AN ACT

Authorizing the imposition of an electricity wind resources impact tax; providing for administration and for enforcement; establishing the Electricity Wind Resources Fund; providing for distribution of funds, for use of funds and imposing administrative penalties.

6 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

7 hereby enacts as follows:

8 Section 1. Short title.

9 This act shall be known and may be cited as the Electricity

10 Wind Resources Impact Tax Act.

11 Section 2. Definitions.

12 The following words and phrases when used in this act shall 13 have the meanings given to them in this section unless the

14 context clearly indicates otherwise:

15 "Commission." The Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission.

16 "Department." The Department of Environmental Protection of 17 the Commonwealth.

18 "Fund." The Electricity Wind Resources Fund as established 19 under section 12.

2018D09116

- 1 -

1 "Impact tax." The electricity wind resources impact tax on a wind turbine within a county as specified under section 3. 2 3 "Producer." A person, or the person's subsidiary, affiliate or holding company, that holds a permit or other authorization 4 to engage in the business of producing electricity from wind 5 resources for sale, profit or commercial use in this 6 7 Commonwealth.

"Wind turbine." A device that converts the wind's kinetic 8 energy into electrical energy. 9

10 Section 3. Electricity wind resources fee.

11 (a) Imposition.--The governing body of a county that has a wind turbine located within the county's borders may impose an 12 electricity wind resources impact tax upon the privilege of 13 producing electricity from wind resources in the county. The 14 15 impact tax shall be imposed upon the production of electricity produced from wind resources for sale, profit or commercial use 16 on or after January 1, 2019. The impact tax shall be paid by the 17 18 producer at the point of interconnection with an electric transmission line. Electricity from wind resources produced 19 before the impact tax is imposed shall be considered to be 20 produced in the calendar year prior to the imposition of the 21 22 impact tax.

23 (b) Fee rate.--The impact tax rate shall be \$1 on each megawatt hour, or a portion of each megawatt hour, which is 24 25 produced in the county.

(c) Payment. -- The impact tax shall be due on the same day 26 the report is due under subsection (d). The impact tax shall 27 become delinquent if not remitted to the commission on the 28 29 reporting date.

30 (d) Report.--By June 15, 2019, and June 15 of each year 2018D09116 - 2 -

1 thereafter, a producer subject to the impact tax shall submit 2 payment of the impact tax to the commission and a report on a 3 form prescribed by the commission for the imposition period.

(e) Exemptions. -- No impact tax shall be imposed upon 4 electricity from wind resources which are produced from any 5 generating facility owned or operated by the Federal Government, 6 the Commonwealth or any political subdivision. No impact tax 7 shall be imposed upon electricity from wind resources which are 8 produced for the personal consumption of the producer, including 9 any excess production of electricity that does not exceed 500 10 kilowatt hours in any 24-hour period. 11

12 (f) Administration.--The impact tax shall be administered 13 and enforced in the same manner as the unconventional gas well 14 fee under 58 Pa.C.S. Ch. 23 (relating to unconventional gas well 15 fee).

16 Section 4. Ordinance imposing electricity wind resources impact 17 tax.

(a) Adoption.--Within 60 days after the effective date of
this section, the governing body of the county that has a wind
turbine located within the county's borders may adopt an
ordinance to impose the impact tax. The governing body of the
county must notify the commission and give public notice of the
governing body's intent to adopt an ordinance under this
subsection prior to the adoption of the ordinance.

(b) County ordinance.--The ordinance imposing the impact tax under subsection (a) shall be clear and in language that is readily understandable by a layperson and shall be in the following form:

29 The county of (insert name of county) hereby imposes an 30 electricity wind resources impact tax on each wind

2018D09116

7

- 3 -

1

turbine in this county.

2

(c) Prohibition. -- The following apply:

3 If the governing body of a county does not adopt an (1)4 ordinance imposing the impact tax within 60 days of the effective date of this section, the county may not receive 5 6 funds under section 12(d) until the governing body of the 7 county adopts an ordinance imposing the impact tax. Upon adopting an ordinance imposing the impact tax after 60 days 8 9 from the effective date of this section, the county may receive funds under section 12(d) for the calendar year after 10 the adoption of the ordinance imposing the impact tax. 11

12

(2) (Reserved).

13 (d) Alternate imposition. -- The following apply:

(1) If the governing body of a county does not adopt an ordinance imposing the impact tax, the municipalities in the county may compel the imposition of the impact tax by adopting resolutions in accordance with this subsection.

18 (2)After 60 days but not more than 120 days after the 19 effective date of this section, if the governing bodies of no 20 less than 50% of the municipalities located in a county or municipality representing no less than 50% of the population 21 22 of the county adopt resolutions to impose the impact tax, the 23 impact tax shall shall be imposed. If a resolution is adopted under this paragraph, a copy of the resolution shall be 24 25 transmitted to the governing body of the county and the 26 commission. The governing body of a municipality that is located in more than one county shall transmit a copy of a 27 resolution adopted under this paragraph to the governing body 28 of each county where the municipality is located. For the 29 purposes of this paragraph, the population of a municipality 30

2018D09116

- 4 -

that is located in more than one county shall be determined separately for each county on the basis of the municipality's population within each county.

