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             COST / (SAVINGS) 

FUND FY 2021/22 FY 2022/23 

Motor License Fund $0 See “Fiscal Impact” 

Municipal Funds $0 $0 

 
SUMMARY:  Provides for the regulation and operation of highly automated vehicles with or without 
a human driver.  Section 8510.2 (relating to regulations and guidelines) would take effect immediately; 
Section 1106(b) (relating to content and effect of certificate of title) would take effect in one year and 
the remainder of the legislation would take effect in 180 days.  
 
 
ANALYSIS:  This legislation amends several sections of Title 75 (Vehicles) to regulate the operation of 
highly automated vehicles (HAVs) and platoons with or without a human driver.  
 
Platooning: Section 3317 (relating to platooning) is repealed and moved to section 8532. The current 
language is amended to allow the lead vehicle of a platoon to operate with a driver and one nonlead 
vehicle to operate with an ADS engaged, with or without a driver. As it relates to the plan for general 
platoon operations, a person may operate a platoon on a highway of this Commonwealth if the person 
files a plan for general platoon operations with PennDOT, in consultation with the Pennsylvania State 
Police and the Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission, as applicable. If the plan is not approved, rejected 
or additional information requested by PennDOT within 30 days after the receipt of the plan, the plan 
shall be deemed approved and the person may operate the platoon. 
 
Operation of HAVs: This legislation amends Chapter 85 (relating to Highly Automated Vehicles). 
 
Section 8501 (relating to definitions) is amended to include the definitions of highly automated work 
zone vehicle and platoon from section 102 and adds other terms and definitions. 
 
Section 8502 (relating to highly automated vehicles) designates PennDOT as the lead Commonwealth 
agency on HAVs and the language relating to highly automated work zone vehicles is moved to a new 
section 8531. 
 
Section 8503 (relating to Highly Automated Vehicle Advisory Committee) is amended to require the 
Highly Automated Vehicle Advisory Committee to provide special reports to the General Assembly 
and post the reports on PennDOT's publicly accessible Internet website that evaluates the impact of 
HAVs on the Commonwealth's workforce, the economic benefits and implications, improvements to 

 



accessibility and mobility for persons with disabilities and the general public. The report is due no later 
than 18 months after the effective date of this section. 
 
Section 8504 (relating to certificate of compliance) prohibits the operation of a HAV on a highway in 
this Commonwealth, unless: 

1. the person is a certificate holder or is an automated vehicle driver approved by a certificate 
holder to operate a highly automated vehicle on behalf of the certificate holder; and 

2. the highly automated vehicle is operated in accordance with this subchapter. 
 
This does not apply to: 

1. A highly automated work zone vehicle operated in accordance with section 8531 (relating to 
highly automated work zone vehicles), 

2. A platoon operated in accordance with section 8532 (relating to platooning), 
3. A vehicle that is also a HAV and is approved for noncommercial use on public highways 

under Federal law or regulation. 
4. A HAV registered in another state operating in this Commonwealth under an interstate 

agreement in accordance with section 8510.5 (relating to interstate agreements). 
 
Under section 8505 (relating to powers of department), PennDOT has sole regulatory authority 
over the operation of HAVs on highways within this Commonwealth consistent with this title 
and Federal law or regulation. Their powers include: 

1. By order of the secretary, to prohibit the use of a HAV on a highway where the secretary 
determines that the operation of the highly automated vehicle would constitute a hazard. 

2. Require a certificate holder to self-report to PennDOT an accident in this Commonwealth 
involving the certificate holder's HAV if the accident resulted in bodily injury, serious 
bodily injury, death or damage to property. The timeframe to report established by 
PennDOT can be no less than 6hrs from the occurrence of the accident. 

3. Display on their publicly accessible Internet website, a list of certificate holders, orders issued 
by the secretary, policies, regulations or guidelines they have issued under 
this subchapter. 

