75c3803s

§ 3803.  Grading.

(a)  Basic offenses.--Except as provided in subsection (b):

(1)  An individual who violates section 3802(a) (relating to driving under influence of alcohol or controlled substance) and has no more than one prior offense commits a misdemeanor for which the individual may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than six months and to pay a fine under section 3804 (relating to penalties).

(2)  An individual who violates section 3802(a) and has two prior offenses commits a misdemeanor of the second degree.

(3)  An individual who violates section 3802 and has three or more prior offenses or has previously been convicted of a violation of section 3735 (relating to homicide by vehicle while driving under influence) commits a felony of the third degree.

(b)  Other offenses.--

(1)  An individual who violates section 3802(a)(1) where there was an accident resulting in bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death of any person or in damage to a vehicle or other property, or who violates section 3802(b), (e) or (f) and who has one prior offense commits a misdemeanor for which the individual may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than six months and to pay a fine under section 3804.

(2)  An individual who violates section 3802(a)(1) where the individual refused testing of breath or chemical testing pursuant to a valid search warrant, court order or any other basis permissible by the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of Pennsylvania, or who violates section 3802(c) or (d) and who has no prior offenses commits a misdemeanor for which the individual may be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not more than six months and to pay a fine under section 3804.

(3)  An individual who violates section 3802(a)(1) where there was an accident resulting in bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death of any person or in damage to a vehicle or other property, or who violates section 3802(b), (e) or (f) and who has two prior offenses commits a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(4)  An individual who violates section 3802(a)(1) where the individual refused testing of breath or chemical testing pursuant to a valid search warrant, court order or any other basis permissible by the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of Pennsylvania, or who violates section 3802(c) or (d) and who has one prior offense commits a misdemeanor of the first degree.

(4.1)  An individual who violates section 3802(a)(1) where the individual refused testing of breath or chemical testing pursuant to a valid search warrant, court order or any other basis permissible by the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of Pennsylvania, or who violates section 3802(c) or (d) and who has two or more prior offenses commits a felony of the third degree.

(5)  An individual who violates section 3802 where a minor under 18 years of age was an occupant in the vehicle when the violation occurred commits:

(i)  A misdemeanor of the first degree if the individual has no more than one prior offense.

(ii)  A felony of the third degree if the individual has two or more prior offenses.

75c3803v

(Nov. 29, 2004, P.L.1369, No.177, eff. imd.; May 8, 2012, P.L.255, No.39, eff. 60 days; Oct. 27, 2014, P.L.2905, No.189, eff. imd.; Oct. 24, 2018, P.L.925, No.153, eff. 60 days)

 

Cross References.  Section 3803 is referred to in sections 3804, 3806, 3815 of this title.