THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 953 Session of 2008

INTRODUCED BY ROEBUCK, D. O'BRIEN, ADOLPH, ARGALL, BAKER, BARRAR, BEAR, BENNINGHOFF, BEYER, BISHOP, BOBACK, BOYD, BRENNAN, BUXTON, CALTAGIRONE, CASORIO, CAUSER, CIVERA, CLYMER, COHEN, CONKLIN, COSTA, COX, CREIGHTON, CURRY, DALEY, DALLY, DENLINGER, DERMODY, DeWEESE, DONATUCCI, EACHUS, D. EVANS, FABRIZIO, FAIRCHILD, FLECK, FRANKEL, FREEMAN, GALLOWAY, GEIST, GEORGE, GIBBONS, GINGRICH, GODSHALL, GOODMAN, GRUCELA, HARKINS, HARPER, HARRIS, HENNESSEY, HERSHEY, HESS, HICKERNELL, JAMES, JOSEPHS, M. KELLER, W. KELLER, KENNEY, KILLION, KIRKLAND, KORTZ, KULA, LENTZ, MAJOR, MANDERINO, MANN, MANTZ, MARKOSEK, MARSHALL, MARSICO, McCALL, McGEEHAN, MELIO, MENSCH, MICOZZIE, MILLARD, R. MILLER, MOUL, MOYER, MUNDY, MURT, M. O'BRIEN, OLIVER, O'NEILL, PALLONE, PARKER, PASHINSKI, PAYNE, PAYTON, PEIFER, PETRONE, PHILLIPS, QUINN, RAMALEY, RAYMOND, READSHAW, REICHLEY, ROCK, ROHRER, ROSS, RUBLEY, SABATINA, SAINATO, SAMUELSON, SANTONI, SAYLOR, SCAVELLO, SCHRODER, SEIP, SHAPIRO, SHIMKUS, SIPTROTH, K. SMITH, SOLOBAY, SONNEY, STABACK, STEIL, STURLA, SURRA, SWANGER, TANGRETTI, J. TAYLOR, R. TAYLOR, TRUE, TURZAI, VEREB, VULAKOVICH, WALKO, WANSACZ, WATERS, WATSON, WILLIAMS, WOJNAROSKI, YOUNGBLOOD AND YUDICHAK, NOVEMBER 12, 2008

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, NOVEMBER 12, 2008

A RESOLUTION

2	Congratulating the 2008 Philadelphia Phillies who won Major League Baseball's World Series on October 29, 2008, at Citizens Bank Park.
4	WHEREAS, The Philadelphia Phillies became the National
5	League's entry into Major League Baseball's (MLB) 2008 World
6	Series when they defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers in Los Angeles
7	on October 15, 2008; and
8	WHEREAS. Five very long games later, after the final game was

suspended on October 27 due to heavy rain and resumed after
another day of poor weather conditions, the Phillies defeated
the Tampa Bay Rays 4-3 on October 29, 2008, to become MLB's 2008
World Champions; and

5 WHEREAS, Die-hard Phillies fans from across this Commonwealth 6 filled buses to travel to the World Series and multitudes more 7 sat before their televisions, transfixed as the Phillies won 8 their first championship since 1980 and their second in the 9 history of the franchise; and

10 WHEREAS, Charlie Manuel's whiz kids and his hardened veterans 11 combined to overcome injuries and other obstacles to make this 12 an exciting year of Phillies baseball for this Commonwealth; and 13 WHEREAS, Singling out the accomplishments or statistics of 14 any one or of a few players would misrepresent the outstanding 15 team effort that went into achieving this monumental place in 16 baseball history; and

17 WHEREAS, The 2008 active roster includes pitchers Joe Bisenius, Joe Blanton, Andrew Carpenter, Clay Condrey, Chad 18 19 Durbin, Adam Eaton, Scott Eyre Tom Gordon, Cole Hamels, J.A. 20 Happ, Kyle Kendrick, Brad Lidge, Ryan Madson, Scott Mathieson, 21 Jamie Moyer, Brett Myers, Scott Nestor, J.C. Romero, Rudy Seanez 22 and Michael Zagurski; catchers Chris Coste, Jason Jaramillo, Lou Marson and Carlos Ruiz; infielders Eric Bruntlett, Greg Dobbs, 23 24 Pedro Feliz, Brad Harman, Ryan Howard, Tadahito Iguchi, Jimmy 25 Rollins and Chase Utley; and outfielders Pat Burrell, Greg 26 Golson, Geoff Jenkins, Matt Stairs, Shane Victorino and Jayson 27 Werth; and

28 WHEREAS, They, the coaching staff, managers and all others 29 who worked tirelessly to bring the 2008 World Championship to 30 Philadelphia deserve heartfelt congratulations; therefore be it 20080H0953R4565 - 2 -

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives congratulate the 1 2 2008 Philadelphia Phillies for winning Major League Baseball's 3 World Series on October 29, 2008, at Citizens Bank Park.