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Md. Gets Tougher On New Drivers

Most Measures Focus on Teens

WEATHER

By Charles Babington
Washington Post Staff Writer
Saturday, March 28, 1998; Page A0

AR The Maryland General Assembly joined a nationwide trend toward
Print Edition tougher requirements for new drivers yesterday, lengthening to four
Metro Articles months the period that teenagers must have a learner's permit and
Front Page Articles  creating harsher penalties for drivers who get ticketed 1n their first 18

months with a license.

On Our Site

%ﬁ-&wﬂ The new law, which takes effect in July 1999, will oblige teenagers to

Community pass through a nearly two-year period with limited driving rights
_Resources before getting an unrestricted license -- once considered a 16-year-

Metro Section old's birthright.

The measure also will require all people seeking their first license to
take a driver's education course; previously that rule was not applied
to those 18 and older.

Lawmakers were spurred by national studies showing that
inexperienced drivers cause a disproportionate number of serious
accidents.

Drivers ages 15 to 20 make up about 7 percent of the nation's licensed
drivers but 15 percent of all traffic fatalities, according to the National
Transportation Safety Board.

"The combination of inexperience and immaturity can be deadly,"
said Stephen Blackistone, a safety board analyst who has testified in
Annapolis and other state capitals. He said about 20 states have
considered legislation this year involving "graduated licensing,"
which often involves special curfews or other restrictions for new
drivers.

"In terms of highway safety right now," he said, "it's certainly one of
the major issues in state legislatures."

Virginia and the District have not gone as far as Maryland. Neither
jurisdiction imposes a curfew on young drivers, whereas Maryland
teenagers start with "provisional licenses" that prohibit driving
between midnight and 5 a.m.

Under the Maryland measure approved yesterday, the curfew will
apply for 18 months rather than the current 12 months. That means
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Marylanders will have to be at least 17 1/2 years old before qualifying
for an unrestricted license.

The key provisions of the bill, which the Glendening administration
has endorsed, include:

Maryland teenagers must have a learner's permit -- which allows them
to drive only when they are alongside a licensed adult -- for four
months, rather than the current two weeks. They still must be 15 years
and 9 months old to obtain a learner's permit, so they must be at least
a month past their 16th birthday to obtain a provisional driver's
license.

A provisional license will be issued to all first-time drivers, not just
those younger than 18, and will last 18 months, not the current 12.

Penalties for moving violations, including failure to wear a seat belt,
will now be harsher for all those with provisional licenses: mandatory
driver's school for a first offense, 30-day license suspension for a
second, license revocation for a third.

The midnight curfew, however, will apply only to those with
provisional licenses who are younger than 18.

This year's Virginia General Assembly endorsed similar sanctions for
drivers younger than 18. But in Virginia, unlike Maryland, failure to
wear a seat belt is not a "primary offense" that justifies a traffic stop
and ticket in the absence of other violations.

The Maryland Senate yesterday unanimously approved the new
license measure, which the House had passed Wednesday.

A key supporter, Sen. Norman R. Stone Jr. (D-Baltimore County),
said during a committee hearing: "The studies show that fatalities are
so great among young people and inexperienced drivers. We're
hoping we can help that situation."

Many teenagers are less enthralled. "Yecch!" said Caitlin Stone, 16,
when told yesterday that teenagers will have to have provisional
licenses and be subjected to the midnight curfew for 18 months rather
than 12.

"It's a pain," she said as she and her Annapolis High School
classmates poured into the student parking lot. "If you're at a party at
night and you've got to take a lot of people home, it's hard to finish
before midnight."

Justin Phillips, 18, agreed. "I think it's kind of dumb," he said of the
new measure. "Old people are worse drivers than young people."

Phillips, who holds a provisional license, acknowledged that he has
been ticketed for tailgating and "negligent driving" in his Ford
Mustang convertible. Those violations would cost him his license for
30 days under the new law.
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How Does Graduated Licensing Work?

The three stages of a graduated licensing system include
specific components and restrictions to introduce driving
privileges gradually to beginning drivers. Novice drivers
are required to demonstrate responsible driving behavior
in each stage of licensing before advancing to the next
stage.

Each stage has recommended components and restrictions
for States to consider when implementing a graduated li-
censing system. Example components and restrictions of
each stage include:

Stage 1: Learner’s Permit

B State’s minimum age for a learner’s permit.

B Pass vision and knowledge tests, including rules of
the road, signs, and signals.

Complete basic vehicle skills training.

Licensed adult (at least age 21) required in the ve-
hicle at all times.

All occupants must wear safety belts.

Zero alcohol while driving.

Permut is distinctive from other driver licenses.

Must remain crash-and conviction-free for at least six

months to move to the next stage.

B Supervised practice.

Stage 2: Intermediate (Provisional)

Complete Stage 1.

State’s minimum age.

Pass a behind-the-wheel road test.

