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AN ACT
Amending the act of January 28, 1988 (P.L.24, No.1ll), entitled
"An act defining and providing for the licensing and
regulation of private academic schools; reestablishing the
State Board of Private Academic Schools; imposing penalties;
and making repeals," further providing for administration and
for penalties.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Sections 4 and 15 of the act of January 28, 1988
(P.L.24, No.1l1), known as the Private Academic Schools Act, are
amended to read:

Section 4. Powers and duties of board.

{(a) Licensure, policies, etc¢.--The board shall have the
power and its duty shall be to approve or disapprove the initial
and renewal licensure of schools; to suspend or revoke the
licensure of schools; to establish qualifications for teachers,
professional staff and directors; to adopt broad policies and
principles and to establish standards, rules and regulations.

The regulations shall provide for a method of school closure.

2015D03713 -1 -



=

10
11
12
i3
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29

30

(b) Disposition of student records.--The board shall require
every applicant for initial licensure to provide a written
statement describing arrangements for disposition of student

records in the event of closure. The board shall require a

private academic school to submit, upon closure, the original

academic records of graduates to the department. It shall be the

duty of the board and the department to assist in the execution
of the arrangements when necessary.

{(c) Enforcement by department.--The regulations promulgated
by the board shall be enforced by the department. The department
may submit to individual experts for review, programs and
courses and financial statements proposed or offered by a
school.

Section 15. Penalties.

{(a} Summary offense.--A person who violates or fails to
comply with this act or a rule, regulation or standard
promulgated under this act commits a summary offense and shall,
upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than
$300.

(b) Civil penalty.--In addition to any other penalty
provided in this act, the board may, by a majority vote of its
statutorily authorized membership, levy a civil penalty of up to
$1,000 on any licensee who violates any provision of this act or

a regulation promulgated under this act or any person who

operates a private academic school without being properly
licensed under this act. Prior to the collection of the penalty,
the licensee or person shall have access to the hearing
procedure provided in Title 2 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes (relating to administrative law and procedure).

Section 2. The amendment of section 15{(b) of the act shall
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1 apply to violations which occur on or after the effective date
2 of this section.

3 Section 3. This act shall take effect in 60 days.
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