THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 336 Session of 1996

INTRODUCED BY SHEEHAN, BARD, BEBKO-JONES, BELARDI, BOSCOLA, BROWN, BROWNE, CAPPABIANCA, CLYMER, CORRIGAN, DiGIROLAMO, DONATUCCI, DRUCE, EGOLF, FARGO, FICHTER, FLICK, GEIST, GODSHALL, HABAY, HARHART, HENNESSEY, HERSHEY, HORSEY, HUTCHINSON, JADLOWIEC, JAROLIN, KING, LAUGHLIN, LEDERER, MAITLAND, McGEEHAN, O'BRIEN, OLASZ, PESCI, PETTIT, RUBLEY, SAYLOR, SCHRODER, SCHULER, SERAFINI, SHANER, E. Z. TAYLOR, THOMAS, TRELLO, WALKO, WOGAN AND YOUNGBLOOD, APRIL 9, 1996

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, APRIL 9, 1996

A RESOLUTION

1 Congratulating the Lower Merion Aces on being named the PIAA 2 Class AAAA State Basketball Champions. 3 WHEREAS, The Lower Merion High School basketball team 4 achieved a 30-3 record this season; and 5 WHEREAS, This highly successful season was capped with a 48-6 43 victory over Erie Cathedral Prep in the State championship 7 game played March 23, 1996, in Hershey, marking the fifth time Lower Merion has won a State championship; and 8 9 WHEREAS, This outstanding record was accomplished through the dedication and efforts of an especially talented team and 10 coaching staff; and 11 12 WHEREAS, The team includes All-American Kobe Bryant, who was 13 recently named the top high school player in the nation and is 14 the all-time leading scorer in southeastern Pennsylvania

1 history; and

2 WHEREAS, The Lower Merion Aces last won a State championship 3 in 1943; and

WHEREAS, The spirit of cooperation and determination shown by the Lower Merion Aces throughout this season and seasons past has been a credit to Lower Merion High School and to this Commonwealth; therefore be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives honor and congratulate the 1995-1996 Lower Merion High School basketball

10 team and its coaches, Head Coach Gregg Downer, Junior Varsity 11 Coach James Kieserman and Assistant Coaches Drew Downer, Michael 12 Egan and Jeremy Treatman, on a fine season and on winning the 13 PIAA Class AAAA State Basketball Championship.