|Posted:||December 4, 2014 02:41 PM|
|From:||Senator Lisa Baker|
|To:||All Senate members|
|Subject:||Penalties for Falsely Claiming to Be a Veteran|
I will soon be re-introducing legislation to penalize motorists who falsely claim to be a veteran on their Pennsylvania driver’s license application.
As cases of military impersonation mount, my legislation is designed to protect the integrity of the “veteran” driver’s license designation process, and preserve the “veteran” license designation for only those who have earned it.
The ability to secure a “veteran” designation on Pennsylvania’s driver’s license was authorized by Act 176 of 2012. The law allows veterans to self-certify their status subject to verification by state military officials. Because some motorists are falsely claiming “veteran” status, my bill will outline added penalties, to provide an additional deterrent.
The penalty for misrepresentation would be a summary offense subject to a $300 fine and possible imprisonment of between 30 and 90 days for those who fail to pay the fine. These penalties are similar to those imposed for the charge of “unsworn falsification to authorities,” which is a misdemeanor of the second or third degree.
Thank you for considering this proposed legislation.
Introduced as SB42