THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE BILL No. 2724 Session of 1994

INTRODUCED BY LAGROTTA, M. COHEN, CARONE, ZUG AND KREBS, APRIL 18, 1994

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION, APRIL 18, 1994

AN ACT

1	Amending the act of April 9, 1929 (P.L.177, No.175), entitled
2	"An act providing for and reorganizing the conduct of the
3	executive and administrative work of the Commonwealth by the
4	Executive Department thereof and the administrative
5	departments, boards, commissions, and officers thereof,
6	including the boards of trustees of State Normal Schools, or
7	Teachers Colleges; abolishing, creating, reorganizing or
8	authorizing the reorganization of certain administrative
9	departments, boards, and commissions; defining the powers and
10	duties of the Governor and other executive and administrative
11	officers, and of the several administrative departments,
12	boards, commissions, and officers; fixing the salaries of the
13	Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and certain other executive
14	and administrative officers; providing for the appointment of
15	certain administrative officers, and of all deputies and
16	other assistants and employes in certain departments, boards,
17	and commissions; and prescribing the manner in which the
18	number and compensation of the deputies and all other
19	assistants and employes of certain departments, boards and
20	commissions shall be determined," further providing for
21	engineering and maintenance districts in the Department of
22	Transportation.
23	The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
24	hereby enacts as follows:
0.5	
25	Section 1. Section 2004 of the act of April 9, 1929
26	(D. I. 177 No. 175) known og The Administrative Code of 1000
26	(P.L.177, No.175), known as The Administrative Code of 1929,

27 amended May 6, 1970 (P.L.356, No.120), is amended to read:

1 Section 2004. Engineering Districts. -- (a) The Department of 2 Transportation shall have the power, and its duty shall be, to 3 [divide the State into suitable districts or divisions or both, and] place in charge of each [such district or division or both 4 5 such] engineering district, as set forth in subsection (b), a person as the Secretary of Transportation may in his discretion 6 deem advisable to serve at the pleasure of the secretary. Each 7 8 such employe shall perform such duties in connection with his 9 engineering district [or division or both] as the Secretary of 10 Transportation shall prescribe. (b) The counties of this Commonwealth shall be divided into 11 12 engineering districts as follows: 13 Engineering district number one shall consist of the 14 following counties: 15 Crawford; 16 Erie; 17 Forest; 18 Lawrence; 19 Mercer; 20 Venango; and 21 <u>Warren.</u> Engineering district number two shall consist of the 22 23 following counties: 24 Cameron;

- 25 <u>Centre;</u>
- 26 <u>Clearfield;</u>
- 27 <u>Clinton;</u>
- 28 <u>Elk;</u>
- 29 <u>Juniata;</u>
- 30 <u>McKean;</u>

19940H2724B3555

- 1 <u>Mifflin; and</u>
- 2 <u>Potter</u>.
- 3 Engineering district number three shall consist of the
- 4 <u>following counties:</u>
- 5 <u>Bradford;</u>
- 6 <u>Columbia;</u>
- 7 <u>Lycoming;</u>
- 8 <u>Montour;</u>
- 9 <u>Northumberland;</u>
- 10 <u>Sullivan;</u>
- 11 <u>Snyder;</u>
- 12 <u>Tioga; and</u>
- 13 <u>Union.</u>
- 14 Engineering district number four shall consist of the
- 15 <u>following counties:</u>
- 16 <u>Lackawanna;</u>
- 17 <u>Luzerne;</u>
- 18 <u>Pike;</u>
- 19 <u>Wayne;</u>
- 20 <u>Sullivan; and</u>
- 21 <u>Susquehanna.</u>
- 22 Engineering district number five shall consist of the
- 23 <u>following counties:</u>
- 24 <u>Berks;</u>
- 25 <u>Carbon;</u>
- 26 <u>Lehigh;</u>
- 27 <u>Monroe;</u>
- 28 <u>Northampton; and</u>
- 29 <u>Schuylkill.</u>
- 30 Engineering district number six shall consist of the

19940H2724B3555

- 1 following counties:
- 2 <u>Bucks</u>;
- 3 <u>Chester;</u>
- 4 <u>Delaware;</u>
- 5 <u>Montgomery; and</u>
- 6 <u>Philadelphia.</u>
- 7 Engineering district number eight shall consist of the
- 8 <u>following counties:</u>
- 9 <u>Adams;</u>
- 10 <u>Cumberland;</u>
- 11 <u>Dauphin;</u>
- 12 <u>Franklin;</u>
- 13 <u>Lancaster;</u>
- 14 <u>Lebanon;</u>
- 15 <u>Perry; and</u>
- 16 <u>York.</u>
- 17 Each county maintenance district within engineering district
- 18 number eight shall have an office and its headquarters within
- 19 the county served by the maintenance district.
- 20 Engineering district number nine shall consist of the
- 21 <u>following counties:</u>
- 22 <u>Bedford;</u>
- 23 <u>Blair;</u>
- 24 <u>Cambria;</u>
- 25 <u>Fulton;</u>
- 26 <u>Huntingdon; and</u>
- 27 <u>Somerset.</u>
- 28 Engineering district number ten shall consist of the
- 29 <u>following counties:</u>
- 30 <u>Armstrong;</u>

19940H2724B3555

- 1 <u>Butler;</u>
- 2 <u>Clarion;</u>
- 3 <u>Indiana; and</u>
- 4 <u>Jefferson.</u>
- 5 Engineering district number eleven shall consist of the
- б following counties:
- 7 Allegheny; and
- 8 Beaver.
- 9 Engineering district number twelve shall consist of the
- 10 <u>following counties:</u>
- 11 <u>Fayette;</u>
- 12 <u>Greene;</u>
- 13 <u>Washington; and</u>
- 14 <u>Westmoreland</u>.
- 15 Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.