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Good afternoon Chairman Markosek and members of the Committee. My name is Brian
Newbacher and I*‘m director of public affairs for AAA East Central, a member of the Federation
of Pennsylvania AAA Clubs.

Today, 1 will talk about the dangers young drivers face, what that means for the rest of us,
and what AAA believes can be done to better protect Pennsylvania’s motorists. I also will
highlight what other states have done to reduce the number of crashes involving teen drivers and
I will focus on states that AAA believes are worthy of duplication.

But first, I would like to take this opportunity to thank the General Assembly for its
leadership in creating Pennsylvania’s Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program. The
Commonwealth’s minimum age of 16 years for a junior license, and a six-month holding period
before proceeding to the intermediate stage, place it among just a handful of states in the top tier
for these requirements. The other states are Kentucky, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York
and Rhode Island as indicated on the chart titled “GDL Laws.”

Despite the success of GDL programs thus far, teen crashes remain a major safety
issue—and not just for the young person behind the wheel. According to a AAA analysis
conducted two years ago, 1,067 citizens lost their lives over a 10-year period (1995-2004) in
crashes in Pennsylvania involving a teen driver. Two-thirds of those lives lost were people other
than the driver, including their passengers, people in other cars and pedestrians. So it’s
important to understand this problem potentially affects everyone.

Graduated licensing does save lives but comprehensive GDL programs save even more
lives. The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety released another report last year showing that
states with at least five of seven key GDL components* obtained major life-saving and crash-
reducing benefits.

In states with these comprehensive GDL programs, 16-year-old drivers were involved in
38 percent fewer fatal crashes and had 40 percent fewer injuries. That’s why, even with all 50
states now having some form of GDL, so many legislatures are looking to improve their teen
licensing efforts.

In Pennsylvania, the largest gaps in its teen licensing laws are related to dangerous
distractions. Two of these distractions — teen passengers and wireless communication devices —
are targeted by bills that have been introduced this session.



Let’s start by looking at passenger limits. They’re a key part of all major safety
organization’s model GDL programs. As of today, 39 other states have already added passenger
limits. If you look at the color map provided it might surprise you to know that Pennsylvania is
the only state in the Northeast or Mid-Atlantic region without one.

Of our neighboring states, three are considering bills to improve the passenger limits they
already have in place. And as you can see from the “GDL” chart, many states, such as Alaska
and Colorado, specifically restrict passengers younger than age 21.

For a teen driver, the presence of even one peer passenger almost doubles the crash risk
of driving alone. With two or more peers along for the ride, the risk spikes to five times
according to research by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.

As a result—AAA strongly supports—as a minimum, no more than one non-family
passenger under age 21 for af least the first six months. AAA is pleased to see that legislation
before this committee proposes a limit beyond the recommended minimum, by calling for no
passengers until age 18. This is similar to the laws currently on the books in New Jersey and
Virginia.

AAA supports this improvement because the research is compelling. In addition, AAA
members, who represent a large percentage of your constituents, resoundingly support them. In
fact, 93 percent of Pennsylvania members are in favor of the passenger limit called for in the
current proposal.

But passenger limits alone do not counter all of the distractions teen drivers face. Today,
it’s something of an understatement to say we live in a fast-paced world. Communications
technology is everywhere, including the automobile. This is a major distraction, especially for
inexperienced drivers. Last July, AAA and Seventeen Magazine released the results of a study
on teen driving behaviors. The results, quite frankly, were alarming. More than half of the teens
surveyed admitted to risky behavior behind the wheel that involves technology. Of them:

e 51 percent said they talk on a cell phone;
» 43 percent said they read text messages, and;
e 32 percent said they send text messages.

AAA understands that distracted driving — including the use of cell phones and other
devices — is a significant contributor to teen crashes. Therefore, AAA supports a ban on all
wireless communication devices for junior drivers until a full license is granted, except in
the case of an emergency.

If you refer to the chart titled “Teen Cell Ban” you can review the states that have taken
steps to address this growing problem. Laws prohibiting or limiting the use of cell phones by
teens are now in place in 17 states and the District of Columbia.

As you can see, there’s quite a range of remedies and some laws do, in fact, specify a
restriction on “wireless communication devices.”



This language captures all devices that are capable of sending and receiving text
messages. Maryland does it this way. Nebraska, Oregon and Texas also use this language.

Another component of a strong GDL program is a limit on night-time driving. Teens are
at greatest risk when driving at night. In fact, more than half of all crashes -- 54 percent —occur
between 9 p.m. and midnight. To have a real impact on safety, a night-time limit needs to keep
novice drivers off the roads during these high-risk hours.