Complete advanced driver education training (e.g. safe

dniving decision-making, risk education, etc.)

All occupants must wear safety belts.

Licensed adult required in the vehicle during late night

hours (e.g., nighttime driving restriction).

B Zero alcohol while driving.

B Driver improvement actions are initiated at lower point
level than for regular drivers.

B Provisional license is distinctive from a regular license.

B Must remain crash-and conviction-free for at least 12
consecutive months to move to the next stage.

B Supervised practice.
Stage 3: Full Licensure

B Complete Stage 2.

M State’s minimum age.

B Zero alcohol while driving.

How Many States Have A Graduated License
System?

Although licensing practices vary from state-to-state, sev-
eral states have various recommended components of a
graduated driver licensing system. For example, Califor-
nia, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Illinois, Mary-
land, Massachusetts, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Jer-
sey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, West
Virginia, and Wisconsin all have components of a gradu-
ated licensing system.

Ontario and Nova Scotia, Canada; Victoria, Australia, and
New Zealand also have graduated driver licensing sys-
tems.

How Effective Is Graduated Licensing?

Evaluations clearly show the benefits of a graduated li-
censing system. California reported a 5 percent reduction
in crashes for drivers ages 15-17. Maryland reported a 5
percent reduction in crashes and a 10 percent reduction in
traffic convictions for drivers age 16-17. Oregon reported
a 16 percent reduction in crashes for male drivers age 16-
17.

An evaluation in New Zealand reported an 8 percent re-
duction in crashes for drivers ages 15-19.

Who Supports Graduated Licensing?

The following organizations have publicly supported a
graduated driver licensing system:

Advocates for Highway and Auto Safety

Allstate Insurance

American Academy of Family Physicians

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administra-
tors

AAA

American Automobile Manufacturers Association
American Coalition for Traffic Safety (ACTS)
American College of Emergency Physicians
Brain Injury Association

Center for Disease Control

General Federation of Woman’s Clubs

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety
International Association of Chiefs of Police
Mothers Against Drunk Driving

National Association of Governors’ Highway Safety
Representatives

National Association of Independent Insurers

National Center for Education in Maternal and Child
Health



National Commission Against Drunk Driving

National Committee on Uniform Traffic Laws and Or-
dinances

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration
National Safety Council

National Sheriffs’ Association

National Transportation Safety Board

Police Executive Research Forum

The Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (DIS-
CUS) and its member companies

The Century Council, supported by concerned mem-
bers of the beverage alcohol industry

B The Beer Institute and its members

B USAA Insurance

What Products and Services Are Available?

B Consultation on provisions and implementation of
graduated licensing systems: from AAMVA and
NHTSA.

B Testimony before state legislatures: from AAMVA and
NHTSA.

B “Graduated Driver Licensing System for Young Nov-
ice Drivers,” Guidelines for Motor Vehicle Adminis-
trators, NHTSA and AAMVA, DOT HS 808 33 1, Janu-
ary 1996. Note: Being updated. No copies available.

B “Graduated Licensing System: Learning the Skill,
Eaming the Privilege,” 2 Volume Resource Package,
from AAA Government Relations.

B Video and media kit describing graduated licensing:
from NAII.

W Video, “Young Drivers: The High-Risk Years,” from
ITHS.

B A sample graduated driver licensing system law.

B Report to Congress, “Research Agenda for an Im-
proved Novice Driver Education Program,” (May
1994): from NHTSA.

B Evaluation studies from California, Maryland, Oregon.
and New Zealand showing the benefits of graduated
licensing: from NHTSA.

B National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) Repont
to States, “Reducing Youth Highway Crashes,” (March
1993).

B Brochure: “Questions Most F requently Asked
About Graduated Driver Licensing” from NHTS A and
ACTS.

B Brochure: “License to Live,” from NHTSA and
ACTS.

Information Sources

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators
(AAMVA)

4301 Wilson Blvd., Suite 400,

Arlington, VA 22203

Mike Calvin, Director of Driver Services

703-522-4200 (Fax: 703-522-1553)

National Association of Independent Insurers (NAID
2600 River Road,

Des Plaines, IL 60018-3286

Joe Annotti, Asst. Vice-President

847-297-7800 (Fax: 847-297-5064)

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)
1005 North Glebe Road,

Arlington, VA 22201

Allan F. Williams, Ph.D.

703-247-1500 (Fax:703-247-1 678)

American Coalition for Traffic Safety
1110 North Glebe Road, Suite 1020
Arlington, VA 22201

Elizabeth Russell, Director of Admin.
703-243-7501 (Fax: 703-243-2806)

All reports and additional information are available through your State Office of Highway Safety, the
NHTSA Regional Office serving your state, or from NHTSA Headquarters, Traffic Safety Programs, NTS-
32, 400 Seventh Street, S. W., Washington, D.C. 20590, 202-366-4800.