4 (3) The transmittal of resolutions by governing bodies
5 of municipalities under paragraph (2) shall constitute an
6 imposition of the impact tax in the county.

7 (4) Resolutions adopted under this subsection must be8 framed in the following form:

9 The municipality of (insert name of municipality) in 10 the county of (insert name of county) hereby resolves 11 to have the county impose an electricity wind 12 resources impact tax on each wind turbine in the 13 county.

14 (5) A municipality which is located in a county that 15 does not adopt an ordinance imposing the impact tax and which 16 does not adopt a resolution under this subsection to impose 17 the impact tax under this subsection shall be prohibited from 18 receiving funds under section 12(d).

19 Section 5. Administration.

÷

1

2

3

(a) Impact tax due date.--The impact tax shall become
delinquent if not remitted to the commission on the reporting
date under section 3(d).

(b) Costs of commission.--The commission may impose an annual administrative charge not to exceed \$50 per wind turbine on each producer to pay for the actual costs of the commission to administer and enforce this act.

27 Section 6. Commission.

(a) Powers.--The commission may make all inquiries and
 determinations necessary to calculate and collect the impact
 tax, administrative charges or assessments imposed under this

2018D09116

- 5 -

1 act, including, if applicable, interest and penalties.

2 (b) Notice.--If the commission determines that the impact 3 tax has not been paid in full, the commission may issue a notice 4 of the amount due and demand for payment to the producer and 5 shall set forth the basis for the determination in the notice. 6 The commission shall issue a notice under this subsection via 7 certified mail.

8 (c) Time period.--Except as set forth in subsection (d), the 9 commission may challenge the amount of the impact tax paid 10 within three years after the date when the report under section 11 3(d) is submitted.

(d) Intent.--If no report is filed under section 3(d) or a producer files a false or fraudulent report with the intent to evade the impact tax, an assessment of the amount owed may be made at any time by the commission.

16 Section 7. Enforcement.

17 (a) Assessment.--The commission shall assess interest on any
18 delinquent impact tax amount at the rate determined under
19 section 6(a).

20 (b) Penalty.--In addition to the assessed interest under 21 subsection (a), if a producer fails to make timely payment of 22 the impact tax, a penalty shall be added to the amount of the 23 impact tax as follows:

(1) Five percent of the amount of the impact tax, if
failure to make a timely payment is for not more than one
month.

27 (2) An additional 5% penalty for each additional month
28 after the first month of failing to make a timely payment,
29 not exceeding a 25% penalty in the aggregate.

30 (c) Timely payment.--If the commission determines that a
2018D09116 - 6 -

producer has not made a timely payment of the impact tax, the 1 2 commission shall send written notice of the amount of the deficiency to the producer within 30 days from the date of 3 4 determining the deficiency. The commission shall notify the department that the producer has failed to pay the impact tax. 5 If the producer does not have a pending appeal relating to 6 7 payment of the impact tax in process, the department shall 8 suspend the applicable permit of the producer until the impact tax has been paid. 9

(d) Remedies.--The remedies provided under this act are in 10 11 addition to any other remedies provided by law or in equity. (e) Lien.--Fines, fees, interest and penalties for a 12 13 delinquent impact tax amount shall be collectible as authorized by law for the collection of debts. If the producer liable to 14 pay a delinquent impact tax amount neglects or refuses to pay 15 16 the amount after demand, the amount shall be a judgment in favor 17 of the Commonwealth upon the property of the producer after the 18 judgment has been entered, docketed and recorded by the 19 prothonotary of the county where the property is situated. The 20 Commonwealth shall transmit a certified copy of a judgment under 21 this subsection to the prothonotary of the county. The prothonotary of the county shall enter, docket and record the 22 23 judgment under this subsection in the prothonotary's office and 24 index the judgment at no cost.

25 Section 8. Enforcement orders.

(a) Issuance.--The commission may issue an order as
necessary to enforce this act. An order issued under this
section shall take effect upon notice, unless the order
specifies otherwise. A person aggrieved by an order under this
section may appeal to the Commonwealth Court under 42 Pa.C.S. §

2018D09116

i

- 7 -

1 763 (relating to direct appeals from government agencies).

(b) Compliance.--A producer shall comply with an order
issued under subsection (a). If a producer fails to proceed
diligently to comply with an order under subsection (a) within
the time required, the producer shall be guilty of contempt and
punished by the court in an appropriate manner. In matters
relating to contempt, the commission shall apply to the
Commonwealth Court.

