## AN ACT

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	Amending Titles 18 (Crimes and Offenses) and 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in human trafficking, further providing for the offense of trafficking in individuals and for the offense of patronizing a victim of sexual servitude; in public indecency, further providing for the offense of prostitution and related offenses; and, in depositions and witnesses, further providing for definitions and for recorded testimony.
9	This act may be cited as the Buyer Beware Act.
10	The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
11	hereby enacts as follows:
12	Section 1. Sections 3011(a) and 3013(a) and (c) of Title 18
13	of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:
14	§ 3011. Trafficking in individuals.
15	(a) Offense definedA person commits a felony of the
16	[second] first degree if the person:
17	(1) recruits, entices, solicits, <u>advertises,</u> harbors,
18	transports, provides, <u>patronizes,</u> obtains or maintains an
19	individual if the person knows or recklessly disregards that
20	the individual will be subject to involuntary servitude; or

1 (2)knowingly benefits financially or receives anything 2 of value from any act that facilitates any activity described 3 in paragraph (1). \* \* \* 4 § 3013. Patronizing a victim of sexual servitude. 5 Offense defined.--A person commits a felony of the 6 (a) 7 [second] first degree if the person engages in any sex act or 8 performance with another individual [knowing] and knows, 9 reasonably should have known or recklessly disregards the fact 10 that the act or performance is the result of the individual 11 being a victim of human trafficking. \* \* \* 12 13 (c) Fine.--A person whose violation of this section results 14 in a judicial disposition other than acquittal or dismissal shall also pay a fine [of \$500] in one of the following amounts 15 to the court, to be distributed to the commission to fund the 16 grant program established under section 3031 (relating to 17 18 grants)[.]: 19 (1) Not less than \$1,000 and not more than \$30,000. 20 (2) Not less than \$5,000 and not more than \$100,000 if 21 the victim of sexual servitude was a minor at the time of the 22 offense. 23 Section 2. Section 5902 of Title 18 is amended by adding 24 subsections to read: § 5902. Prostitution and related offenses. 25 \* \* \* 26 27 (e.3) Additional fines for offenses under subsection (e) .--(1) A person convicted of a second offense under 28 29 subsection (e) shall pay an additional fine of not less than \$1,000 nor more than \$20,000. 30

2019D00633

- 2 -

1 (2) A person convicted of a third offense under

2 <u>subsection (e) shall pay an additional fine of not less than</u>

3 <u>\$5,000 nor more than \$30,000.</u>

4 (3) A person convicted of a fourth or subsequent offense
5 under subsection (e) shall pay an additional fine of not less
6 than \$10,000 nor more than \$50,000.

7 <u>(e.4)</u> Distribution of fines.--Fines collected under this

8 section shall be distributed equally to the Safe Harbor for

9 <u>Sexually Exploited Children Fund established under section 3064</u>

10 (relating to Safe Harbor for Sexually Exploited Children Fund)

11 and grants under section 3031 (relating to grants).

12 \* \* \*

Section 3. Sections 5982 and 5984.1 of Title 42 are amended to read:

15 § 5982. Definitions.

16 The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter 17 shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the 18 context clearly indicates otherwise:

19 "Child" or "children." An individual or individuals under 20 [16] <u>18</u> years of age.

21 "Contemporaneous alternative method." Any method of capturing the visual images, oral communications and other 22 23 information presented during a prosecution or adjudication 24 involving a child victim or a child material witness and 25 transmitting and receiving such images, communications and other 26 information at or about the time of their creation, including, but not limited to, closed-circuit television, streaming image 27 28 sent via the Internet or an intranet and any other devices or systems used to accomplish such ends. 29

30 "Minor." An individual who, at the time of the commission of

the offense involving sexual or physical abuse, is under 18
 years of age.

3 "Qualified shorthand reporter." An individual engaged in the 4 active practice of general shorthand reporting who is skilled in 5 the art of verbatim reporting by the use of a written shorthand 6 system, whether manual or machine; or any individual who is an 7 official court or legislative reporter; or any individual who is 8 the holder of a certified shorthand reporter certificate 9 mandated by State or Federal law.

10 § 5984.1. Recorded testimony.

11 Recording. -- Subject to subsection (b), in any (a) prosecution or adjudication involving a child victim or child 12 13 material witness, including a child victim of sexual or labor 14 servitude, the court may order that the child victim's or child 15 material witness's testimony be recorded for presentation in 16 court by any method that accurately captures and preserves the 17 visual images, oral communications and other information 18 presented during such testimony. The testimony shall be taken 19 under oath or affirmation before the court in chambers or in a 20 special facility designed for taking the recorded testimony of children. Only the attorneys for the defendant and for the 21 Commonwealth, persons necessary to operate the equipment, a 22 23 qualified shorthand reporter and any person whose presence would 24 contribute to the welfare and well-being of the child victim or 25 child material witness, including persons designated under section 5983 (relating to rights and services), may be present 26 in the room with the child during testimony. The court shall 27 28 permit the defendant to observe and hear the testimony of the child victim or child material witness but shall ensure that the 29 child victim or child material witness cannot hear or see the 30

- 4 -

defendant. Examination and cross-examination of the child victim
 or child material witness shall proceed in the same manner as
 normally permitted. The court shall make certain that the
 defendant and defense counsel have adequate opportunity to
 communicate for the purpose of providing an effective defense.

Determination.--Before the court orders the child victim 6 (b) 7 or the child material witness, including a child victim of 8 sexual or labor servitude, to testify by recorded testimony, the court must determine, based on evidence presented to it, that 9 10 testifying either in an open forum in the presence and full view of the finder of fact or in the defendant's presence will result 11 12 in the child victim or child material witness suffering serious 13 emotional distress that would substantially impair the child 14 victim's or child material witness's ability to reasonably 15 communicate. In making this determination, the court may do any 16 of the following:

17 (1) Observe and question the child victim or child18 material witness, either inside or outside the courtroom.

19 (2) Hear testimony of a parent or custodian or any other 20 person, such as a person who has dealt with the child victim 21 or child material witness in a medical or therapeutic 22 setting.

23 (c) Counsel and confrontation.--

(1) If the court observes or questions the child victim
or child material witness, including a child victim of sexual
or labor servitude, under subsection (b)(1), the attorney for
the defendant and the attorney for the Commonwealth have the
right to be present, but the court shall not permit the
defendant to be present.

30

(2) If the court hears testimony under subsection (b)

- 5 -

1	(2), the defendant, the attorney for the defendant and the
2	attorney for the Commonwealth have the right to be present.
3	Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days.