If you look back at the GDL chart, you can see that nine states (beginning with Delaware)
have night limits that start at 10 p.m. or earlier. It’s also worth noting that a couple of states with
some of the most highly regarded graduated licensing systems actually start their night limits at 9
p.m. (New York and North Carolina). AAA encourages Pennsylvania to consider setting night-
time driving limits that begin an hour earlier — at 10 p.m.

Combining the best measures from bills already introduced, and from the best laws
around the country, makes for good public policy. Research and the experience of other states
tell us that limiting passengers and further limiting night-time driving hours for our youngest
drivers will save lives. A ban on wireless and other electronic devices also will help, by
eliminating another major distraction from our least experienced drivers.

Thank you for this opportunity to appear before you on this issue, which for AAA and the
Federation of Pennsylvania AAA Clubs, is its highest priority. I would be happy to answer any
questions that you may have,

*The seven key GDL components:
» aminimum age of at least 16 years for receiving a learner’s permit;
e A requirement to hold the learner’s permit for at least six months before receiving a license that allows any
unsupervised driving.
A requirement for certification of at least 30 hours of supervised driving practice during the learner stage.
An intermediate stage of licensing with a minimum entry age of at least 16 years and 6 months.
A night-time driving limit for intermediate license holders, beginning no later than 10 p.m.
A passenger limit that allows no more than one passenger (excluding family members}.
A minimum age of 17 years for full, unrestricted licensure.

As of Feb. 15, 2007, Delaware has all seven components and Kentucky, Rhode Island, and the District of Columbia
have six.



Teen Cell Ban Chart

o New York, New Jersey, Connecticut the District of Columbia have enacted bans on driving while talking on a hand-held cellular phone.
California and Washington have bans that will take effect July 1, 2008.

s Twenty-nine states introduced legisiation prohibiting the use of cell phones by learner’s permit holders and provisional licensees, except
for emergency calls.

» In 2007, Washington became the first state in the nation to enact a ban specifically on text messaging while driving. New Jersey also
moved to expressly ban text messaging while driving as well.

e Laws prohibiting the use of cell phones by teens are now in place in 17 states and the District of Columbia.
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*ltalics: Indicates a state with an ali-driver hand-heid cell ban but without teen specific ban
*Bold: indicated a state-wide hand-held ban is in place

STATE “HANDS- TEXTING TEEN CELL DETAILS
FREE” PERMITTED? | PRIMARY OR
DEVICES SECONDARY
ALLOWED?
Colorado No No Secondary | Drivers with a learner’s permit - regardless of age - may not operate a cell phone.

California No No Secondary | Prohibits a person possessing a valid instruction permit, student license, or
provisional license, from driving a motor vehicle while using a wireless
telephone or a mobile service device, including a handset equipped with a
hands-free device. {Effective 7/08)

Effective 7/2008, afl drivers must use hands free devices.

Connecticut No No Primary Drivers under 18 years of age may not use any hand-held cell phone
(including hands-free) while operating a motor vehicle. All drivers are
banned from using a hand-held cell phone while driving.

Delaware No No Primary Drivers with any graduated license may not use a cell phone while driving (even
"hands-free").

District of Yes No Persons holding a learner permit may not operate a motor vehicle while

Columbia using a cell phone.

lMinois No No Primary Drivers in learner or intermediate licensure stage prohibited from using cell
phones.

Maine Yes No Primary Instructional permit holders or restricted licensees under 18 may not use a cell
phone while driving.

Maryland No No Secondary | Drivers under 18 holding a learner or intermediate permit may not use a wireless

communication device.




STATE “HANDS- TEXTING TEEN CELL DETAILS
FREE” PERMITTED? | PRIMARY OR
DEVICES SECONDARY
ALLOWED?

Nebraska No No Secondary | Leamer's permit and intermediate license holders younger than 18 may not use a
cell phone or other wireless communication device (effective 1/1/08).

New Jersey Yes No Primary Use is prohibited for drivers under 21 while operating a moving vehicle

" (except in an emergency situation) on a Graduated License permit or
. provisional license.

New York Yes No Primary Hands free cell phone devices are required while operating a vehicle for all
drivers.

North No No Primary Cell phone use prohibited for drivers under 18 years of age.

Carolina

Oregon No No Secondary | Prohibits the use of cell phones and other wireless communication devices by
drivers under 18 years of age. The new law carries with it a $90 fine, is enforced
and will take effect January 1, 2008.

