THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION

_{No.} 940

Session of 2018

INTRODUCED BY VITALI, CHARLTON, DERMODY, STURLA, GOODMAN, DEAN, TOEPEL, MURT, RYAN, HENNESSEY, NEILSON, ROTHMAN, DAY, YOUNGBLOOD, KRUEGER-BRANEKY, READSHAW, WARD, DUSH, SONNEY, KAUFER, SCHLOSSBERG, KINSEY, BOBACK, PICKETT, CONKLIN, HAHN, STAATS, HICKERNELL, SAMUELSON, MULLERY, BURNS, McCLINTON, GODSHALL, WARREN, B. MILLER, O'BRIEN, DiGIROLAMO, W. KELLER, MACKENZIE, CORBIN, FARRY, SANTORA, JOZWIAK, KIRKLAND, SAYLOR, J. McNEILL, MILLARD, CALTAGIRONE, MARSICO, GROVE, SCHWEYER, DeLUCA, ROEBUCK, O'NEILL, BIZZARRO, GILLEN, M. QUINN AND HEFFLEY, MAY 22, 2018

INTRODUCED AS NONCONTROVERSIAL RESOLUTION UNDER RULE 35, MAY 22, 2018

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Recognizing the Villanova University Men's Basketball Team for
- winning the 2018 National Collegiate Athletic Association
- 3 Championship.
- 4 WHEREAS, On April 2, 2018, the National Collegiate Athletic
- 5 Association (NCAA) Championship was held in San Antonio, Texas;
- 6 and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Villanova University men's basketball team
- 8 emerged victorious over the University of Michigan men's
- 9 basketball team; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The Villanova Wildcats scored a total of 79 points
- 11 over the Michigan Wolverines' 62 points; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Villanova won all 6 of its tournament games by 12 or
- 13 more points and is the first team in 50 years to win both Final
- 14 Four games by 16 or more points; and

- 1 WHEREAS, Villanova became the fourth school in the last 50
- 2 years to win two NCAA Championships in three years; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Head Coach Jay Wright, along with Ashley Howard,
- 4 Kyle Neptune and George Halcovage, coached the team to victory;
- 5 and
- 6 WHEREAS, Mike Nardi, Mike Clark, Arleshia Davidson, Jeff
- 7 Pierce and John Shackleton provided integral support and
- 8 direction; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Jalen Brunson, Collin Gillespie, Eric Paschall, Phil
- 10 Booth, Donte DiVincenzo, Omari Spellman, Dhamir Cosby-Roundtree,
- 11 Peyton Heck, Jermaine Samuels, Tom Leibig, Mikal Bridges, Tim
- 12 Delaney, Matt Kennedy, Denny Grace and Dylan Painter comprised
- 13 the winning team; therefore be it
- 14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives recognize the
- 15 Villanova University Men's Basketball Team for winning the 2018
- 16 National Collegiate Athletic Association Championship.