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AN ACT
Amending Titles 18 (Crimes and Offenses) and 75 (Vehicles) of
the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for
the offense of scattering rubbish, for the acknowledgment of

littering provisions and for the offense of depositing of
waste and other material on highway, property or waters.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 6501(b) (1) and (2) of Title 18 of the
Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended and the
subsection is amended by adding paragraphs to read:

§ 6501. Scattering rubbish.

* % %

(b) Penalty.--

(1) A person who violates subsection (a) (1) or (2) is
guilty of a summary offense for the first offense and upon
conviction thereof shall be sentenced to pay a fine of not
less than $50 nor more than [$300] $1,000 or to imprisonment

for not more than 90 days, or both, as provided in paragraph

{6).
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(2) A person who violates subsection (a) (1) or (2) is
guilty of a misdemeanor of the third degree for the second
and subsequent offense and upon conviction thereof shall be
sentenced to pay a fine of not less than [$300] $100 nor more

than [$1,000] $2,000, as provided in paraqgraph (6). The

person also may be sentenced to imprisonment or to performing
a community service for a period not to exceed one year.

* % %

(6) Fines are to be imposed according to the following

schedule:

(i) For littering of five pounds or less for the

first offense, the fine shall be not less than $50 nor

more than $300.

(ii) For littering of more than five pounds but less

than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the first offense,

the fine shall be not less than $300 nor more than $500.

(iii) PFor littering of more than 100 pounds or 25

cubic feet or more for the first offense, the fine shall

be not less than $500 nor more than $1,000.

(iv) For littering of less than five pounds for the

second and subsequent offense, the fine shall be not less

than $100 nor more than $500.

(v) For littering of more than five pounds but less

than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the second and

subgsequent offense, the fine shall be not less than $500

nor more than $1,000.

(vi) For littering of more than 100 pounds or 25

cubic feet for the second and subsequent offense, the

fine shall be not less than $1,000 nor more than $2,000.

(7) Two-thirds of any fine over $300 collected under
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paragraph (1) or (2) for an offense that occurred in a county

that has established a litter board or any other authority,

organization, department, bureau or board established by the

countv to administer solid waste management as designated by

the county commisgsioners shall be transmitted to the litter

board or the other authority, organization, department,

bureau or board.

*x * *

Section 2. Sections 1317 and 1520 of Title 75 are amended to
read:

§ 1317. Acknowledgment of littering provisions.

On every vehicle registration card, the following statement
shall be printed immediately above or below the signature of the
applicant:

I hereby acknowledge this day that I have received notice
of the provisions of section 3709 of the Vehicle Code.
Also printed on the registration card shall be the following:
Section 3709 provides for a fine of up to [$300] $2,000
for dropping, throwing or depositing, upon any highway,
or upon any other public or private property without the
consent of the owner thereof or into or on the waters of
this Commonwealth from a vehicle, any waste paper,
sweepings, ashes, household waste, glass, metal, refuse
or rubbish or any dangerous or detrimental substance, or
permitting any of the preceding without immediately
removing such items or causing their removal.
For any violation of section 3709, I may be subject to a
fine of up to [$300] $2,000 upon conviction, including
any violation resulting from the conduct of any other

persons operating, in possession of or present within

2013D01141 -3 -



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

this vehicle with my permission, if I do not with
reasonable certainty identify the driver of the vehicle
at the time the violation occurred.

§ 1520. Acknowledgment of littering provisions.

On every application for a learner's permit or driver's
license, the following statement shall be printed immediately
above or below the signature of the applicant:

I hereby acknowledge this day that I have received notice
of the provisions of section 3709 of the Vehicle Code.
Also printed on the card shall be the following:
Section 3709 provides for a fine of up to [$300] $2,000
for dropping, throwing or depositing, upon any highway,
or upon any other public or private property without the
consent of the owner thereof or into or on the waters of
this Commonwealth from a vehicle, any waste paper,
sweepings, ashes, household waste, glass, metal, refuse
or rubbish or any dangerous or detrimental substance, or
permitting any of the preceding without immediately
removing such items or causing their removal.
For any violation of section 3709, I may be subject to a
fine of up to [$300] $2,000 upon conviction, including
any violation resulting from the conduct of any other
persons present within any vehicle of which I am the
driver.

Section 3. Section 3709(d) (1) and (e) of Title 75 are
amended and the section is amended by adding a subsection to
read:

§ 3709. Depositing waste and other material on highway,

property or waters.

2013Dp01141 - 4 -



10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

(d) Penalty.--Any person violating any of the provisions of
subsection (a) or (b) commits a summary offense and shall, upon
conviction, be sentenced to either or both of the following:

(1) To pay [a fine of not more than]:

(i) [$900] for a violation which occurs in an
easement purchased under the program established by
section 14.1 of the act of June 30, 1981 (P.L.128,
No.43), known as the Agricultural Area Security Law, a _

fine of not less than $900 nor more than $1,500;

(ii) [$600] for a violation which occurs in an
agricultural security area as defined in section 3 of the

Agricultural Area Security Law, a fine of not less than

$600 nor more than $1,200; or

(iii) [$300] for a violation which occurs anywhere
else[.]:

(A) For littering of five pounds or less for the

first offense, a fine of $100.

(B) For littering of more than five pounds but

less than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the first

offense, a fine of $500.

(C) For littering of more than 100 pounds or 25

cubic feet or more for the first offense, a fine of

$1,000.

(D) For littering of less than five pounds for

the second and subsequent offense, a fine of $500.

(E) For littering of more than five pounds but

less than 100 pounds or 25 cubic feet for the second

and subsequent offense, a fine of $1,000.

(F) For littering of more than 100 pounds or 25

cubic feet for the second and subsequent offense, a
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*x * *

(e) Disposition of fines, etc.--[Revenue] Except as

otherwise provided under subsection (f), revenue from the

collection of fines and bail forfeitures in the course of
enforcement of this section shall be distributed in the
following manner:

(1) One-half shall be distributed to the agency or local
government unit which brought the action to enforce this
section and may be used to defray the expenses of enforcing
this section, at the option of the agency or local government
unit.

(2) One-half shall be allocated to the department for
Statewide public education and awareness programs to promote
litter control and recycling and awareness of the provisions
of this section.

(f) Alternate disposition.--Two-thirds of any fine over $300

collected under subsection (d) (1) for an offense that occurred

in a county that has established a litter board or any other

authority, organization, department, bureau or board established

by the county to administer solid waste management as designated

by the county commissioners shall be transmitted to the litter

board or the other authority, organization, department, bureau

or board.

Section 4. This act shall take effect in six months.
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