Legislation Quick Search
09/21/2014 12:05 AM
Pennsylvania House of Representatives
http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/Legis/CSM/showMemoPublic.cfm?chamber=H&SPick=20130&cosponId=12521
Share:
Home / House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

House Co-Sponsorship Memoranda

By Member | By Date | Keyword Search


MEMORANDUM

Posted: April 16, 2013 03:32 PM
From: Representative Frank Farry
To: All House members
Subject: Indoor Tanning Regulations
 
Cancer is a diagnosis that no one wants to hear. Thankfully, due to advances in healthcare, many cancer patients are experiencing better health outcomes.  However, there is still a form of cancer whose incidence is increasing – melanoma.  Melanoma is the most common form of cancer in young adults aged 25-29 years old, and 1 in every 20 cases of melanoma can be attributed to use of indoor tanning beds.  Which is why, in the near future, I will be introducing legislation which would provide for the regulation of indoor tanning facilities.
 
Indoor tanning has become popular despite the various health organizations declaring UV radiation irrespective of the source a known carcinogen.  Unfortunately, this industry is not regulated in Pennsylvania. Thirty-six states in the country, including New Jersey, West Virginia, Maryland, New York, and Ohio, have regulations restricting youth access to indoor tanning.
 
My proposed legislation would: 
  • Require every tanning facility in Pennsylvania to register (not be licensed) with the state and pay an annual fee of $150 or $300 ($150 for 2 or less beds, $300 for salons with up to 10 beds, and $20 per additional bed);
  • Necessitate inspections and certain safety standards for all tanning facilities;
  • Ban minors 16 years of age and younger, require parental consent for minors 17 years of age, and 18 years of age and above (as an adult) would be able to determine their own health consequences;
  • Mandate that tanning facilities post notification that tanning is carcinogenic. 
Violations of this Act would be suspect to suspension or revocation of registration.  A legal entity that violates the minor use of this Act would be subject to monetary penalties from $250 to $1000.
 
Please consider joining me in sponsoring this legislation.  Thank you.


Introduced as HB1259