9 Section 9. Administrative penalties.

(a) Civil penalties.--In addition to any other proceeding authorized by law, the commission may assess a civil penalty not to exceed \$2,500 upon a producer for each violation of this act. In determining the amount of the penalty, the commission shall consider the willfulness of the violation and other relevant factors.

(b) Separate offense.--Each violation for each separate day and each violation of this act shall constitute a separate offense.

(c) Limitation of actions.--Notwithstanding any limitation in 42 Pa.C.S. Ch. 55 Subch. B (relating to civil actions and proceedings), an action under this section must be brought within three years of the violation of this act.

23 (d) Procedure.--A penalty under act shall be subject to 66
24 Pa.C.S. Ch. 3 Subch. B (relating to investigations and
25 hearings).

26 Section 10. Recordkeeping.

A producer liable for the impact tax shall keep records, make reports and comply with regulations of the commission. The commission may require a producer to make reports, render statements or keep records as the commission deems sufficient to

2018D09116

- 8 -

1 determine liability for the impact tax.

2 Section 11. Examinations.

ï

3 (a) Access.--The commission or the commission's authorized
4 agents or representatives shall:

5 (1) Have access to the relevant books, papers and 6 records of any producer in order to verify the accuracy and 7 completeness of a report filed or impact tax paid under this 8 act.

9 (2) Require the preservation of all relevant books, 10 papers and records for an appropriate period not to exceed 11 three years from the end of the calendar year to which the 12 records relate.

(3) Examine any employee of a producer under oath
concerning the production of electricity from wind resources
or any matter relating to the enforcement of this act.

16 (4) Compel the production of relevant books, papers and 17 records and the attendance of all individuals who the 18 commission believes to have knowledge of relevant matters in 19 accordance with 66 Pa.C.S. (relating to public utilities).

Unauthorized disclosure. -- Any information obtained by 20 (b) 21 the commission as a result of any report, examination, investigation or hearing under this act shall be confidential 22 23 and shall not be disclosed, except for official purposes, in accordance with a judicial order or as otherwise provided by 24 law. A commissioner or an employee of the commission who without 25 26 lawful authorization divulges confidential information shall be subject to disciplinary action by the commission. 27

28 Section 12. Distribution of funds.

(a) Establishment.--There is established a fund in the State
 30 Treasury to be known as the Electricity Wind Resources Fund to

2018D09116

- 9 -

1 be administered by the commission.

(b) Deposit.--The impact tax imposed and collected under
this act shall be deposited into the fund for the purposes
specified under this section.

5 (c) Report.--A county or municipality receiving money under 6 subsection (d) shall submit a report by December 31, 2020, and 7 December 31 of each year thereafter, to the Secretary of the 8 Budget, the Appropriations Committee of the Senate and the 9 Appropriations Committee of the House of Representatives. The 10 report shall include an itemization and explanation of the use 11 of all funds received under subsection (d).

(d) Distribution.--From fees collected for 2019 and each year thereafter, 60% of the revenue in the fund from fees collected for the prior year shall be allocated to counties and municipalities. Any remaining money shall be retained by the commission and deposited in the General Fund.

17 Section 13. Use of funds.

A county or municipality receiving money under section 12(d) shall use the money only for the following purposes associated with electricity production from wind resources within the county or municipality:

(1) Construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair
 of roadways, bridges and public infrastructure.

(2) Water, storm water and sewer systems, including
 construction, reconstruction, maintenance and repair.

(3) Emergency preparedness and public safety, including
 law enforcement and fire services, hazardous material
 response, 911, equipment acquisition and other services.

29 (4) Tax reductions, including homestead exclusions.
30 (5) The delivery of social services.

2018D09116

- 10 -

1

£

(6) Judicial services.

2 (7) For deposit into the county or municipality's
3 capital reserve fund if the funds are used solely for a
4 purpose set forth under this section.

5 Section 14. Annual report by commission, counties or
6 municipalities.

7 Commission. -- The commission shall submit an annual (a) report regarding the money in the fund by December 30, 2020, and 8 September 30 of each year thereafter. The report shall include a 9 10 detailed listing of all deposits and expenditures of the fund 11 and be submitted to the chairperson and the minority chairperson of the Appropriations Committee of the Senate and the 12 13 chairperson and the minority chairperson of the Appropriations 14 Committee of the House of Representatives.

15 (b) Counties or municipalities. -- A county or municipality 16 receiving money from the fund under this section shall submit a 17 report to the commission on a form prepared by the commission that sets forth the amount and use of the money received in the 18 19 prior calendar year. The report shall specify the manner in 20 which money received from the fund was committed to a specific 21 project or use as authorized under section 13. The report shall 22 be published annually on the county or municipality's publicly 23 accessible Internet website.

24 Section 15. Applicability.

This act shall apply to taxable years beginning on and after January 1, 2019.

27 Section 16. Effective date.

28 This act shall take effect in 60 days.

2018D09116

- 11 -