4. Establish policies, guidelines and regulations reasonably necessary to implement this 
subchapter. 

 
As it relates to PennDOT's authority to establish a policy, guideline or regulation under this 
subchapter PennDOT is prohibited from: 

1. Requiring a HAV driver from having to obtain another additional license, approval or 
similar authorization, other than the appropriate driver's license and endorsement, 
according to the type and class of motor vehicle equipped with an ADS that the HAV 
driver operates; 

2. Adding requirements that are inconsistent with Federal law or regulation relating to HAVs; 
3. Restricting a HAV driver from operating a certificate holder's highly automated vehicle to 

control all or part of the DDT; or 
4. Restricting a certificate holder's HAV from operating without a HAV driver. 

 
Section 8506 (relating to self-certification) requires a self-certification for a certificate of compliance to 
be submitted to PennDOT. The form submitted must include information necessary certifying that the 
applicant's HAV or the ADS installed in the HAV meets the requirements of this title. 
 



Under section 8507 (relating to self-certification review), PennDOT must review a self-certification 
form submitted and, unless the self-certification form is rejected by PennDOT within 10 business days 
of the date of receipt, the self-certification form will be considered complete, and a certificate of 
compliance shall be issued to the applicant. PennDOT may only reject a self-certification form for either 
of the following reasons: 

1. The form is incomplete. 
2. The information contained in the form does not certify that the applicant's HAV or the ADS 

installed in the HAV meets the requirements of this title. 
3. The form contains materially inaccurate information, and the applicant is not responsive 

to clarifying questions. 
 
No renewal is required. An applicant for a certificate of compliance who, prior to the effective date of 
this section, operated a HAV in accordance with automated vehicle testing guidance established by 
PennDOT prior to the effective date of this section, may continue to operate the HAV without a 
certificate of compliance on highways pending the review of a self-certification form if: 

• The applicant has submitted a self-certification form for a certificate of compliance. 

• PennDOT has not denied the self-certification form. 

• PennDOT has not issued a notice, in writing, to the applicant prohibiting continued HAV 
operation while PennDOT reviews the self-certification form. 

• The HAV is operated in accordance with this subchapter. 
 
A certificate holder is required to provide information or records on a continuing basis that may be 
required by PennDOT and reasonably necessary for the administration and enforcement of this title. 
 
Section 8508 (relating to operational requirements) a certificate holder may operate a HAV vehicle with 
or without a HAV driver on a highway in this Commonwealth. A HAV may not operate on a highway 
in the Commonwealth unless it has been titled as a HAV. A HAV driver shall be properly licensed 
under this title to operate the appropriate type and class of motor vehicle. 
 
A HAV may operate on a highway without a HAV driver, subject to the following: 

1. The ADS is engaged. 
2. The HAV must be capable of operating in compliance with applicable traffic and motor vehicle 

safety provisions of this title unless the exemption has been granted by the PennDOT. 
3. If a failure of an ADS occurs which renders the ADS unable to perform the entire DDT within 

the intended ODD, the highly automated vehicle must achieve a minimal risk condition. 
 
A HAV may operate on highway with a HAV driver, subject to the following: 

1. A HAV driver may control all or part of a highly automated vehicle's DDT. 
2. If a failure of an ADS renders the ADS unable to perform the entire DDT within the intended 

ODD, the HAV or the HAV driver must achieve a minimal risk condition. 
 
A HAV must bear any required manufacturer's certification labels indicating that the highly automated 
vehicle has been certified to be in compliance with all applicable Federal motor vehicle safety 
standards, including reference to any exemption granted by the National Highway Traffic Safety 
Administration, if required by Federal law or regulations. 
 
As it related to the required insurance, a HAV with an ADS engaged with or without a highly 



automated vehicle driver may not operate on a highway in this Commonwealth unless the vehicle is 
covered by insurance or self-insurance in the minimum amount of $1,000,000 per incident for death, 
bodily injury or property damage, which shall satisfy the financial responsibility requirements of this 
title. 
 
