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AN ACT
Amending Title 42 (Judiciary and Judicial Procedure) of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in depositions and

witnesses, further providing for declaration of policy, for
definitions and for wvictims of sexual or physical abuse.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 5981 of Title 42 of the Pennsylvania
Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:
§ 5981. Declaration of policy.

In order to promote the best interests of the [children of

this Commonwealth] residents of this Commonwealth who are under

18 years of age, especially those [children] who are material

witnesses to or victims of crimes, the General Assembly declares
its intent, in this subchapter, to provide [these children],
where necessity is shown, procedures which will protect them
during their involvement with the criminal justice system. The
General Assembly urges the news media to use significant

restraint and caution in revealing the identity or address of
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children who are victims of or witnesses to crimes or other
information that would reveal the name or address of the child
victim or witness.

Section 2. Section 5982 of Title 42 is amended by adding a
definition to read:
§ 5982. Definitions.

The following words and phrases when used in this subchapter
shall have the meanings given to them in this section unless the
context clearly indicates otherwise:

* % %

"Minor." An individual who, at the time of the commission of

the offense involving sexual or physical abuse, is under 18

vears of age.

* * *

Section 3. Section 5988 of Title 42 is amended to read:
§ 5988. Victims of sexual or physical abuse.

(a) Release of name prohibited.--Notwithstanding any other
provision of law to the contrary, in a prosecution involving [a
child victim of sexual or physical abuse, unless the court
otherwise orders, the name of the child victim shall not be
disclosed by officers or employees of the court to the public,
and any records revealing the name of the child victim will not

be open to public inspection.] a minor victim of sexual or

physical abuse, the name of the minor wvictim shall not be

disclosed by officers or employees of the court to the public,

and any records revealing the name of the minor wvictim shall not

be open to public inspection.

(a.1l) Application of section.--The provisions of this

section shall apply to a prosecution involving a minor wvictim

reqgardless of the date of the commencement of the prosecution.
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(a.2) Waiver.--A minor victim who is 18 vears of age or

older at the time of the commencement of the prosecution may

waive the provisions of this section and allow the court to

release the name of the minor victim. The court shall develop

procedures to implement the provisions of this subsection.

(b) Penalty.--Any person who violates this section commits a
misdemeanor of the third degree.

Section 4. This act shall take effect in 60 days.
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