Rhode island No No Primary Drivers younger than 18 may not operate a cell phone.

Tennessee Yes No Primary Learner's permit and intermediate license holders shall operate a motor vehicle in
motion on any highway while using a hand held cellular telephone.

Texas Yes No Primary Drivers under 18 may not use a wireless handheld communication device in
learner or intermediate stage.

Virginia No No Secondary | Drivers holding an intermediate license may not use cell phones, including hands-
free devices.

West Virginia No No Primary Drivers may not operate a cell phone in the learner and intermediate stages.

Washington | Yes No Secondary Hands free cell phone devices are required while operating a vehicle. Drivers may

not text message while driving.




GDL Laws

Learner Stage Intermediate Stage Certified
Driving
State Minimum Holding Minim Nighttime Passenger Minimum Age GDL Number of
Age Period um Driving Restriction Restrictions Lifted Hours
(Months) Age Restriction (indicated
hours
, required at
- night)
Alabama 15 6 161 Midnight to No more than four 17 30 (waived for
(CCPF) 6a.m. passengers (three students
teens plus a enrolled in
parent/guardian). driver’s ed.)
Alaska 14 6 16 1a.m.to5a.m. No passengers under 16 years and 6 mos. 40 (10)
{CCF) 21 (siblings exempt).
Arizona 15and 6 6 16 Midnight - 5 First 6 months, no 18 30 (10)
mos. (eff. {eff. a.m. (unless with more than one
6/30/08) 6/30/08) parent/legal passenger under age
guardian) 18 (unless with parent
or legal guardian;
' (eff. 6/30/08) family members
exempt)
(eff. 6/30/08)
Arkansas 14 6 No intermediate license stage. 16 None
(CCF, DE. SEAT)
Teens must be 16 to be eligible for an intermediate license.
1

CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions

DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions

TEXT — States with Text Messaging Ban
AAA Public Affairs
icaffairs@national.aaa.
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GDL Laws

California 15and 6 6 16 lipm.te5 First 12 months, no 17 50 (10)
(CELL, CCF, DE) mos. a.m. passengers younger
than 20 unless
supervised by a 25-
year-old driver.
{family members
mwﬁm:._vc.
Colorado 15 (w/driver 12 16 Midnight to 5 First 6 months no 17 50 (10)
(CELL, DE, BELT) ed., a.m. passengers under
classroom & age 21. Second six
behind-the- months only one
wheel passenger under age
course) 21 (family members
exempt).?
15and 6
mos.
(w/defensive
driving
course)
16 (w/fout
; formal ed.)
2 This law is secondarily enforced.
2
CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers
CCF ~ States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions
DE - States with Driver Education Requirements
BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions
TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban
AAA Public Affairs
ubli irs@national.aaa.com
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GDL Laws

Connecticut 16 4 (w/driver | 16 and 4 Midnight to 5 First 3 months no i8 20
(CELL) ed.) mos. a.m. passengers. Second
3 months no
6 {(w/out passengers (family
driver ed.) members exempt).
Delaware 16 . 6 16 and 6 10p.m.to 6 No more than 1 17 50 {10)
{CCF, CELL, DE) mos. a.m. passengers {family
(exceptions for | members exempt).
work,school
related
activities)
D.C. 16 6 16 and 6 Sept. - June: First 6 months no 18 50 (10)
(CELL) mos. Starts 11 p.m. | passengers uniess
(Sun-Thurs) supervised by 21- (10 hours at
and midnight year-old driver night in the
Fri-Sat nights}, {family members intermediate
Ends 6 a.m. exempt). Thereafter, license stage.)
July - Aug. no more than 2
midnight to passengers under 21
6.a.m. {family membaers
exempt).
Florida 15 12 i6 11 p.m.to 6 None 18 50 {(10)
(CCR) a.m. {(Age 16)
lam.to5
a.m. {(Age 17)
3

CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions

DE - States with Driver Education Requirements
BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions
TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban

AAA Public Affairs
ublicaffajirs@national.aaa.com
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GDL Laws