A "low-speed HAV" is a HAV that is in compliance with the Federal safety standards established 
in 49 CFR 571.500 (relating to standard number 500; low-speed vehicles), including any exemptions by 
the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, and designed to be operated without an occupant 
and used to transport goods. The term does not include a neighborhood electric vehicle and shall be 
considered by the department as a passenger car or truck for the purposes of title and registration, in 
accordance with section 1106 (relating to content and effect of certificate of title). Low-speed HAVs 
may not be operated on a freeway and may not be operated on a highway with a posted speed limit 
greater than 35 miles-per-hour, except when: 

• the low-speed HAV is engaged in a legal crossing of the highway; or 

• the low-speed HAV is permitted, by order of the secretary, to be operated on the 
highway. 

 
Under section 8509 (relating to commercial operations), a HAV that is also a motor carrier vehicle that 
requires a CDL may operate on highways as a motor carrier with or without a HAV driver. A HAV 
operated without a HAV driver shall operate under Federal and State law or regulation governing the 
operation of commercial vehicles and drivers, except provisions that by their nature reasonably apply 
only to a driver shall not apply to a HAV. A HAV may not be operated as a school bus or school vehicle 
or carry hazardous materials except when transporting articles and substances prepared in accordance 
with federal regulations or do not require placarding pursuant to the Federal Hazardous Material 
Regulations. 
 
As it relates to regulation of vehicles by the PA Public Utility Commission (PUC), the provisions 66 
Pa.C.S. (relating to public utilities) apply to a certificate holder and the certificate holder's HAVs, except 
for provisions that by their nature reasonably apply only to a driver shall not apply HAV. Nothing in 
this subchapter shall be construed to prohibit the PUC from requiring an authorization, license or 
approval from a certificate holder for the operation of a HAV if the authorization, license or approval 
requirement is consistent with utility code and does not discriminate against a highly automated 
vehicle. However, the PUC may not require an authorization, license or approval from a certificate 
holder if the certificate holder: 

1. is not directly providing a commercial service regulated by the PUC; and 
2. is only providing a HAV to another person that holds an authorization, license or approval 

from the PUC for use in a commercial service regulated by the PUC. 
 
A transportation network company (TNC) licensed by the PUC may utilize a certificate holder's HAV 
to provide transportation network services under 66 Pa.C.S. Ch. 26 (relating to transportation network 
service). 
 
As it relates to cities of the first class (Philadelphia), a TNC licensed by the Philadelphia Parking 
Authority (PPA) may utilize a certificate holder's HAV to provide transportation network services 
under 53 Pa.C.S. Ch. 57A (relating to transportation network companies). The provisions of 53 Pa.C.S. 
Ch. 57A shall apply to a HAV, except for provisions that by their nature do not apply to a driver of a 
highly automated vehicle when the highly automated vehicle is operated without a highly automated 
vehicle driver. 



 
The PUC and the PPA may not require, including as a requirement of an authorization, license 
or approval: 

1. A HAV to be operated with a HAV driver. 
2. Additional testing requirements for a highly automated vehicle. 
3. Operational standards for a HAV that are substantially dissimilar to operational standards 

for a motor vehicle operating without an ADS. 
4. Compliance with additional standards related to a HAV’s ADS, ODD, DDT or DDT fallback. 

 
Section 8510 (relating to preemption) states this subchapter preempts and supersedes all ordinances 
relating to HAVs. A local authority may not adopt or enforce a policy, rule or ordinance that sets 
standards or otherwise burdens, prohibits, limits or regulates the operation of HAVs. If a local 
authority enforces or enacts an ordinance in violation of this subsection, the local authority is 
considered to be in violation of section 6101 (relating to applicability and uniformity of title). This 
section does not prohibit local authorities on streets or highways within their physical boundaries from 
the reasonable exercise of their police powers specified in section 6109 (relating to specific powers of 
department and local authorities), provided that the exercise of the police powers does not specifically 
target or discriminate against highly automated vehicles. 
 
