Legislation Quick Search
12/12/2017 01:31 PM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=H&SPick=20150&cosponId=18567
Share:
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


House of Representatives
Session of 2015 - 2016 Regular Session

MEMORANDUM

Posted: June 16, 2015 02:47 PM
From: Representative Susan C. Helm and Rep. William C. Kortz, II
To: All House members
Subject: Requiring Licensing of all Home Inspectors
 
In the near future, we plan to re-introduce legislation that will require licensure for all home inspectors in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. (Previously introduced as HB 2332).

A home is most likely the largest, most valuable asset a person purchases in their lifetime, but can quickly turn into the largest nightmare if a home inspection is not conducted competently and properly. Not reporting vital information to a homeowner or prospective homeowner can lead to costly repairs, health issues, and burdens that nobody should have to bare.

Currently, home inspectors are not held to any specific professional standard. This means that although the home inspection report is relied upon heavily, if a home inspector failed to report an issue to a homeowner or prospective homeowner, there is little or no recourse available. This legislation will set statewide standards for the profession of home inspecting and standards for the home inspection report.
  • Licenses home inspectors under the Bureau of Occupational and Industrial Safety in the Department of Labor and Industry (biennial basis and local gov’t cannot require license).
  • Income derived from the licensure of home inspectors may only be used for the regulation of home inspectors.
  • The definition of “Environment hazard” includes “mold that is in excess of that found near water sources and as a result of normal household usage.”
  • Home inspection includes “accessible” attics and crawl spaces.
  • A typed home inspection report is required.
  • Applicants must:
    • Be of good moral character, Be 18 years of age,
    • Have a high school diploma or equivalent
    • Complete a bureau-approved training program of no less than 120 hours (including 40 in-field training hours),
    • Pass a bureau-approved examination,
    • Obtain liability insurance of $500,000 per occurrence and deductible of not more than $2,500,
    • Pay a fee and not be addicted to drugs or alcohol.
  • Existing practitioners will be grandfathered.
  • A temporary practice permit for 6 months is permitted for those applicants who have completed the educational component to allow for experience.
  • Biennial renewal requires 16 hours of CE.
  • Licensees must notify the Bureau within 30 days of change of name, business name, business address, lapse or cancellation of insurance and misdemeanor or felony violations.
  • Inactive status and reciprocity is permitted.
  • The Bureau has power to discipline (including suspend, deny or revoke a license).
  • The term “Licensed Home Inspector” and the abbreviation “L.H.I.” is protected.
  • Consumer remedies include the Unfair Trade Practices and Consumer Protection Law.
  • Home inspection reports must include a description of the scope of inspection and a description of the defects and environmental hazards found.
Please join us in co-sponsoring this important legislation.

(Previous co-sponsors of HB 2332 were: Quinn, Davis, Readshaw, Kotik, O'Neill, Thomas, McNeill, Brown, Lucas, Costa, Swanger, English, Cohen, Gingrich, Gibbons, Day, Boback, Godshall, Maher, Watson, Murt, Saylor, Killion, Miller, DeLuca, Gergely, Clay, Fleck, Moul, Knowles, and Youngblood.)



Introduced as HB1421