Georgia 15 12 16 Midnight to 6 First 6 months no i8 40 (6)
(CCF, DE) a.m. passengers (family
members exempt).
Second 6 months,
no more than 3
passengers younger
than 21 (family
members exempt).
Hawaii 15and 6 6 16 11 pm. to 5 No more than 1 17 None
{BELT, CCF, DE) mos. a.m. passenger under the
age of 18
(household
members exempt).
Idaho 14 and 6 6 15 Sunset to First 6 monhts, no 16 50 (10)
(CCF, BELT) mas. Sunrise more than one
passenger under age
17 (with family
exemptions)
Illinois 15 S 16 Starts 10 p.m. First 12 months no 17 50 (10)
{(CCF, CELL, BELT) Sun-Thurs, more than 1
11 p.m. Fri and | passenger younger
Sat night. than 20 (family
Ends 6 a.m. members exempt).
4

CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions

DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions

TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban
AAA Public Affairs

ublicaffai national.aga.com
©February 27, 2008




GDL Laws

Indiana 15 2 16and 1 | Starts 11 p.m. First 90 days no Night: Passenger: None
(BELT, DE) month Sun-Thurs, 1 passengers unless 18 16 and 4
a.m. Fri and supervised by 21- mos.
Sat night year-old driver
Ends 5 a.m. (family members
. exempt).
Iowa 14 6 16 12:30 a.m. to None 17 30 (4)
(BELT, CCF, DE) 5 a.m.
{10 hours
including 2 at
night that must
occur in the
intermediate
license stage.

Kansas 14 6 No Intermediate license stage. 14 and 6 mos. 50 (10)
(BELT, DE)

Kentucky 16 6 16 and 6 Midnight to No more than one 17 60 Hours
(CCF, DE) mos. 6am passenger under 20 (10 at night)
Louisiana 15 6 16 11 p.m. to None 17 None
{CCF, DE) 5a.m,

CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions

DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions

TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban

AAA Public Affairs

licaffairs@national.aaa.com
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GDL Laws

Maine®
(CELL, DE)

15

16

Midnight to
5a.m.

First 180 days no
passengers unless
supervised by
licensed driver with
two consecutive
years of full
licensure (family
members exempt).

16 and 6 mos.

35 (5)

Maryland
(CCF, CELL, DE)

15 and 8
mos.

16 and 3
months

Midnight to
5a.m.
(Under 18)

First 5 months no
passengers under
the age of 18 yrs.
(family members
exempt and
secondarily
enforced)

Night:
17 and
9 mos.

Passenger:
i6 and 8
mos.

60 (10)

Massachusetts
{CCF, DE)

16

16 and 6
mos.

12:30 a.m. -5
a.m.

First 6 months no
passengers younger
than 18 unless
supervised by 21-
year-old driver
(family members
exempt).

Night:
18

Passenger:
17

40 (30 hours if
completed
advanced driver
training course)

3 24 months or until age 21.

CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions

DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Beit Provisions

TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban
AAA Public Affairs

ublicaffairs@national.aaa.
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GDL Laws

Michigan 14 and 9 6 i6 Midnight to None 17 50 (10)
(CCF) mos. Sa.m.
Minnesota 15 12 Intermediate license stage has no restrictions 18 40 (10)
(CCF, CELL, DE,
BELT) 16 (10 hours in the
intermediate
= license stage.)
Mississippi 15 6 15 and 6 10 p.m. to None 16 None
{CCF, DE) mas. 6 a.m.
Missouri 15 12 16 iam. to First 6 months, no 18 40 (10)
(CCF, BELT) 5a.m. more than 1
passenger under age
19 (family members
exempt). Then, no
more than three
passengers under
age 19.
Montana 14 and 6 6 15 11p.m.to5 First 6 months, no i6 50 (10)
(BELT, CCF, DE) mos. a.m. more than one
- passenger under age
18. Second 6
months, no more
than three
passengers under
age 18.
7

CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Pravisions
DE - States with Driver Education Requirements
BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions

TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban

AAA Public Affairs

blicaffairs@national.aaa.com
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GDL Laws

Nebraska 15 6 16 10 p.m. to No more than 1 17 60 (10)
(CELL, DE}) 5:00 a.m. passenger under 21
{immediate family
exempt)
Nevada 15 and 6 6 16 10p.m.to 5 First 6 months, no Night: Passenger: 50 {10)
(CCF, DE) mos. a.m. passengers younger 18 16 and 3
than 18 mos.
(family members
exempt).
New 15and 6 None 16 i am. to First 6 months no Night: Passenger: 20
Hampshire mos. 5a.m. moare than 1 17 and 16 and 6
(BELT, DE) passenger younger | 1 month mos.
than 25 (family
members exempt).
New Jersey 16 6 17 Midnight to No more than 1 18 None
(CELL, CCF, DE, 5a.m. passenger (family
BELT, TEXT) members exempt).
8
CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers
CCF - States with Crash Canviction-Free Provisions
DE - States with Driver Education Requirements
BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions
TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban
AAA Public Affairs
i irs@national.aaa.com

©February 27, 2008




GDL Laws

New Mexico
(CCF, DE)

15

i5and 6
mos.

