## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## HOUSE RESOLUTION

No. 936

Session of 2015

INTRODUCED BY WHEATLEY, M. K. KELLER, RAVENSTAHL, READSHAW, P. COSTA, MILLARD, BURNS, DONATUCCI, GROVE, DERMODY, BAKER, TOOHIL, SCHLEGEL CULVER, DEASY, KIRKLAND, J. HARRIS, DeLUCA, ENGLISH, FEE, HENNESSEY, DiGIROLAMO, GIBBONS, BULLOCK, WARD, BIZZARRO, HELM, ROZZI, KINSEY, MURT, SNYDER, LONGIETTI, THOMAS, YOUNGBLOOD, COHEN, MARSHALL, O'NEILL, REGAN, MULLERY, MAHONEY, DUSH, SONNEY, SAYLOR, MAJOR, HARHAI, KOTIK, ROEBUCK, CALTAGIRONE, CAUSER, PAYNE, CONKLIN, ORTITAY, SCHLOSSBERG, PASHINSKI, PHILLIPS-HILL, MARSICO, D. COSTA, GOODMAN, A. HARRIS, MARKOSEK, FRANKEL, GERGELY, MATZIE AND SAINATO, JUNE 20, 2016

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, JUNE 20, 2016

## A RESOLUTION

- 1 Congratulating the National Hockey League champion Pittsburgh 2 Penguins for winning the 2016 Stanley Cup.
- 3 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins won the Stanley Cup by
- 4 defeating the San Jose Sharks 3-1 in game six of the Stanley Cup
- 5 Finals on June 12, 2016; and
- 6 WHEREAS, With this victory, the Pittsburgh Penguins franchise
- 7 has won their fourth Stanley Cup since entering the National
- 8 Hockey League in 1967; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Penguins won the Stanley Cup in 1991, 1992 and
- 10 2009; and
- 11 WHEREAS, The Penguins ended the season with a 48-26-8 record
- 12 before heading into an unbelievable playoff run and defeating

- 1 the New York Rangers, Washington Capitals, Tampa Bay Lightning
- 2 and San Jose Sharks; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The commitment the Penguins made to winning a
- 4 championship could not have been more obvious during the first
- 5 19 minutes of the third period in game six, during which the
- 6 players blocked shots with every available body part and broke
- 7 up potential scoring plays by any means; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Team Captain Sidney Crosby earned the Conn Smythe
- 9 Trophy as MVP of the playoffs; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Brian Dumoulin and Kris Letang, Penguins'
- 11 defensemen, scored the first two goals for the team in its game
- 12 six win; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Patric Hornqvist scored the game-winning goal for
- 14 the Penguins with 1:02 remaining; and
- WHEREAS, Matt Murray, the Penguins' goalie, ended the season
- 16 in elite company as one of four rookie goalies to win the
- 17 Stanley Cup; and
- 18 WHEREAS, The Penguins' coach, Mike Sullivan, took over the
- 19 team in December 2015 and steered the franchise back to where
- 20 ownership and top executives felt the team should rank before
- 21 leading them to the Stanley Cup victory; and
- 22 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins owner, Mario Lemieux, has
- 23 won the Stanley Cup twice as a player and now twice as an owner;
- 24 and
- 25 WHEREAS, Sidney Crosby, Phil Kessel, Evgeni Malkin, Nick
- 26 Bonino, Carl Hagelin, Kris Letang, Patric Hornqvist, Chris
- 27 Kunitz, Conor Sheary, Bryan Rust, Brian Dumoulin, Olli Maatta,
- 28 Matt Cullen, Trevor Daley, Ben Lovejoy, Tom Kuhnhackl, Eric
- 29 Fehr, Justin Schultz, Ian Cole, Beau Bennett, Oskar Sundqvist,
- 30 Derrick Pouliot, Matt Murray, Marc-Andre Fleury and Jeff Zatkoff

- 1 were each an essential part of the team that assisted the
- 2 Pittsburgh Penguins to claim its fourth Stanley Cup; and
- 3 WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Penguins engaged their fans by
- 4 providing the "Big Screen" outside of the CONSOL Energy Center,
- 5 bringing thousands of fans outside the arena to cheer on the
- 6 Penguins during home games; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The people of the City of Pittsburgh proudly join
- 8 the team in celebrating their fourth Stanley Cup, which raises
- 9 Pittsburgh's stature as the City of Champions; therefore be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives congratulate the
- 11 National Hockey League champion Pittsburgh Penguins for winning
- 12 the 2016 Stanley Cup.