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MEMORANDUM
TO: All House Members
FROM: Representative Todd Stephens
DATE: November 16, 2011

SUBJECT:  Cosponsor Memo — Organized Retail Theft

Organized retail theft in Pennsylvania is a sophisticated crime and a growing problem that is
estimated to have cost our Commonwealth $60 million in sales tax revenue in 2010. One major
retailer lost $21 million to retail theft in PA in 2010!

I’ve attached a news article reporting a recent investigation and prosecution of an organized retail
theft ring operating in Berks, Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Lackawanna, Lancaster, Lehigh,
Luzerne, Northampton and Philadelphia Counties. The head of this 11-county organized retail
theft crime ring was from NJ and he chose to operate his criminal enterprise in Pennsylvania for
good reason — lower penalties.

Pennsylvania’s penalty for retail theft is currently out of step with penalties provided for in many
other states, and I will be introducing legislation to correct it. In the Commonwealth, an offense
crosses the line from a misdemeanor to a felony when the value of the items stolen exceeds
$2000. Today, a thief who steals an item worth $1999 from a Pennsylvania retail establishment is
charged with a Misdemeanor of the First-degree, even if he has a prior conviction.

Most other states set the felony threshold much lower. For example, in some of our neighboring
states, theft of an item with a value over $1000 carries the following:

Maryland: Felony with a maximum of 10 years

New York: Felony with a maximum of 4 years

New Jersey: Felony with a maximum of 5 years

District of Columbia: Felony with a maximum 10 years.
Ohio: Felony with a maximum 12 months.

We must deter criminal organizations from targeting Pennsylvania and our weak penalties.
For that reason, I plan to introduce legislation that will amend our retail theft statute to make it a
felony of the third degree if the value of the item stolen is $1000 or more.

If you would like to join me in sponsoring this bill, please contact Lindsey Freidly at
LFreidly@pahousegop.com or (717) 260-6163.