Midnight to
5a.m.

No more than 1
passenger under 21
(family members
exempt).

16 and & mos.

50 (10)

New York
(CELL, DE, BELT)

16

Upto 6
mos.

16 and 6
mos.

g p.m. to
5a.m.

No more than 2
passengers younger
than 21 unless
supervised by 21-
year-old driver
(family members
exempt).

18 (17 w/driver ed.)

20

North Carolina
(CELL, CCF, DE,
BELT)

15

12

16

9 p.m. to
Sa.m.

No more than one
passenger younger
than 21 (family
members exempt).
If a family member
younger than 21 is a
passenger, then no
other passengers
younger than 21
who are not family
members.

16 and 6 mos.

None

North Dakota
{CCF, DE)

14

No

intermediate license stage.

14 and 6 mos.

None

CFELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions
DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions
TEXT — States with Text Messaging Ban

AAA Public Affairs

tionat.aaa.
©February 27, 2008




GDL Laws

QOhio 15and 6 i6 Midnight to No more than 1 Night: Passenger: 50 (10)
(DE, BELT) mos. 6 a.m. for 16- passenger for 16- 18 17
year olds. year-old drivers
iam.to5s {family exempt)
a.m. for 17-
year olds.
Oklahoma 15 and 6 16 (w/ 11 pm. to 5 No more than 1 16 and 6 mos. 40 (10)
(DE) mos. driver’s a.m. (exempts | passenger (exempts (w/driver’s ed.)
(w/driver's ed.) work, schooi & | parents, guardians
ed.) 16 and 6 church) or a licensed driver | 17 and 6 mos. (w/out
16 (w/out mos. over age 21) driver’s ed.)
driver’s ed.) (w/out
driver's
ed.)
Oregon 15 16 Midnight to First 6 months no 17 50 (100 w/out
(CELL, CCF) 5a.m. passengers under driver ed.)
(passengers 20. Second 6
over 25 with months no more
licenses are than 3 passengers
exempt). under 20 (family
members exempt).
Pennsylvania 16* 16 and 6 11 p.m. to 5 None 17 and 6 months (18 50
{CCF, DE, BELT) mos. a.m. w/out driver ed.)
4 pennsylvania has a nighttime restriction in the permit stage from 11 p.m. to 5 a.m..
10

CELL — States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions
DE - States with Driver Education Requirements
BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions

TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban

AAA Public Affair:
ublicaffairs@national.aaa.com
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GDL Laws

Rhode Island 16 6 16 and 6 1a.m. to First 12 mos. No 17 and 6 mos. 50 (10)
{CELL, CCF, DE, mos. S a.m. more than one
BELY) passenger under age
21 (immediate
family members
exempt).
South Carolina 15 6 15 and 6 6p.m.to6 No more than 2 16 and 6 mos. 40 (10)
(CCF) mos. a.m. EST passengers unless
8p.m.to 6 supervised by driver
a.m. EDT at least 21 (family
members and
students to and from
school exempt).
South Dakota 14 6 (3 with 14and 6 10 p.m. to None 16 None
{CCF) driver ed) months 6 a.m.
(14 and 3
months
w/driver
ed.)
Tennessee 15 6 16 11 pm. to 6 No more than 1 17 50 (10)
(CCF, CELL, BELT) a.m. passenger unless
supervised by 21-
year-old driver
(family members
exempt}.
11

CELL — States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions

DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions

TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban
AAA Public Affairs
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GDL Laws

Texas
(CCF, CELL, DE)

15

16

Midnight to
5a.m.

No more than 1
passenger under 21
(family members
exempt).

16 and 6 mos.

None

Utah
(DE, BELT)

15

16

Midnight to
5a.m.

First & months no
passengers under 21

(family members
exempt).

Night: Passenger:
17 16 and 6
mos.

40 (10)

First 3 months no
passengers. Second
3 months same as
first 3 months
(family members
exempt).

Vermont 15 12 16 None
{CCF, DE)

16 and 6 mos.

40 (10)

Virginia 15and 6 9 16 and 3 Midnight to 4
(CELL) mos. mos. a.m.

