THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION

_{No.} 199

Session of 2022

INTRODUCED BY JOZWIAK, STRUZZI, MILLARD, HAMM, GALLOWAY, PEIFER, PICKETT, ROZZI, COX, GUENST, KNOWLES, MERSKI, HENNESSEY, SONNEY, METZGAR, RYAN, BOBACK, POLINCHOCK, RIGBY, KAUFFMAN, SCHLOSSBERG, DIAMOND, JAMES, HARKINS, McNEILL, E. NELSON, T. DAVIS, LONGIETTI, PASHINSKI, SAINATO, DRISCOLL, SAYLOR, C. WILLIAMS, METCALFE, ECKER, DeLUCA, MALONEY, DELLOSO, GILLEN, THOMAS, STAATS, DELOZIER, FARRY, B. MILLER, ROWE, MADDEN, MARSHALL, DEASY, SCHLEGEL CULVER, NEILSON, KEEFER, SMITH, MOUL, WARREN AND MENTZER, APRIL 27, 2022

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON JUDICIARY, APRIL 27, 2022

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Honoring the memory of law enforcement officers who have lost 2 their lives in the line of duty.
- 3 WHEREAS, In providing for the domestic tranquility of the
- 4 community as a whole, society recognizes the need for a system
- 5 of laws and the enforcement of the law has been entrusted to a
- 6 small number of dedicated individuals; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The individuals, known as law enforcement officers,
- 8 daily face the rigors of human conflict in protecting those whom
- 9 they so valiantly serve; and
- 10 WHEREAS, This Commonwealth has been blessed by courageous law
- 11 enforcement officers willing to sacrifice their personal well-
- 12 being and concerns to ensure the safety of our citizenry; and
- 13 WHEREAS, It is highly fitting and appropriate to honor the
- 14 following exemplary citizens who made the ultimate sacrifice in

- 1 protecting and preserving the public safety:
- 2 (1) Trooper First Class Donald C. Brackett; Pennsylvania
- 3 State Police; EOW: Saturday, May 18, 2019.
- 4 (2) Sergeant Anthony J. Gorman; Sugarcreek Borough
- 5 Police Department; EOW: Wednesday, October 1, 2019.
- 6 (3) Lieutenant Robert E. McCallister; Susquehanna
- 7 Township Police Department; EOW: Sunday, January 20, 2019.
- 8 (4) Police Officer Michael L. Henry; Derry Township
- 9 Police Department; EOW: Thursday, January 2, 2020.
- 10 (5) Sergeant James R. O'Connor, IV; Philadelphia Police
- 11 Department; EOW: Friday, March 13, 2020.
- 12 (6) Captain James Walker; Philadelphia Police
- Department; EOW: Sunday, April 5, 2020.
- 14 (7) Chief Robert W. Sealock; Aliquippa City Police
- Department; EOW: Saturday, April 11, 2020.
- 16 (8) Interim Police Chief Mark J. Romutis; Ambridge
- Borough Police Department; EOW: Sunday, April 12, 2020.
- 18 (9) Sergeant Jose Manuel Novoa; Philadelphia Police
- Department; EOW: Wednesday, June 3, 2020.
- 20 (10) Park Ranger Thomas E. Booz; Bucks County Department
- of Parks and Recreation; EOW: Saturday, June 6, 2020.
- 22 (11) Police Officer Dale T. Provins, Jr.; Jefferson Hill
- Borough Police Department; EOW: Saturday, June 13, 2020.
- 24 (12) Police Officer Dwayne Morrison; SEPTA Transit
- Police Department; EOW: Friday, October 16, 2020.
- 26 (13) Police Officer Tab Ali; Philadelphia Police
- Department; EOW: Monday, November 23, 2020.
- 28 (14) Deputy Sheriff John J. Kuhar, Jr.; Cambria County
- 29 Sheriff's Office; EOW: Saturday, November 28, 2020.
- 30 (15) Captain Frank R. Milillo, Sr.; Philadelphia Police

- 1 Department; EOW: Thursday, December 3, 2020.
- 2 (16) Sergeant Joseph M. Youse; Philadelphia Police
- 3 Department; EOW: Wednesday, December 23, 2020.
- 4 (17) Chief of Police Tony M. Jordan; Middleburg Borough
- 5 Police Department; EOW: Wednesday, January 13, 2021.
- 6 (18) Trooper Monty R. Mitchell; Pennsylvania State
- 7 Police; EOW: Monday, February 8, 2021.
- 8 (19) Deputy Sheriff Ross Dixon; Cambria County Sheriff's
- 9 Office; EOW: Tuesday, February 9, 2021.
- 10 (20) Chief of Police Timothy John Sheehan; California
- 11 Borough Police Department; EOW: Thursday, February 11, 2021.
- 12 (21) Police Officer Erin Tokley; Philadelphia Police
- Department; EOW: Wednesday, March 3, 2021.
- 14 (22) Superintendent Scott D. "Slip" Mahoney; Delaware
- 15 County Bureau of Park Police and Fire Safety; EOW: Tuesday,
- 16 May 18, 2021.
- 17 (23) Police Officer Vladimir Maleev; Philadelphia Police
- Department; EOW: Friday, August 6, 2021.
- 19 (24) Police Officer Brian L. Rowland; Pittsburgh Bureau
- of Police; EOW: Sunday, September 26, 2021.
- 21 (25) Police Officer James Edward Simonetti; Carnegie
- Mellon University Police Department; EOW: Wednesday, October
- 23 13, 2021.
- 24 (26) Sergeant Richard Charles Howe; Pittsburgh Bureau of
- Police; EOW: Thursday, October 21, 2021.
- 26 (27) Trooper Dung X. Martinez; Pennsylvania State
- Police; EOW: Thursday, October 21, 2021.
- 28 (28) Police Officer Jason Michael Belton; Erie Police
- Department; EOW: Sunday, October 24, 2021.
- 30 (29) Police Officer Joshua Micun; Westtown-East Goshen

- 1 Regional Police Department; EOW: Sunday, October 31, 2021.
- 2 (30) Sergeant Timothy Werner; Pittsburgh Bureau of
- 3 Police; EOW: Tuesday, November 2, 2021.
- 4 (31) Detective Sergeant Gary R. Taccone; Erie Police
- 5 Department; EOW: Wednesday, November 3, 2021.
- 6 (32) Sergeant Scott M. Patton; Robinson Township Police
- 7 Department; EOW: Saturday, November 6, 2021.
- 8 (33) Sergeant Kevin D. Redding; Haverford Township
- 9 Police Department; EOW: Monday, December 20, 2021.
- 10 (34) Deputy Sheriff Steven Armbruster; Lehigh County
- 11 Sheriff; EOW: Thursday, December 23, 2021.
- 12 (35) Sergeant Christopher Mortensen; Wilkes-Barre Police
- Department; EOW: Monday, December 27, 2021;
- 14 and
- 15 WHEREAS, The bravery and selflessness demonstrated by the
- 16 fallen officers is exemplary and displays the service and
- 17 sacrifice of those who are tasked with protecting individuals
- 18 and institutions of democracy; therefore be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor the memory
- 20 of law enforcement officers who lost their lives in the line of
- 21 duty; and be it further
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives express its
- 23 deepest sympathy and offer sincere condolences to the families
- 24 and friends of these fallen officers.