## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## **HOUSE BILL**

## No. 1987 Session of 1997

INTRODUCED BY SEYFERT, FARGO, BELARDI, HUTCHINSON, JAROLIN, YOUNGBLOOD, TRELLO, DeLUCA, WOJNAROSKI, WALKO AND PISTELLA, NOVEMBER 18, 1997

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON GAME AND FISHERIES, NOVEMBER 18, 1997

## AN ACT

- 1 Amending Title 30 (Fish) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
- 2 Statutes, further providing for the organization of the
- 3 Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission.
- 4 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 5 hereby enacts as follows:
- 6 Section 1. Section 301(a) and (b) of Title 30 of the
- 7 Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes are amended to read:
- 8 § 301. Organization of commission.
- 9 (a) Composition.--The Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission
- 10 is continued as an independent administrative commission and
- 11 shall consist of [ten] eleven competent citizens of this
- 12 Commonwealth who shall be appointed by the Governor by and with
- 13 the advice and consent of two-thirds of the members elected to
- 14 the Senate for terms of eight years and until their successors
- 15 are appointed and qualified.
- 16 (b) Oualifications.--Two members of the commission shall
- 17 serve at-large and be experienced in boating and water safety
- 18 education and be a registered boat owner in Pennsylvania. The

- 1 two boatmen members shall represent the various geographical
- 2 sections and boating interests of this Commonwealth. One member
- 3 shall represent Lake Erie. The member representing Lake Erie
- 4 shall be a person well-informed on the subject of Lake Erie as
- 5 well as conservation, restoration, fish and fishing and boats
- 6 <u>and boating.</u> The remaining eight members shall be persons well
- 7 informed on the subject of conservation, restoration, fish and
- 8 fishing and boats and boating and shall be appointed, insofar as
- 9 practicable, on a bipartisan basis and from the various
- 10 geographic districts of this Commonwealth so that at all times
- 11 one and only one member of the eight remaining members shall be
- 12 a resident of each of the following districts:
- 13 (1) First district, consisting of the counties of Erie,
- 14 Crawford, Mercer, Lawrence, Venango, Butler, Warren, Forest
- 15 and Clarion.
- 16 (2) Second district, consisting of the counties of
- 17 Beaver, Allegheny, Washington, Greene, Armstrong, Indiana,
- 18 Westmoreland and Fayette.
- 19 (3) Third district, consisting of the counties of
- 20 McKean, Elk, Jefferson, Potter, Cameron, Clearfield, Clinton
- 21 and Centre.
- 22 (4) Fourth district, consisting of the counties of
- 23 Cambria, Somerset, Blair, Bedford, Huntingdon, Fulton,
- 24 Mifflin and Juniata.
- 25 (5) Fifth district, consisting of the counties of Tioga,
- 26 Lycoming, Union, Snyder, Bradford, Sullivan, Columbia,
- 27 Montour and Northumberland.
- 28 (6) Sixth district, consisting of the counties of
- Franklin, Perry, Cumberland, Adams, Dauphin, York, Lebanon
- 30 and Lancaster.

- 1 (7) Seventh district, consisting of the counties of
- 2 Susquehanna, Wyoming, Luzerne, Lackawanna, Carbon, Wayne,
- 3 Pike and Monroe.
- 4 (8) Eighth district, consisting of the counties of
- 5 Schuylkill, Berks, Chester, Northampton, Lehigh, Bucks,
- 6 Montgomery, Philadelphia and Delaware.
- 7 \* \* \*
- 8 Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.