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AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
Statutes, in general provisions, adding definitions for
"attendance officer" and "habitually truant"; and, in
licensing of drivers, further providing for persons
ineligible for licensing, license issuance to minors, junior
driver's license, learners' permits, for notice of change of
name or address, for suspension of operating privilege and

for driving while operating privilege is suspended or
revoked.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 102 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes is amended by adding definitions to read:
§ 102. Definitions.

Subject to additional definitions contained in subsequent
provisions of this title which are applicable to specific
provisions of this title, the following words and phrases when
used in this title shall have, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise, the meanings given to them in this section:

* K 0k

"Attendance officer." BAn attendance officer appointed under
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sections 1341 and 1342 of the act of March 10, 1949 (P.L.30,

No.1l4), known as the Public School Code of 19489.

* k%

"Habitually truant." As defined under section 1333 (b) (5) of

the act of March 10, 1949 (P.L.30, No.1l4), known as the Public

School Code of 1949.

* * %

Section 2. Section 1503(b) is amended and subsection (a) is
amended by adding a paragraph to read:
§ 1503. Persons ineligible for licensing; license issuance to
minors; junior driver's license.
(a) Persons ineligible for licensing.--The department shall
not issue a driver's license to, or renew the driver's license
of, any person:

* k%

(10) Who is deemed to be habitually truant by an

attendance officer.
{(b) License issuance to minors.--The department shall issue
a driver's license to a person 17 years of age who:
(1) has successfully completed a driver's training
coursge approved by the department; [and]

(L.1) has received certification from an attendance

cfficer of the school in which the person is a student that

the person is not habitually truant. If at any time the

person _becomes habitually truant, the attendance officer

shall notify the department in writing that the person is

habitually truant., The department shall immediately suspend

the driver's license or learner's permit for the length of

time provided under this title; and

{2) for a period of 12 months after passing the
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examination under section 1505(e) (relating to learners'

permits} and receiving a junior driver's license:

(i) has not been involved in an accident reportable
under section 3746(a) (relating to immediate notice of
accident to police department) for which they are
partially oxr fully responsible in the opinion of the
department; or

(ii) has not been convicted of any violation of this
title.

* % %

Section 3. Section 1505(e) of Title 75 is amended to read:
§ 1505. Learners' permits.

* k %

(e) Authorization to test for driver's license and junior
driver's license.--A person with a learner's permit is
authorized to take the examination for a regular or junior
driver's license for the class of vehicle for which a permit is
held. Before a person under the age of 18 years may take the
examination for a junior driver's license, including a Class M
license to operate a motorcycle, the minor must:

(1) Have held a learner's permit for that class of
vehicle for a period of six months.

(1.1) Present to the department a certification from an

attendance officer of the school in which the person is a

student that the person is not habitually truant, If at any

time the person becomes habitually truant, the attendance

officer ghall notify the department in writing that the

person is habitually truant. The department shall immediately

suspend the driver's license or learner's permit for the

length of time provided under this title.
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(2) Present to the department a certification form
signed by the father, mother, guardian, person in loco
parentis or spouse of a married minor stating that the minor
applicant has:

(1) completed 65 hours of practical driving
experience accompanied as required under subsection (b);
and

(ii} except for a Class M license to operate a
motorcycle, the 65 hours included no less than ten hours
of nighttime driving and five hours of inclement weather
driving.

{3} Have the certification form completed when the minor
is ready for the licensing examination. The certification
form shall be developed by the department and will be
provided by the department when the original application for
a learner's permit 1s processed. The department will make
this form readily available through the mail or electronic
means.

{(4) For a Class M license to operate a motorcycle,
present evidence of successful completion of the department-
approved motorcycle safety course.

k ok 0k

Section 4. Sections 1515, 1532 and 1543 of Title 75 are
amended by adding subsections to read:
§ 1515. Notice of change of name or address.

* * *

(a.l} Drivers of compulsory school age.--Any driver of

compulsory school age who moves from the address named in the

application or on the driver's license shall, within 20 davys of

moving, notify the department of the old and new addresses and

2013D06250 -4 -



10

11

12

13

14

15

le

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

the old and new school districts and submit an updated

certification signed by the attendance officer of the old and

new school districts stating that the driver is not habitually

truant.

* %k %

§ 1532. Suspension of operating privilege.

% %

{e) Persons who are habitually truant.--The department shall

suspend the operating privilege of any person upon receiving

notification from an attendance officer of the school which the

person attends that the person is habitually truant from school.

The department shall immediately suspend the driver's license or

learner's permit until the person attains 21 vears of aqe, is

able to provide a cgertification from the attendance officer that

the person is no longer habitually truant, graduates from high

school, legally withdraws from school, earns a general

educational development diploma or joins the military.

§ 1543. Driving while operating privilege is suspended or
revoked.

* ® %

(e) Reinstatement relating to habitually truant drivers.--

(1) Any driver's license that is suspended or revoked

under this chapter as a result of habitual truancy shall be

reinstated upon:

(i) The driver attaining 21 vears of age, graduating

from high school, legally withdrawing from school,

earning a general educational development diploma or

joining the military.

(ii}) Payment of an administrative fee of $100 to the

department .
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{2) Where a driver's license is suspended or revoked

under this chapter as a result of habitual truancy and an

additional suspension or revocation has been imposed on the

driver under subsection (¢), the department shall reinstate

the license, regardless of any additional period of

sugspension or revocation imposed under section 1544, upon:

(i) The driver graduating from high school, earning

a general educational development diploma or joining the

military.

(ii) Payment of an administrative fee of $100 to the

department.

Section 5. This act shall take effect in 60 days.
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