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Amending the Consolidated County Assessment Law – 

Provide for Training and Qualifications of Assessment Appeal Board and  

Auxiliary Appeal Board Members, Assessment Appeal Processes,  

Certain Notifications to Property Owners and Penalties 

 

A. Synopsis  

 Provides for the training and qualifications of members of a board of assessment appeals/revision and 

auxiliary appeal boards.  

 Changes the method by which auxiliary appeal boards are established and staffed.  

 Relating to a countywide reassessment:  

 Clarifies the types of corrections that may be made during an informal review of a property 

owner’s proposed market value or assessment. 

 Specifies the date by which informal reviews must be completed.  

 Further requires the county to make publicly available taxing district information.  

 Also requires the assessment appeals board to provide notice of rights of further appeal to board decisions. 

B. Effect  

 Strengthens and enhances objectivity, accountability, efficiency and equality in the assessment appeals 

process, possibly bolstering the appeal boards’ decisions and reducing appeals to court, by:  

 Providing for initial training and qualification of assessment appeal board members—nine hours 

for permanent assessment appeals and revision board members, and six hours for auxiliary appeals 

board members—in person or online at a modest cost. 

 Clarifying parameters of informal reviews and the notification process in conjunction with a 

countywide reassessment.  
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 Provides counties with more flexibility in determining the number and composition of auxiliary 

appeal boards. 

 Provides property owners with access to information relating to their taxing district in the event of an 

appeal to court, thus improving transparency.  

 In sum, may well result in a net savings for counties and taxpayers. 

C. Summary and Analysis  

Proposal amends the Consolidated County Assessment Law (CCAL)
1
 in the following manner. 

Training and Qualifications of Board of Assessment Appeals/Revisions and Auxiliary Appeal Board 

Members (CCAL Section 8852) 

 Requires initial nine hours of training for members of the permanent boards of assessment appeals 

and assessment revision, within six months of appointment or taking the oath of office, on the 

following topics, generally: 

 Assessment valuation process in Pennsylvania (3 hours). 

 Legal and constitutional issues relating to the assessment process in Pennsylvania, and duties and 

responsibilities of assessment appeal board members (3 hours). 

 Real estate exemptions (3 hours). 

 Provides that failure of a permanent board member to obtain the training within six months of 

appointment shall result in disqualification of the member and shall create a vacancy.  

 Exempts from training a member of the permanent board or auxiliary appeal board who holds an 

active Certified Pennsylvania Evaluator certification. 

 Specifies that all exemption appeal hearings must be conducted by the board of assessment appeals or 

the board of assessment revision; auxiliary appeal boards may not conduct exemption appeal hearings. 

 Requires initial six hours of training for members of auxiliary appeal boards on the following topics, 

generally: 

 Assessment valuation process in Pennsylvania (3 hours). 

 Legal and constitutional issues relating to the assessment process in Pennsylvania, and duties and 

responsibilities of the assessment appeal board members (3 hours). 

 Prohibits a person from serving on any auxiliary appeal board until trained. 

 Exempts a member of the board or auxiliary appeal board who holds an inactive Certified 

Pennsylvania Evaluator certification from the three hours of training on the assessment valuation 

process. 

 Specifies that each county will be responsible for paying for the training. 

 Directs the County Commissioners Association of Pennsylvania (CCAP) in coordination with the Assessors 

Association of Pennsylvania (AAP) to establish a curriculum and the method of training delivery.  

                                                 
1
 Consolidated County Assessment Law is in Title 53 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes Chapter 88. 
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Board of Assessment Appeals (independent board appointed by the county commissioners)  

(CCAL Section 8851) 

 Authorizes the county commissioners, on or after the first organizational meeting occurring after the 

effective date this provision, and every four years thereafter, to appoint members of an independent 

board of assessment appeals for terms of two years each or four years each. 

 Prohibits appointment of a member to the board who is an employee of or contractor with the county 

assessment office. 

Auxiliary Appeal Boards Creation/Membership (CCAL Section 8853) 

 Provides the county commissioners with the discretion to establish any number of temporary auxiliary 

appeal boards, as needed, in in their particular county. 

