TONY PAYTON, JR., MEMBER

308 IRVIS OFFICE BUILDING P.O. BOX 202179 HARRISBURG, PENNSYLVANIA 17120-2179 (717) 787-1354 FAX: (717) 780-4789

4509 FRANKFORD AVENUE PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA 19124 (215) 744-7901 FAX: (215) 744-7906

627 WEST ERIE AVENUE PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA 19140 (215) 227-2360 FAX: (215) 227-2364



COMMITTEES

HUMAN SERVICES
SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRMAN MENTAL HEALTH
TRANSPORTATION
SUBCOMMITTEE CHAIRMAN RAILROADS
SUBCOMMITTEE MASS TRANSIT
STATE GOVERNMENT
SECRETARY
PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE
ATHLETIC OVERSIGHT
POLICY COMMITTEE
VICE CHAIR

CAUCUSES

PA LEGISLATIVE BLACK CAUCUS COMMUNITY COLLEGE CAUCUS PHILADELPHIA DELEGATION URBAN SUSTAINABILITY CAUCUS ASTHMA CAUCUS

MEMORANDUM

TO:

Members of the House of Representatives

FROM:

Representative Tony Payton

DATE:

June 20, 2012

SUBJECT: Co-Sponsorship Request – Amending the Liquor Code to Penalize a Licensee for

the Sale of Liquor to a Minor

In the near future, I plan to introduce legislation that amends the Liquor Code to impose additional penalties to any licensee that furnishes a minor with an alcoholic beverage, and that minor, as a result of the consumption of the alcohol, is convicted, found guilty, or enter into a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to aggravated assault of officers or protected individuals.

The trend of underage drinking across the United States and, specifically in Pennsylvania, is alarming. According to the Pacific Institute for Research and Evaluation, minors consumed 12.5% of all the alcohol sold in the Commonwealth, equaling close to \$916 million in sales, in 2009. In 2010, underage drinking cost the taxpayers of this Commonwealth more than \$2 billion. Licensees that enable minors to consume alcohol are not only endangering the life of the minor, but also all individuals within their presence, including law enforcement officers attempting to ensure the safety of all. Furthermore, the illegal actions of the licensees place an unnecessary financial burden on the Pennsylvania taxpayers.

My legislation would further penalize any licensee that was found to have violated section 493(1) of the Liquor Code, as it relates to the sale of alcohol to minors, and where that minor commits the offense of aggravated assault against certain persons, including police officers (18 Pa.C.S. §2702(a)(2)). The offending licensee would be required to pay a fine up to \$10,000 and display a notice specifically stating the violation until the license is to be renewed. The increased fines and penalties for a licensee may further deter these violations from occurring and lessen the dangerous situations that officers face when interacting with a visibly intoxicated minor.

If you would like to co-sponsor this legislation, please contact my Legislative Assistant, Tajuanna Franklin at (717) 787-1354 or TFranklin@pahouse.net.