THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE BILL No. 2650 Session of 2006

INTRODUCED BY B. SMITH, STABACK AND PHILLIPS, MAY 2, 2006

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON GAME AND FISHERIES, MAY 2, 2006

AN ACT

- 1 Amending Title 34 (Game) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
- 2 Statutes, further providing for the organization of the
- 3 Pennsylvania Game Commission.
- 4 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 5 hereby enacts as follows:
- 6 Section 1. Section 301 of Title 34 of the Pennsylvania
- 7 Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:
- 8 § 301. Organization of commission.
- 9 (a) Composition. -- The independent administrative commission
- 10 known as the Pennsylvania Game Commission shall consist of
- 11 [eight] nine competent citizens of this Commonwealth who shall
- 12 be well informed on the subject of wildlife conservation and
- 13 restoration and who shall be appointed by the Governor, by and
- 14 with the advice and consent of two-thirds of the elected members
- 15 of the Senate.
- 16 (b) Qualifications.--[The]
- 17 (1) Eight members of the commission shall be appointed
- 18 from the various geographical sections of this Commonwealth

- 1 so that one and only one shall be a resident of each of the
- 2 following districts:
- 3 [(1)] (i) The counties of Erie, Crawford, Mercer,
- 4 Lawrence, Venango, Butler, Warren, Forest and Clarion,
- 5 constituting the first district.
- 6 [(2)] <u>(ii)</u> The counties of Beaver, Allegheny,
- 7 Washington, Greene, Armstrong, Indiana, Westmoreland and
- 8 Fayette, constituting the second district.
- 9 [(3)] <u>(iii)</u> The counties of McKean, Elk, Jefferson,
- 10 Potter, Cameron, Clearfield, Clinton and Centre, constituting
- 11 the third district.
- 12 [(4)] <u>(iv)</u> The counties of Cambria, Somerset, Blair,
- 13 Bedford, Huntingdon and Fulton, constituting the fourth
- 14 district.
- 15 [(5)] <u>(v)</u> The counties of Tioga, Lycoming, Union,
- 16 Bradford, Sullivan, Columbia, Montour and Northumberland,
- 17 constituting the fifth district.
- [(6)] <u>(vi)</u> The counties of Snyder, Mifflin, Juniata,
- 19 Franklin, Perry, Cumberland, Adams, Dauphin, York, Lebanon
- 20 and Lancaster, constituting the sixth district.
- 21 [(7)] (vii) The counties of Susquehanna, Wyoming,
- 22 Luzerne, Lackawanna, Carbon, Wayne, Pike and Monroe,
- 23 constituting the seventh district.
- [(8)] (viii) The counties of Schuylkill, Berks,
- Chester, Northampton, Lehigh, Bucks, Montgomery, Philadelphia
- and Delaware, constituting the eighth district.
- 27 (2) One member of the commission shall be appointed from
- 28 the Commonwealth at large who shall be a resident of this
- 29 <u>Commonwealth and who shall currently hold, and have held for</u>
- 30 a continuous period of not less than ten years immediately

- 1 prior to appointment, an adult or senior resident hunting or
- 2 <u>furtaker license issued pursuant to Chapter 27 (relating to</u>
- 3 <u>furtaking licenses</u>).
- 4 (c) Term of office and compensation. -- The members of the
- 5 commission shall hold office for terms of eight years each and
- 6 may continue to hold office for a period of time not to exceed
- 7 six months or until a successor is appointed and qualified,
- 8 whichever occurs first. A member of the commission appointed to
- 9 fill a vacancy for a period of four years or less may be
- 10 eligible for appointment to a full eight-year term. A member of
- 11 the commission who serves a full eight-year term or fills a
- 12 vacancy for a period of more than four years shall not be
- 13 eligible for reappointment to the commission until a period of
- 14 eight years expires. Commissioners shall receive no compensation
- 15 for their services, but may be reimbursed for travel expenses.
- 16 (d) Vacancies.--Upon the death, resignation or removal from
- 17 office of any person so appointed, the Governor shall appoint a
- 18 competent person to serve for the unexpired term as provided in
- 19 subsection (a).
- 20 Section 2. This act shall take effect immediately.