## VEHICLE CODE (75 PA.C.S.) - AMEND PROTECTIVE EQUIPMENT FOR MOTORCYCLE RIDERS

C1. 75

Act of Jul. 6, 2003, P.L. 19, No. 10

Session of 2003 No. 2003-10

SB 259

## AN ACT

Amending Title 75 (Vehicles) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes, further providing for protective equipment for motorcycle riders.

The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania hereby enacts as follows:

Section 1. Section 3525 of Title 75 of the Pennsylvania Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:

§ 3525. Protective equipment for motorcycle riders.

- (a) Protective headgear.--Except as provided in subsection (d), no person shall operate or ride upon a motorcycle or a motor-driven cycle (other than a motorized pedalcycle) unless he is wearing protective headgear which complies with standards established by the department.
- (b) Eye-protective devices.—[Except as provided in subsection (d), no] No person shall operate or ride upon a motorcycle (other than a motorized pedalcycle or a three-wheeled motorcycle equipped with an enclosed cab) unless he is wearing an eye-protective device of a type approved by the department.
- (c) Approval of equipment.—The department may approve or disapprove protective headgear and eye-protective devices required under this section and may issue and enforce regulations establishing standards and specifications for the approval of the headgear and devices. The department shall publish lists of all protective headgear and eye-protective devices by name and type which have been approved.
- (d) Exception.--The provisions of [subsections (a) and (b)]
  subsection (a) shall not apply to the following:
  - (1) The operator or any occupant of a three-wheeled motorcycle equipped with an enclosed cab.
  - (2) A person 21 years of age or older who has been licensed to operate a motorcycle for not less than two full calendar years.
  - (3) A person 21 years of age or older who has completed a motorcycle rider safety course approved by the department or the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.
  - (4) The passenger of a person exempt under this subsection, if the passenger is 21 years of age or older. Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.

APPROVED--The 6th day of July, A. D. 2003.

EDWARD G. RENDELL