## AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, in registration of vehicles, further providing for
registration and certificate of title required; in licensing
of drivers, further providing for carrying and exhibiting
driver's license on demand; and, in inspection of vehicles,
further providing for operation of vehicle without official
certificate of inspection.

- 8 This act may be referred to as the Forgetful Driver
- 9 Forgiveness Act.
- 10 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 11 hereby enacts as follows:
- 12 Section 1. Section 1301 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania
- 13 Consolidated Statutes is amended by adding a subsection to read:
- 14 § 1301. Registration and certificate of title required.
- 15 \* \* \*
- 16 <u>(e) Exceptions.--</u>
- 17 (1) No person charged with violating subsection (a)
- 18 <u>shall be convicted if fewer than 30 days have elapsed from</u>
- 19 the expiration of the person's valid vehicle registration and
- 20 <u>the person:</u>

1	(i) produces at the headquarters of the police
2	officer who demanded to see the person's vehicle
3	registration, within 10 days of the demand, a vehicle
4	registration valid in this Commonwealth; or
5	(ii) if a citation has been filed, produces at the
6	office of the issuing authority, within 10 days of the
7	filing of the citation, a vehicle registration valid in
8	this Commonwealth.
9	(2) The exception under paragraph (1) does not apply if
10	the person, in addition to being charged with a violation of
11	subsection (a), is charged with another offense committed at
12	the same time and place.
13	Section 2. Section 1511(b) of Title 75 is amended to read:
14	§ 1511. Carrying and exhibiting driver's license on demand.
15	* * *
16	(b) Production to avoid penalty
17	(1) No person shall be convicted of violating this
18	section or section 1501(a) (relating to drivers required to
19	be licensed) if fewer than 30 days have elapsed from the
20	expiration of the person's valid driver's license and the
21	person:
22	[(1)] $\underline{(i)}$ produces at the headquarters of the police
23	officer who demanded to see the person's license, within
24	[15] $\underline{10}$ days of the demand, a driver's license valid in
25	this Commonwealth [at the time of the demand]; or
26	[(2)] <u>(ii)</u> if a citation has been filed, produces at
27	the office of the issuing authority, within [15] $\underline{10}$ days
28	of the filing of the citation, a driver's license valid
29	in this Commonwealth [on the date of the citation].
30	(2) The exception under this subsection does not apply

- if the person, in addition to being charged with a violation 1 2 of subsection (a) or section 1501(a), is charged with another offense committed at the same time and place. 3 4 Section 3. Section 4703(b)(11) of Title 75 is amended and 5 the section is amended by adding a subsection to read: 6 § 4703. Operation of vehicle without official certificate of 7 inspection. \* \* \* 8 9 (a.1) Prohibition.--10 (1) No person shall be convicted of violating subsection 11 (a) if fewer than 30 days have elapsed from the expiration of the valid certificate of inspection issued under this chapter 12 13 for the vehicle being operated and the vehicle owner: (i) produces at the headquarters of the police 14 15 officer who demanded the vehicle owner or operator to 16 display an official certificate of inspection for the vehicle being operated, within 10 days of the demand, a 17 18 <u>valid certificate</u> of inspection issued under this chapter 19 for the vehicle; or 20 (ii) if a citation has been filed, produces at the 21 office of the issuing authority, within 10 days of the filing of the citation, a valid certificate of inspection 22 23 issued under this chapter for the vehicle. 24 (2) The exception under this subsection does not apply if the person, in addition to being charged with a violation 25 of subsection (a), is charged with another offense committed 26 27 at the same time and place.
- 28 (b) Exceptions. -- Subsection (a) does not apply to:

29 \* \* \*

30 (11) A motor vehicle being operated by the vehicle owner

7	after the expiration of a valid certificate of inspection
2	under this chapter while enroute to an inspection station
3	where an appointment for inspection has been scheduled[,
4	provided that such operation occurs no later than ten days
5	after the expiration of a valid certificate of inspection
6	issued under this chapter]. The exception under this
7	paragraph does not apply if the person, in addition to being
8	charged with a violation of subsection (a), is charged with
9	another offense committed at the same time and place.
10	* * *
11	Section 4. This act shall take effect January 1, 2017.