## AN ACT

- 1 Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
- 2 Statutes, in licensing of drivers, providing for address
- 3 change reporting.
- 4 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 5 hereby enacts as follows:
- 6 Section 1. Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
- 7 Statutes is amended by adding a section to read:
- 8 § 1515.1. Address change reporting.
- 9 (a) General rule. -- If the department receives information
- 10 through an affidavit of the owner of the property listed on a
- 11 person's application or driver's license that the person who
- 12 applied or received a driver's license or identification card
- 13 allegedly does not reside at that address, a letter shall be
- 14 sent by registered mail, return receipt requested, to the
- 15 individual requiring proof of residency within 15 days.
- 16 Acceptable proof of residency shall include the following:
- 17 <u>(1) A lease agreement.</u>
- 18 (2) A utility bill.

- 1 (3) Any other documentation that links the person to
- 2 that address.
- 3 (b) Cancellation.--If a person fails to respond or does not
- 4 present the documentation required under subsection (a), or if
- 5 mail is returned to the department, the record shall be deemed
- 6 canceled 15 days after the department receives the return
- 7 receipt from the registered mail sent to the individual under
- 8 subsection (a), and the department shall place a code in the
- 9 person's record so that no activity such as a renewal or
- 10 <u>duplicate request may take place until the residency requirement</u>
- 11 <u>is met and verified by the department's risk management office.</u>
- 12 Subject to the provisions of any other law, the code shall be
- 13 available to law enforcement officials. The department shall
- 14 notify the Department of State and the county election bureau of
- 15 the county in which the address of the canceled record is
- 16 <u>located of the cancellation of the record.</u>
- 17 (c) Official record.--After cancellation of the driver's
- 18 license or identification card by the department, the last known
- 19 address shall remain on the department's record as part of the
- 20 official record.
- 21 (d) Penalty.--A person who knowingly submits a false
- 22 <u>affidavit pursuant to subsection (a) commits a misdemeanor of</u>
- 23 the third degree and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay
- 24 a fine of not more than \$10,000.
- 25 Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.