VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - ADDITIONAL PARKING REGULATIONS Act of Oct. 24, 2018, P.L. 889, No. 144 Cl. 75

Session of 2018 No. 2018-144

SB 888

AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, in rules of the road in general, further providing for additional parking regulations.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 3354(f) of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended, subsection (d) is amended by adding a paragraph and the section is amended by adding subsections to read:

§ 3354. Additional parking regulations.

* * .

- (d) Person with a disability and disabled veterans.-- * * *
- (2.1) Local authorities may limit access to a parking space reserved under paragraph (2) to a specific vehicle, license plate or other method of designation. Under this paragraph, local authorities may charge a reasonable fee and shall comply with section 6109 (relating to specific powers of department and local authorities) and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (Public Law 101-336, 104 Stat. 327).
- (d.1) Obstructing movement.--A person may not obstruct a space on public or private property reserved for a person with a disability or a part of a curb ramp or the access aisle adjacent to a parking space reserved for a person with a disability in a manner that would prevent a person or wheelchair or personal mobility device from entering or leaving a vehicle legally parked in an adjoining space.
- (f) Penalty.--A person violating subsection (a), (b) or (d)(1) is guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not more than \$15. A person violating subsection (d)(2) or (3) or (e) is guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than \$50 nor more than \$200. If a person is convicted under subsection (d)(2) or (3) in the absence of a sign stating the penalty amount, the fine imposed may not exceed \$50. A person violating subsection (d.1) is guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than \$100 nor more than \$300.
- (h) Definitions.--As used in this section, the following words and phrases shall have the meanings given to them in this subsection unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

"Access aisle." A physical area marked in accordance with departmental regulations:

- (1) designated by white or blue pavement marking hash marks, cross-hatching or other similar visual no-parking indicators;
- (2) which provides additional space for a person using a wheelchair, wheelchair lift or other mobility device; and

- (3) which is located adjacent to a parking space reserved for a person with a disability.
- "Person with a disability." A person issued a plate or placard.

"Plate or placard." A plate or placard issued under:

- (1) Section 1338 (relating to person with disability plate and placard).
- (2) Section 1342(a) or (b) (relating to veteran plates and placard).

Section 2. This act shall take effect in 180 days.

APPROVED--The 24th day of October, A.D. 2018.

TOM WOLF