THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION

No. 891

Session of 2015

INTRODUCED BY VITALI, ADOLPH, HENNESSEY, W. KELLER, P. COSTA, VEREB, KOTIK, MILLARD, GREINER, HARPER, MALONEY, BAKER, SCHLOSSBERG, FARRY, PAYNE, STAATS, MUSTIO, HARHART, WATSON, SAMUELSON, QUIGLEY, MURT, CONKLIN, HICKERNELL, DONATUCCI, PHILLIPS-HILL, ROTHMAN, REGAN, DIGIROLAMO, COHEN, RAVENSTAHL, DRISCOLL, GIBBONS, THOMAS, ROZZI, BIZZARRO, READSHAW, LONGIETTI, KILLION, EVERETT, WHEELAND, MAHONEY, FEE, SONNEY, DUSH, SCHLEGEL CULVER, DELUCA, JOZWIAK, O'NEILL, MCNEILL, DIAMOND, DERMODY, PASHINSKI, KINSEY, BULLOCK, HARKINS, SNYDER, TOEPEL, SAINATO, MARSICO, ROSS, PEIFER, SANTORA, HAHN, NEILSON, HARHAI, FARINA, WARD, SAYLOR, MILNE, MAJOR, GROVE, GILLEN, CALTAGIRONE AND MCCLINTON, MAY 18, 2016

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, MAY 18, 2016

A RESOLUTION

- Recognizing the Villanova University Men's Basketball Team for winning the 2016 National Collegiate Athletic Association
- 3 Championship.
- WHEREAS, On April 4, 2016, the National Collegiate Athletic
- 5 Association (NCAA) Championship was held in Houston, Texas; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The Villanova University Men's Basketball Team
- 7 emerged victorious over the University of North Carolina Men's
- 8 Basketball Team; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Villanova Wildcats scored a total of 77 points
- 10 over the North Carolina Tar Heels' 74 points, with the last
- 11 three points being scored in the final seconds; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Villanova became the first team to win the National
- 13 Championship on a buzzer beater since 1983; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Villanova became the first team in NCAA Tournament
- 2 history to beat two opponents seeded third or higher by 20 or
- 3 more points; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This victory marks the first NCAA Championship win
- 5 for Villanova since 1985; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Villanova became the fifteenth school in NCAA
- 7 history to win multiple national championships; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Head Coach Jay Wright, along with Baker Dunleavy,
- 9 Ashley Howard and Kyle Neptune coached the team to victory; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mark Jackson, George Halcovage, Arleshia Davidson,
- 11 Mike Nardi, Jeff Pierce and John Shackleton provided integral
- 12 support and direction; and
- 13 WHEREAS, In achieving this impressive feat the team consisted
- 14 of five seniors, three juniors, one sophomore and five freshmen;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, Henry Lowe, Jalen Brunson, Kris Jenkins, Josh Hart,
- 17 Eric Paschall, Phil Booth, Donte DiVincenzo, Ryan Arcidiacono,
- 18 Patrick Farrell, Daniel Ochefu, Mikal Bridges, Tim Delaney,
- 19 Darryl Reynolds and Kevin Rafferty comprised the winning team;
- 20 therefore be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the
- 22 Villanova University Men's Basketball Team for becoming National
- 23 Collegiate Athletic Association Champions for 2016.