THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION

No. 407

Session of 2017

INTRODUCED BY WHEATLEY, DERMODY, DAY, ROTHMAN, MURT, FREEMAN, DRISCOLL, BURNS, M. K. KELLER, READSHAW, CALTAGIRONE, SONNEY, DUSH, MILLARD, HENNESSEY, ENGLISH, McCLINTON, WARD, LONGIETTI, RYAN, J. HARRIS, DiGIROLAMO, SCHLOSSBERG, BOBACK, DeLUCA, P. COSTA, MULLERY, SAINATO, GOODMAN, EVERETT, PASHINSKI, FRANKEL, V. BROWN AND HELM, JUNE 16, 2017

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, JUNE 16, 2017

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the National Hockey League champion Pittsburgh 2 Penguins for winning the 2017 Stanley Cup.
- 3 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins won the Stanley Cup by
- 4 defeating the Nashville Predators 2-0 in game six of the Stanley
- 5 Cup Finals on June 11, 2017; and
- 6 WHEREAS, With this victory, the Pittsburgh Penguins franchise
- 7 has won their fifth Stanley Cup since entering the National
- 8 Hockey League in 1967; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins won the Stanley Cup in 1991,
- 10 1992, 2009 and 2016; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins ended the season with a 50-
- 12 21-11 record before heading into an unbelievable playoff run and
- 13 defeating the Columbus Blue Jackets, Washington Capitals, Ottawa
- 14 Senators and Nashville Predators; and
- 15 WHEREAS, The commitment the Pittsburgh Penguins made to

- 1 winning a championship could not have been more obvious during
- 2 the third period in game six, during which the players blocked
- 3 shots with every available body part and broke up potential
- 4 scoring plays by any means necessary; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Team Captain Sidney Crosby earned the Conn Smythe
- 6 Trophy as MVP of the playoffs; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Patric Hornquist scored with 1 minute 35 seconds
- 8 remaining in the third period to give the Pittsburgh Penguins a
- 9 1-0 lead; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Carl Hagelin scored an empty-net goal with 14
- 11 seconds remaining to give the Pittsburgh Penguins a 2-0 lead;
- 12 and
- 13 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins' Head Coach, Mike Sullivan,
- 14 took over the team in December 2015 and steered the franchise
- 15 back to where ownership and top executives felt the team should
- 16 rank before leading them to the Stanley Cup victory in 2016 and
- 17 again in 2017; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins owner, Mario Lemieux, has
- 19 won the Stanley Cup twice as a player and three times as an
- 20 owner; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Nick Bonino, Sidney Crosby, Matt Cullen, Jean-
- 22 Sebastien Dea, Jake Guentzel, Evgeni Malkin, Kevin Porter,
- 23 Dominik Simon, Oskar Sundqvist, Scott Wilson, Carl Hagelin,
- 24 Chris Kunitz, Tom Sestito, Conor Sheary, Garrett Wilson, Josh
- 25 Archibald, Patric Hornqvist, Phil Kessel, Tom Kuhnhackl, Carter
- 26 Rowney, Bryan Rust, Daniel Sprong, Ian Cole, Frank Corrado,
- 27 Trevor Daley, Brian Dumoulin, Cameron Gaunce, Ron Hainsey, Kris
- 28 Letang, Olli Maatta, Derrick Pouliot, Chad Ruhwedel, Justin
- 29 Schultz, Mark Streit, David Warsofsky, Marc-Andre Fleury,
- 30 Tristan Jarry, Sean Maguire and Matt Murray were each an

- 1 essential part of the team that assisted the Pittsburgh Penguins
- 2 to claim its fifth Stanley Cup; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The people of the City of Pittsburgh proudly join
- 4 the team in celebrating its fifth Stanley Cup, which raises
- 5 Pittsburgh's stature as the City of Champions; therefore be it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives congratulate the
- 7 National Hockey League champion Pittsburgh Penguins for winning
- 8 the 2017 Stanley Cup.