THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 278 Session of 1996

INTRODUCED BY PETRONE, DeWEESE, ITKIN, COY, McCALL, WALKO, FAJT, MAYERNIK, SAINATO, STABACK, FARMER, ROEBUCK, BELARDI, COLAFELLA, READSHAW, DEMPSEY, BUXTON, SAYLOR, KUKOVICH, TRAVAGLIO, MARSICO, VEON, B. SMITH, CORRIGAN, SCHRODER, ADOLPH, ROONEY, VAN HORNE, PHILLIPS, JADLOWIEC, NAILOR, FARGO, MANDERINO, ARGALL, MAITLAND, DALEY, GORDNER, CLYMER, BARD, COLAIZZO, SHANER, DONATUCCI, ROBINSON, SURRA, HERSHEY, WAUGH, BEBKO-JONES, BROWNE, LAUGHLIN, MELIO, E. Z. TAYLOR, CORPORA, MILLER, GEIST, GODSHALL, OLASZ, LEH, BATTISTO, PLATTS, WOZNIAK, FICHTER, FAIRCHILD, BROWN, SATHER, PETTIT, SCHULER, PESCI, BELFANTI, MASLAND, DENT, RUBLEY, GEORGE, M. N. WRIGHT, MICHLOVIC, BAKER, MERRY AND YOUNGBLOOD, FEBRUARY 2, 1996

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, FEBRUARY 2, 1996

A RESOLUTION

| 1 2 | Congratulating the Pittsburgh Steelers for winning the American Football Conference Title. |
|--------|---|
| 3 | WHEREAS, The Pittsburgh Steelers were 20-16 winners in the |
| 4 | American Football Conference title game played Sunday, January |
| 5 | 14, 1996; and |
| 6 | WHEREAS, The championship victory entitled the Steelers to |
| 7 | play the National Football Conference Champion Dallas Cowboys in |
| 8 | the Super Bowl XXX at Tempe, Arizona, on January 28, 1996; and |
| 9 | WHEREAS, The Steelers, who have won four Super Bowls, have |
| 10 | not been to the National Football League Championship game since |
| 11 | the 1979 season; and |
| 12 | WHEREAS, The people of this Commonwealth are proud of the |

1 performance of the "Super Steelers"; therefore be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives congratulate Bill
3 Cowher and the entire Pittsburgh Steelers football team, the
4 Rooney family and the city of Pittsburgh on their outstanding
5 victory.