 Authorizes the commissioners to create a “pool” of trained auxiliary appeal board members who may 

be appointed and reappointed to serve on any auxiliary appeal board in consideration of a member’s 

expertise and availability.  

 Clarifies that each auxiliary appeal board consist of three members, all of whom must be present for an 

appeal hearing. 

Relating to Countywide Reassessments (CCAL Section 8848) 

 Prohibits personnel from a revaluation company or county assessment office from making adjustments 

to the market value or assessed value during an informal review. Personnel may only make corrections 

to tabular data or property characteristics collected by the revaluation company or county. 

 Requires that informal reviews be completed no later than June 1. 

Assessment Office and Board Duties, and Notification Requirements (CCAL Sections 8831 and 8844)  

 Requires the chief assessor to compile and periodically update a list of the names and mailing address 

of all the taxing districts within the county. The list must be published, with the assistance of the 

county commissioners, on the county’s publicly accessible Internet website and in printed form in a 

manner consistent with the Right-to-Know Law (CCAL Section 8831). 

 Requires the Board of Assessment Appeals or Revision to provide the board’s decision in writing no 

later than November 15, along with: (1) a statement that the decision may be appealed to the court of 

common pleas within 30 days of the mailing date of the decision; (2) a statement that an appellant must 

provide each taxing district within which the property lies a copy of the appeal, and that a list of names 

and addresses of taxing districts in the county may be found on a county website or may be requested 

in print; and (3) a statement that the board cannot provide advice on filing an appeal to court and that a 

party may wish to consult with an attorney when considering an appeal (CCAL Section 8844). 

D. Relevant Current Law  

CCAL Section 8851 of the CCAL currently requires establishment of a three-member independent board of 

assessment appeals in counties of the second class A and third class. Members of the board of assessment 

appeals are appointed by the commissioners for a term of four years. In counties of the fourth through eighth 

class, the commissioners may appoint an independent board of assessment appeals or, alternatively, may 
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serve themselves as a board of assessment revision. There are no qualification and/or training requirements 

in current law for members of the board of assessment appeals or board of assessment revision.  

CCAL Section 8853 governs the establishment, membership and duties of auxiliary appeal boards. The 

CCAL authorizes county commissioners to appoint up to four temporary auxiliary appeal boards consisting of 

three members each to hear appeals from new assessment values, appeals in conjunction with a countywide 

reassessment, or appeals arising from applications for a homestead or farmstead exclusion. Members of an 

auxiliary appeal board must be “competent and qualified residents of the county.” In addition to the 

appointment of three members to the four auxiliary appeal boards, the county commissioners are authorized 

to appoint no more than eight alternate members in the event that a member of the auxiliary appeal board is 

unavailable for a scheduled hearing. The CCAL does not require qualifications (other than “competency and 

residency”) or training for auxiliary appeal board members. 

The CCAL contains distinct specifications relating to notice requirements, informal reviews, and the appeals 

process in conjunction with a countywide reassessment. Section 8848 currently requires that if any county 

proposes to institute a countywide revision of assessments, each property owner must be notified by mail of 

the value of the new assessment, the value of the old assessment, and the right to appeal within 40 days as 

provided in the law. The law authorizes a designee of the county assessment office, which may be personnel 

from a revaluation company, to meet with property owners to review all proposed assessments and correct 

errors prior to the completion of the final assessment roll; the CCAL does not authorize an informal 

assessment appeal, i.e., the judgement of market/assessed value. The county assessment office is required to 

mail all notices on or before July 1.  

 

E. Background of Proposal 

The Local Government Commission’s Assessment Reform Task Force formed an Appeals Process Work 

Group to investigate the fairness and efficiency of the assessment appeals process, including measures to 

reduce appeals, consistency in methodology, and appointment, composition and qualifications of appeals 

boards. Participants included a Senate and House Member of the Local Government Commission, two county 

commissioners from different counties that recently conducted countywide reassessments, representatives 

from CCAP and AAP, a recognized expert in the field Pennsylvania assessment law, and LGC and other 

legislative staff. This legislative proposal reflects the recommendations generated by the Work Group during 

winter and spring of 2017. 

 


