THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION

No. 243

Session of 2001

INTRODUCED BY J. WILLIAMS, BISHOP, BEBKO-JONES, BELARDI, BUXTON, CALTAGIRONE, COSTA, DALEY, DeWEESE, DONATUCCI, EACHUS, D. EVANS, GRUCELA, HESS, JAMES, JOSEPHS, LAUGHLIN, LEDERER, MANDERINO, MANN, MARKOSEK, SCHRODER, TIGUE, SURRA, MCNAUGHTON, TANGRETTI, FORCIER, FRANKEL, HERSHEY, GEIST, GEORGE, TRAVAGLIO, MELIO, MYERS, PALLONE, PETRONE, PIPPY, READSHAW, ROEBUCK, ROONEY, RUBLEY, SAINATO, SAMUELSON, SANTONI, STETLER, THOMAS, TRELLO, TRICH, WALKO, WANSACZ, WASHINGTON, WATERS, C. WILLIAMS, WOJNAROSKI, HERMAN, FAIRCHILD, CREIGHTON, SCHULER, SHANER, SATHER, ARMSTRONG, BROWNE, M. BAKER, DIVEN, FICHTER, KAISER, SAYLOR, HARHAI, GABIG, KELLER, SOLOBAY, ARGALL, WILT AND PISTELLA, JUNE 13, 2001

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, JUNE 13, 2001

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Honoring the accomplishments of the Philadelphia 76ers on the
- 2 occasion of their victory in the National Basketball
- 3 Association Eastern Conference Championship.
- 4 WHEREAS, The Philadelphia 76ers won the National Basketball
- 5 Association Eastern Conference Championship by defeating the
- 6 Milwaukee Bucks four games to three; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Philadelphia 76ers are facing the Los Angeles
- 8 Lakers in the National Basketball Association Finals; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Philadelphia 76ers guard Allen Iverson was named the
- 10 National Basketball Association's Most Valuable Player; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Philadelphia 76ers center Dikembe Mutombo was named
- 12 the National Basketball Association's Defensive Player of the

- 1 Year; and
- WHEREAS, Philadelphia 76ers guard Aaron McKie was named the
- 3 winner of the 2000-2001 National Basketball Association Sixth
- 4 Man Award; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Philadelphia 76ers Coach Larry Brown was named the
- 6 National Basketball Association's Coach of the Year; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Philadelphia 76ers are a great source of civic
- 8 pride in Philadelphia and throughout this Commonwealth;
- 9 therefore be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor the
- 11 Philadelphia 76ers on the occasion of their victory in the
- 12 National Basketball Association Eastern Conference Championship.