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                 Act of Dec. 1, 2004, P.L. 1778, No. 233              Cl. 42

                             Session of 2004

                               No. 2004-233

     SB 959

                                  AN ACT

     Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the

        Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for the

        Constables' Education and Training Account, for information

        required upon commitment and subsequent disposition and for

        definition of "eligible offender."

        The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

     hereby enacts as follows:

        Section 1.  Sections 2949 and 9764(f) and (g) of Title 42 of

     the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:

      § 2949.  Restricted account.

        (a)  Account established.--There is hereby established a

     special restricted account within the General Fund, which shall

     be known as the Constables' Education and Training Account, for

     the purposes of financing training program expenses, the costs

     of administering the program and all other costs associated with

     the activities of the board and the implementation of this

     subchapter and as provided under subsection (f) .

        (b)  Surcharge.--There is hereby assessed as a cost in each

     case before a district justice a surcharge of $5 per docket

     number in each criminal case and $5 per named defendant in each

     civil case in which a constable or deputy constable performs a

     service provided in this subchapter, except that no county shall

     be required to pay this surcharge on behalf of any indigent or

     other defendant in a criminal case.

        (c)  Disposition of funds.--The surcharges collected under

     subsection (b), if collected by a constable or deputy constable

     shall be turned over within one week to the issuing authority.

     The issuing authority shall remit the same to the Department of

     Revenue for deposit into the account.

        (d)  Disbursements.--Disbursements from the account shall be

     made by the commission.

        (e)  Audit.--The Auditor General shall conduct an audit of

     the account as he may deem necessary or advisable from time to

     time, but not less than once every three years.

        (f)  Fund surplus.--If account moneys are sufficient to meet

     the expenses and costs under subsection (a), the commission may

     allocate any surplus funds in the account to assist constables

     and deputy constables with costs associated with attendance at

     continuing education programs under section 2946 (relating to

     continuing education).

      § 9764.  Information required upon commitment and subsequent



                disposition.

        * * *

        (f)  Release from county correctional facility to State

     probation or  parole.--

            (1)  Prior to the release of an inmate from a county

        correctional facility to State probation or  parole

        supervision, the facility shall provide to the Board of

        Probation and Parole the information contained in subsections

        (a) (1) through (4)  and (b).

            (2)  Prior to the release of an inmate from a county

        correctional facility to State probation or parole

        supervision, the facility shall provide to the inmate his

        current medications as prescribed and any customary and

        necessary medical supplies as determined by the prescribing

        physician.

        (g)  Release from county correctional facility to county

     probation or  parole.--

            (1)  Prior to the release of an inmate from a county

        correctional facility to county probation or  parole

        supervision, the facility shall provide to the county

        probation department the information contained in subsections

        (a) (1) through (4)  and (b).

            (2)  Prior to the release of an inmate from a county

        correctional facility to county probation or parole

        supervision, the facility shall provide to the inmate his

        current medications as prescribed and any customary and

        necessary medical supplies as determined by the prescribing

        physician.

        * * *

        Section 2.  The definition of "eligible offender" in section

     9802 of Title 42 is amended to read:

      § 9802.  Definitions.

        The following words and phrases when used in this chapter

     shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the

     context clearly indicates otherwise:

        * * *

        "Eligible offender."  Subject to section 9721(a.1) (relating

     to sentencing generally), a person convicted of an offense who

     would otherwise be sentenced to a county correctional facility,

     who does not demonstrate a present or past pattern of violent

     behavior and who would otherwise be sentenced to partial

     confinement pursuant to section 9724 (relating to partial

     confinement) or total confinement pursuant to section 9725

     (relating to total confinement). The term does not include an

     offender [convicted of] with a current conviction or a prior

     conviction within the past ten years for  any of the following

     offenses:

            18 Pa.C.S. § 2502 (relating to murder).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 2503 (relating to voluntary manslaughter).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 2702 (relating to aggravated assault).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 2703 (relating to assault by prisoner).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 2704 (relating to assault by life prisoner).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 2901 (relating to kidnapping).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3121 (relating to rape).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3122.1 (relating to statutory sexual



        assault).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3123 (relating to involuntary deviate sexual

        intercourse).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3124.1 (relating to sexual assault).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3125 (relating to aggravated indecent

        assault).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3126 (relating to indecent assault).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3301 (relating to arson and related

        offenses).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3502 (relating to burglary) when graded as a

        felony of the first degree.

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3701 (relating to robbery).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 3923 (relating to theft by extortion).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 4302 (relating to incest).

            18 Pa.C.S. § 5121 (relating to escape).

        * * *

        Section 3.  This act shall take effect in 60 days.

     APPROVED--The 1st day of December, A. D. 2004.

     EDWARD G. RENDELL


