and West Virginia. Five of these 8 states set the 
threshold at $100 for any single gift, while Maryland, Massachusetts, and Virginia use $100 as an 
aggregate threshold. Maryland and Virginia also include a lower reporting threshold for individual gifts. 
When reporting travel reimbursement the most prominent trend is requiring public officials to report any 
and all travel expenses that have been provided or reimbursed by a party other than the government. 
Three states have this threshold, Florida, Washington and Wisconsin. 

Pennsylvania House Bill No. 1872 proposes lowering the gift threshold to $50. Four states use this 
threshold. They are California, Colorado (with periodic adjustments tied to the Consumer Price Index as 
the maximum value of any gift able to be received by a public official), Virginia, and Wisconsin. Four 
states use thresholds below $50.They are Florida ($25), Maryland ($20), New Hampshire ($25), and Ohio 
($25 for gifts from a lobbyist). 

House Bill No. 1872 also proposes lowering the threshold for reporting travel reimbursement to 
reimbursements that exceed $100. Statutes concerning travel expenses specifically are less common than 
statutes concerning gifts in general, but some states use thresholds that are similar to Pennsylvania's 
proposed level. As is discussed above, the most prominent trend is that all travel reimbursements must be 
reported. Additionally, Arkansas and Oregon use thresholds that are similar to the proposed level. 
Arkansas's threshold is $150. Oregon's threshold is $50. 

2014 State Action. In its 2014 session, Virginia amended its gift law to require more frequent, (semi­
annual) gift reporting and reporting of gifts to family members. Kentucky expanded its no-cup-of-coffee 
statute to prohibit lobbyists and employers from buying food and beverages for legislators, candidates and 
their families. The annual gift disclosure requirement remained unchanged. 

Disclaimer: The Center for Ethics in Government at NCSL does not rank states or assess the strength or weakness 

of their ethics laws. We make no judgment on whether a law is effective or should be copied We do not develop 

model legislation. Our research focuses on how ethics and lobbying laws apply to the legislative branch of 

government. 



Gifts Travel Other 
v:~~~=-"i'•"""'~;';''"''>~;e~~~~' ~""°"''"'~;~··.~~· ·'·.· 11· t~'>"i''"·'YN'"!i'.i!;-'.~"'7j'f.·-·~ .·~ ~ .· .·-. ·-·•l'!U'~-.. ~~'°-illl.:",_.,.. '•t.; -"lit .... ~ " - . IJ\~\\-;u"1-~l-!1tf~r-~-i'.'~,.. - . - ':iif-.~ ,,.,~l . ..,# ~i -.. . 'i"~"k":'r·~~ .... !.:"\: - l i . ...~in ··•t •• 7! ~·r,,:.. , ""'"""""'"~ .h!'.5l:~~,; ,, .,..._!.i·;rrt:H•< -: ~ - :1·-:-::1'1':! 1 · · . ··-' "' ' ,,, - ,,,,;,.,~:: H:~:~,__,. ,~ · . · _ . . _ . 111 a""~-'" . ~ ._,, , . :oo:t~"'~~·~-.... --.............. ~\tt'.XM ;,~Lli:! ~7E<.'.3J~.,......~ ..... ~ .. i...::ti .. a:'6. • . • ,. . , ... ~t·-.:::s! ·!..-.. .... ;·.,.~ ·-• ..c>1~..e.4...::..-Ntit~."">~a--~~ -~· .,. • .. l:c_..:._~- • . ;il(~;.4...~0ALL~-...:.-... 

Alabama 

Alaska 

Arizona 

Arkansas 

California 

Colorado 

Connecticut 

D.C. 

Delaware 

Florida 

Georgia 

Guam 

Hawaii 

Idaho 

Illinois 

Indiana 

Iowa 

Kansas 

Kentucky 

Louisiana 

Maine 

Maryland 

Massachusetts 

Michigan 

Minnesota 

Mississippi 

Missouri 

Montana 

Nebraska 

Nevada 

$500.00 

$100.00 

$50.00 

53* 

$250.00 

25or100* 

$500.00 

$100.00 

$200.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$500.00 

$200.00 

$300.00 

$20.00 $100.00 

$100.00 

$200.00 

$100.00 

$200.00 

$250.00 

$150.00 

$50.00 

$0.00 

$0.00 

Legal 

to child 

* = only if an exception 

$200.00 

$0.00 expenditures 

250 30 days 

annually 

250 annually 

annually 

30 Days 

annually 

1000 annually 
* = only if and depending on the exception 

$0.00 annually 

unknown value 

$500.00 some hospitality 

$2,000.00 

2 or > admission tickets 

$100.00 

200* * = applies in aggregate also 

annually 

O annually 

100 

100 annually 

annually 

annually 

annually 



* = 10 days following 

meals at events concerning ** = last day of the next 

New Hampshire O** O** O** official business $25* month 

New Jersey $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 
New Mexico 

New York $1,000.00 $1,000.00 $1,000.00 annually 
North Carolina $200.00 $200.00 annually 

North Dakota 

75 generally 

25 from a 

legislative 
Ohio agent $0.00 meals $100 annually 

Oklahoma $200.00 annually 

Oregon $50.00 $15.00 annually 

Pennsylvania $250.00 $650.00 annually 

Puerto Rico 

Rhode Island $100.00 $100.00 annually 

$25 in a day 

or $200 in a 

South Carolina $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 $0.00 if from a regulated business year annually 
South Dakota 

donations used in defraying 

costs normally associated 

Tennessee with legislative duty 0 annually 

Texas $250.00 annually 
Utah 
Vermont 

Virginia $50.00 $100.00 $200.00 $200.00 annually 

Washington all all food and beverage 50 annually 

West Virginia $100.00 $100.00 annually 

Wisconsin $50.00 $50.00 $50.00 annually 

Wyoming 