Section 8510.1 (relating to enforcement and penalties) address enforcement by law enforcement and 
PennDOT. As it relates to enforcement by law enforcement: 

1. The ADS is considered the driver of a HAV when the ADS is engaged and no HAV driver is on 
board or in a remote location for the purpose of assessing compliance under any provision of 
this title relating to a driver of a vehicle or motor vehicle, subject to the following: 
i. The ADS is considered to be a driver licensed to operate the motor vehicle under this title. 
ii. If a police officer issues a citation, the police officer shall cite the certificate holder. 
iii. The requirements of this title relating to exhibiting a driver's license and registration card 

are satisfied if a vehicle registration card is in the highly automated vehicle and physically 
or electronically available for inspection by a police officer. 

2. The HAV driver is considered the driver of a HAV when on board the HAV or in a remote 
location for the purpose of assessing compliance under this title, subject to the following: 
i. If a police officer issues a citation for a violation of this title by a highly automated 

vehicle with a highly automated vehicle driver, the police officer shall cite the highly 
automated vehicle driver. 

ii. The requirements of this title relating to exhibiting a registration card are satisfied 
if a vehicle registration card is in the highly automated vehicle and physically or 
electronically available for inspection by a police officer. 

iii. A highly automated vehicle driver operating an HAV from a remote location shall 
electronically or physically exhibit a driver's license to a police officer upon request 
if a physical copy or electronic copy of the driver's license is not located within the 
highly automated vehicle. 

 
As it relates to enforcement by PennDOT: 

1. PennDOT may only suspend or limit a certificate of compliance for the following reasons: 
i. The certificate holder's HAV or ADS does not meet the applicable requirements of 

this subchapter. 
ii. The certificate holder submitted materially false information on the self-certification 

form submitted to the PennDOT under section 8506 (relating to self-certification). 



2. PennDOT may only revoke a certificate of compliance for the following reasons: 
i. The certificate holder knowingly operated a HAV during a time period when the 

certificate holder's certificate of compliance was suspended. 
ii. The certificate holder knowingly operated a HAV in a manner that violated a 

certificate of compliance limitation established by PennDOT. 
iii. The certificate holder was convicted of any of the following violations with respect 

to a violation of this title by the certificate holder's HAV when the ADS was engaged 
and no HAV driver was on board or in a remote location: 
a. Section 3732 (relating to homicide by vehicle). 
b. Section 3732.1 (relating to aggravated assault by vehicle). 

 
PennDOT must provide a notice and an opportunity for an administrative hearing to a certificate 
holder whose certificate of compliance is suspended, limited or revoked. 
 
As it relates to penalties, a certificate holder that violates a provision of this subchapter shall be guilty 
of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $25 and 
not more than $1,000. A violation of this subchapter by a HAV driver shall be considered a violation 
by the certificate holder. A person that violates section 8504 (relating to certificate of compliance 
required) shall be guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine 
of not less than $500. A person that knowingly violates section 8504 and whose certificate of compliance 
was suspended or revoked by PennDOT shall be guilty of a summary offense and shall, upon 
conviction, be sentenced to pay a fine of not less than $1,000. 
 
Section 8510.2 (relating to regulations and guidelines) authorizes PennDOT to promulgate regulations, 
including temporary regulations valid for two years, and publish guidelines that are consistent to 
facilitate implementation. The temporary regulations are required to be transmitted to the Legislative 
Reference Bureau for publication in the Pennsylvania Bulletin. PennDOT must consult with the HAV 
advisory committee prior to promulgating regulations or publishing guidelines and policies. 
 
Under section 8510.3 (relating to confidential records) information, data or records obtained by 
PennDOT under this chapter shall not be subject to the act of February 14, 2008 (P.L.6, No.3), known as 
the Right-to-Know Law, if the information, data or records constitute or reveal a trade secret or 
confidential proprietary information or disclosure of the information, data or records could affect the 
safe operation of HAVs. 
 
