VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - COMMERCIAL DRIVER'S LICENSE REQUIREMENTS AND
    OPERATION OF ALL-TERRAIN VEHICLES AND SNOWMOBILES BY PERSONS UNDER
                           SIXTEEN YEARS OF AGE
                  Act of Jun. 29, 2006, P.L. 284, No. 61              Cl. 75
                             Session of 2006
                               No. 2006-61

     SB 1056

                                  AN ACT

     Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
        Statutes, further providing for commercial driver's license
        requirements and for operation of all-terrain vehicles and
        snowmobiles by persons under sixteen years of age.

        The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
     hereby enacts as follows:

        Section 1.  Section 1606(b) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania
     Consolidated Statutes is amended by adding a paragraph to read:
      § 1606.  Requirement for commercial driver's license.
        * * *
        (b)  Exemptions.--The following persons are not required to
     obtain a commercial driver's license in order to drive the
     commercial motor vehicle specified:
            * * *
            (6)  A driver with a Class C license operating a school
        bus, school vehicle or other commercial vehicle at the
        direction of authorized emergency management personnel in a
        time of declared Federal, State or local emergency. A person
        driving a school bus, school vehicle or other commercial
        vehicle pursuant to this paragraph shall not be subject to
        sanctions under the provisions of this chapter or section
        3742.1 (relating to accidents involving death or personal
        injury while not properly licensed).
        * * *
        Section 2.  Section 7725(b), (c) and (e) of Title 75 are
     amended and the section is amended by adding a subsection to
     read:
      § 7725.  Operation by persons under age sixteen.
        * * *
        (b)  Operation of an ATV by persons under eight years of
     age.--No person under eight years of age shall operate [a
     snowmobile or] an ATV upon State-owned land.
        * * *
        (b.2)  Operation of a snowmobile by persons under ten years
     of age.--No person under ten years of age shall operate a
     snowmobile upon State-owned land.
        (c)  Snowmobile and ATV safety certification.--No person 8 to
     15 years of age shall operate [a snowmobile or] an ATV and no
     person between 10 and 15 years of age shall operate a snowmobile
     in this Commonwealth unless the person satisfies one of the
     following conditions:
            (1)  Is under the direct supervision of a certified
        snowmobile or ATV safety instructor during a safety training
        course.
            (2)  Is on land owned or leased by a parent or legal
        guardian.
            (3)  Has received safety training as prescribed by the
        department and has received the appropriate safety
        certificate issued by the department.
            (4)  Holds an appropriate safety certificate issued under
        the authority of another state or Province of Canada and
        recognized by the department.
        * * *
        (e)  Permitting unauthorized operation.--No owner of a
     snowmobile or an ATV shall authorize or permit the operation
     thereof within this Commonwealth by any person under 16 years of
     age unless the person under 16 years of age is the holder of a
     valid and appropriate safety certificate, or except as
     authorized in subsections (b), (b.2) and (c).
        * * *
        Section 3.  This act shall take effect immediately.

     APPROVED--The 29th day of June, A. D. 2006.

     EDWARD G. RENDELL