First 12 months no
more than 1
passenger under 18.
Until age 18 no
more than 3
passengers under 18
(family members

: exempt).

18

40 (10)

CELL - States with Cell Phone Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions

DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions

TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban
AAA Public Affairs

ublicaffairs@national.aaa.

©February 27, 2008

12




GDL Laws

Washington 15 6 16 1a.m. to First 6 months no 18 50 (10)
(CELL, CCF, DE, 5a.m. passengers under 20
TEXT) {family members
exempt). Second 6
months no more
than 3 passengers
under 20.
West Virginia 15 6 16 11 p.m. to No more than 3 17 30 (none
(BELT, CCF, DE, 5a.m. passengers younger w/driver ed.)
CELL) than 19.
Wisconsin 15and 6 6 16 Midnight to 5 No more than 1 16 and 9 mos. 30 (10)
(CCF, DE) mos. a.m, passenger {family
members exempt).
Wyoming 15 10 Days 16 11 p.m.to5 No more than 1 16 and 6 mos. 50 (10)
(DE) a.m. passenger younger (w/driver's ed.)
than 18 (family
members exempt). | 17 (w/out driver’s ed.)
13

CELL - States with Cell Phane Prohibitions for Teen Drivers

CCF - States with Crash Conviction-Free Provisions
DE - States with Driver Education Requirements

BELT - States with Seat Belt Provisions
TEXT - States with Text Messaging Ban
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Why just listening on a cellphone degrades
driving performance:

Brain imaging studies of multitasking while
driving

Marcel Adam Just
Tim Keller, Sharlene Newman

Carnegie Mellon Research Supported

Briving studies in an MRI scanner

Mirrar

Prejecier

Sewenn
Centar for Cognitive by the Office of Respanse Buit
Braln Imaging Naval Ressarch
(ONR)

/
Visual display technology in MRI scanner

Mirmor rght above ayes for
viewing screen that is behind




Ehe New Hork Times

Car Calls May Leave Brain
Short-Handed

By SANDRA BLAKESLEE

Scientists have bad news for people who think
they can defily drive a car while gabbing oa a
cefl phone.

The first stady nsing magneti

images of hrain xctivity to compars what

happans in people’s heads witen they do coe
complex task, as opposed to two fasks at a
time, reveals a disquicting fact: the brain

appears (o have a finite amguat of space for
tasks requiring attention.

The stedy, pablished in the Ang. 1 issre of the journal Neurclmage, was led by Dr. Marcel
Just, a psychology professor and £o- direcior of the Center for Cognitive Brain [maging at

Camegie Mellon University in Fil

fMRI study of driving while listening to sentences

* Steering a car along a winding road in a driving simulator
» steering car with a mouse

* Concurrently listening to sentences and judging them as true
or false <

* Try it yourself
» Imagine steering ang answering T/F to each sentence

: Main result:
The parietal activation associated with driving
decreases substantially (by 37%) with sentence
listening

Driving with
Driving Alona Sentence Listening




Increase in driving errors in the driving-with-
sentences condition

1. Reliable increase in hits of the side of the road
- from 8.7 hits in the driving alone condition to 12.8
in driving with sentences
2. Reliable increase in deviation {weaving) from an
ideal path in the driving with sentences condition
3. Participants were 29 students (licensed drivers)

from Camegie Mallon and the University of
Pittsburgh

ABC World News Tonight

Biological account of the results

* In dual task mode, a resource constraint
becomes applicable, reducing the available
resources for each component task




Take-home messages

* Just listening to someone talk is distracting; don’t
have to hold or dial the phone
* Listening while driving:
» decreases the brain processing allocated to
driving
» Increases driving errors (hitting simulated
guardrail}
» Increases weaving in lane

Processing of spoken language is automatic;
it can’t be “tumed off” or ignored

* Spoken language inexorably works its way into a
listener's brain

* You can't block itout willfully

¢ The language processing then takes away
resources from another concurrent task

Other distractions also impact driving
but cell phone conversations are insidious

* The conversation partner doesn't know when to
keep quiet in tense driving situations

» Passengers know when to shut up

* The content of the conversation could be
emotionally or cognitively difficult and especially
challenging

Liét of possible remedies

* Insurance penalties or incentives
* Electronic worktoad monitor that disables celi phone
* Legislation limiting cell phone use?
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Public education & drivers' ed courses regarding
divided attention




Conclusion:
Cell phone use during driving is a risky chaoice,
not just for commonsense reasons,

But because of the compromised performance
imposed by neural limitations
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