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In the near future, | plan to introduce legislation that would amend “The Landlord and Tenant Act of 1951" (Act 20) to
provide for revised eviction proceedings.

Though current law provides a process for the eviction of tenants, procedurally, this is not what takes place due to an
ambiguity in the law and the Pennsylvania District Justice Rules of Court. | believe that Act 20 should be amended to
clarity this inconsistency.

The following is an explanation of the problem, as well as how the legislation would rectify this matter in Act 20.

e Following an eviction proceeding where the district justice rules in the landlord’s favor, the landlord can file
an Order of Possession (Writ of Possession in Philadelphia Municipal Court) on the 6t day after the date of
the judgment under Act 20. Current Pennsylvania District Justice Rules, however, do not allow the landlord
to actually file the Order of Possession until the 11t day after the date the judgment is rendered (due to the
tenant's 10 day appeal period). Once the Order for Possession is filed (11day), the landlord must then wait
another 10 days after it is served before proceeding with the lockout of the tenant.

e The process results in a 21-day time period. | believe that this was not the intent of Act 20, and therefore
propose that the law be clarified so that the 10-day waiting period and the 10-day appeal period run
concurrently rather than consecutively. The landlord would then be able to file an Order of Possession
immediately after a judgment is rendered, and the provision of Act 20 would be met.

e Additionally, the proposed legislation would add a new subsection to Act 20 to require the landlord to file an
affidavit after the appeal period has run out, certifying that the tenant has not paid the judgment amount plus
costs, and has not filed an appeal. This would provide added protection to the tenant by insuring that an
improper lockout does not take place.

Itis my belief that when a tenant has lost in court and has not taken an appeal, there is no legitimate interest that
would be served by allowing the tenant to live in his/her apartment rent-free. This “carrying cost” is eventually passed
on to the other tenants that are paying their rent, in the form of higher rental payments. In addition the delay in
evicting the tenant that is created often results in destruction of the property by the tenant and greater cost to the
tandlord.

If you are interested in joining me as a co-sponsor of this legislation, please contact Melissa Knepper at
mknepper@pasen.gov or by phone at 717-772-2929.




