## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## **HOUSE BILL**

No. 2

Session of 1975

INTRODUCED BY MESSRS. FINEMAN, MILLIRON, GALLAGHER, BENNETT,
SCHWEDER, REED, WARGO, BERLIN, ZEARFOSS, COWELL, DeMEDIO,
WOJDAK, PIEVSKY, PRATT, HOPKINS, LAUDADIO, PERRY, OLIVER,
MORRIS, MRS. TOLL, MESSRS. DOMBOWSKI, MRKONIC AND COHEN,
JANUARY 20, 1975

SENATOR NOLAN, RULES AND EXECUTIVE NOMINATIONS, IN SENATE, AS AMENDED, MAY 18, 1976

## A JOINT RESOLUTION

Τ	Proposing an amendment to the Constitution of the Commonwealth	<
2	of Pennsylvania providing for a change in the date of the	
3	first annual session meeting.	
1	PROPOSING AN AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE COMMONWEALTH	<
2	OF PENNSYLVANIA, REDUCING THE NUMBER OF REPRESENTATIVE	
3	DISTRICTS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY.	
4	The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania	
5	hereby resolves as follows:	
6	Section 1. The following amendment to the Constitution of	
7	the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania is proposed in accordance with	
8	the provisions of the eleventh article thereof:	
9	That section four, article two of the Constitution of the	<
10	Commonwealth of Pennsylvania be amended to read:	
11	Section 4. Sessions. The General Assembly shall be a	
12	continuing body during the term for which its Representatives	
13	are elected. It shall meet at twelve o'clock noon on the first	
14	Tuesday following the first day of January of each year. Special	

- sessions shall be called by the Governor on petition of a
- 2 majority of the members elected to each House or may be called
- 3 by the Governor whenever in his opinion the public interest
- 4 requires.
- 5 THAT SECTION SIXTEEN, ARTICLE TWO OF THE CONSTITUTION OF THE <---
- 6 COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA BE AMENDED TO READ:
- 7 SECTION 16. LEGISLATIVE DISTRICTS. -- THE COMMONWEALTH SHALL
- BE DIVIDED INTO FIFTY SENATORIAL AND [TWO HUNDRED THREE] ONE
- 9 HUNDRED TWENTY-ONE REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICTS, WHICH SHALL BE
- 10 COMPOSED OF COMPACT AND CONTIGUOUS TERRITORY AS NEARLY EQUAL IN
- 11 POPULATION AS PRACTICABLE. EACH SENATORIAL DISTRICT SHALL ELECT
- 12 ONE SENATOR, AND EACH REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICT ONE
- 13 REPRESENTATIVE. UNLESS ABSOLUTELY NECESSARY NO COUNTY, CITY,
- 14 INCORPORATED TOWN, BOROUGH, TOWNSHIP OR WARD SHALL BE DIVIDED IN
- 15 FORMING EITHER A SENATORIAL OR REPRESENTATIVE DISTRICT.