Section 8510.4 (relating to appeals) provides a certificate holder the ability to appeal an action taken by 
PennDOT under this subchapter. 
 
Section 8510.5 (relating to interstate agreements) provides PennDOT with the ability to negotiate one 
or more interstate agreements on behalf of the Commonwealth with regulatory agencies of other states 
for the interstate operation of HAVs and platoons approved for operation in the Commonwealth and 
for HAVS and platoons approved for operation in states that are parties to the agreement. The 
Governor is required to approve the agreements before they can become effective. An interstate 
agreement shall only be approved by the Governor if permitted under Federal law or regulation and 
shall be consistent with Federal law or 
regulation. 
 



Other Provisions:  Section 1106 (relating to content and effect of certificate of title) is amended to 
require the certificate of title to show whether or not the vehicle is or has been a HAV. 
 
This legislation amends several sections of Title 75 to address accidents involving HAVs. If the vehicle 
is a HAV operating with an ADS engaged or without a HAV driver on board the following apply: 

1. The requirements of section 3742 (relating to accidents involving death or personal injury) are 
satisfied if the HAV stops at the scene of an accident or as close thereto as possible and remains 
at the scene of the accident. 

2. The requirements of section 3743 (relating to accidents involving damage to unattended vehicle 
or property) are satisfied if the HAV stops and remains at the scene of an accident or as close 
thereto as possible and the certificate holder for the HAV, a person on behalf of the certificate 
holder promptly contacts the nearest office of a duly authorized police department to report the 
accident. 

3. The requirements of section 3744 (relating to duty to give information or render aid) are satisfied 
if the certificate holder or a person on behalf of the certificate holder for the HAV, or the HAV 
remains at the scene and promptly contacts the nearest office of a duly authorized police 
department to report the accident and communicates the registration and financial 
responsibility information for the HAV to the police department. 

4. The requirements of section 3745 (relating to accidents involving damage to unattended vehicle 
or property) are satisfied if the HAV immediately stops and remains at the scene of the accident 
or as close thereto as possible and the certificate holder for the HAV, a person on behalf of the 
certificate holder, or the HAV immediately contacts the nearest office of a duly authorized police 
department to report the accident and communicates the registration and financial 
responsibility information for the HAV to the police department. 

5. The requirements of section 3746 (relating to notice of accident to police department) are 
satisfied if the certificate holder for the HAV, a person on behalf of the certificate holder, or the 
HAV immediately contacts the nearest office of a duly authorized police department to report 
the accident. The heading of section 3746 is also changed which results in several sections of 
Title 75 having to be amended to reflect the heading change (Sections 1503, 1785, 3745.1, 3747). 

 
The legislation amends section 4103 (relating to promulgation of vehicle equipment standards) to 
exclude a HAV designed to operate exclusively by the ADS or a HAV driver in a remote location for 
all trips from motor vehicle equipment laws or regulations which relate to or support motor vehicle 
operation by a driver seated in the vehicle and are not relevant for an ADS. The annual safety inspection 
requirements established by PennDOT under section 4702 (relating to requirement for periodic 
inspection of vehicles) only apply to an HAV consistent with the equipment requirements under 
section 4103. 
 
Section 4921 (relating to width of vehicles) is amended to exclude a rear visibility system comprised of 
a set of devices or components which are considered a mirror and is excluded from the measurement 
of the width of the highly automated vehicle consistent with applicable Federal and State laws. 
 
 
 
 
 



FISCAL IMPACT: According to PennDOT, this legislation would result in one-time costs of roughly 
$400,000. Those costs include system upgrades and consultant fees. They anticipate being able to fulfill 
the remaining provisions of this legislation utilizing existing staff.  
 
The remainder of this legislation would have no adverse fiscal impact on Commonwealth or municipal 
funds. 
 
 
PREPARED BY: Tim Rodrigo  
 House Appropriations Committee (R) 
 
DATE: June 17, 2022 
Estimates are calculated using the best information available.  Actual costs and revenue impact incurred may 
vary from estimates.  


