THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

SENATE BILL

No. 927

Session of 2007

INTRODUCED BY FUMO, TARTAGLIONE, FONTANA, GREENLEAF, D. WHITE, McILHINNEY, LOGAN, RHOADES AND FERLO, JUNE 11, 2007

REFERRED TO GAME AND FISHERIES, JUNE 11, 2007

AN ACT

- 1 Amending Title 34 (Game) of the Pennsylvania Consolidated
- 2 Statutes, further providing for organization of commission.
- 3 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 4 hereby enacts as follows:
- 5 Section 1. Section 301 of Title 34 of the Pennsylvania
- 6 Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:
- 7 § 301. Organization of commission.
- 8 (a) Composition. -- The independent administrative commission
- 9 known as the Pennsylvania Game Commission shall consist of
- 10 [eight] 12 competent citizens of this Commonwealth who shall be
- 11 well informed on the subject of wildlife conservation and
- 12 restoration and who shall be appointed as follows:
- 13 (1) Eight members by the Governor, by and with the
- advice and consent of [two-thirds] a majority of the elected
- members of the Senate.
- 16 (2) One member by the President pro tempore of the
- 17 <u>Senate who is not an elected official.</u>
- 18 (3) One member by the Minority Leader of the Senate who

- 1 <u>is not an elected official.</u>
- 2 (4) One member by the Speaker of the House of
- Representatives who is not an elected official.
- 4 (5) One member by the Minority Leader of the House of
- 5 Representatives who is not an elected official.
- 6 (b) Qualifications. -- The members of the commission appointed
- 7 by the Governor shall be appointed from the various geographical
- 8 sections of this Commonwealth so that one and only one shall be
- 9 a resident of each of the following districts:
- 10 (1) The counties of Erie, Crawford, Mercer, Lawrence,
- 11 Venango, Butler, Warren, Forest and Clarion, constituting the
- 12 first district.
- 13 (2) The counties of Beaver, Allegheny, Washington,
- 14 Greene, Armstrong, Indiana, Westmoreland and Fayette,
- 15 constituting the second district.
- 16 (3) The counties of McKean, Elk, Jefferson, Potter,
- 17 Cameron, Clearfield, Clinton and Centre, constituting the
- 18 third district.
- 19 (4) The counties of Cambria, Somerset, Blair, Bedford,
- 20 Huntingdon and Fulton, constituting the fourth district.
- 21 (5) The counties of Tioga, Lycoming, Union, Bradford,
- 22 Sullivan, Columbia, Montour and Northumberland, constituting
- 23 the fifth district.
- 24 (6) The counties of Snyder, Mifflin, Juniata, Franklin,
- Perry, Cumberland, Adams, Dauphin, York, Lebanon and
- Lancaster, constituting the sixth district.
- 27 (7) The counties of Susquehanna, Wyoming, Luzerne,
- 28 Lackawanna, Carbon, Wayne, Pike and Monroe, constituting the
- 29 seventh district.
- 30 (8) The counties of Schuylkill, Berks, Chester,

- 1 Northampton, Lehigh, Bucks, Montgomery, Philadelphia and
- 2 Delaware, constituting the eighth district.
- 3 (c) Term of office and compensation. -- The members of the
- 4 commission appointed by the Governor shall hold office for terms
- 5 of eight years each and may continue to hold office for a period
- 6 of time not to exceed six months or until a successor is
- 7 appointed and qualified, whichever occurs first. A member of the
- 8 commission appointed to fill a vacancy for a period of four
- 9 years or less may be eligible for appointment to a full eight-
- 10 year term. A member of the commission who serves a full eight-
- 11 year term or fills a vacancy for a period of more than four
- 12 years shall not be eligible for reappointment to the commission
- 13 until a period of eight years expires. All other commissioners
- 14 shall serve terms of office coterminous with that of each
- 15 <u>commissioner's appointing authority.</u> Commissioners shall receive
- 16 no compensation for their services, but may be reimbursed for
- 17 travel expenses.
- 18 (d) Vacancies.--Upon the death, resignation or removal from
- 19 office of any person so appointed, the [Governor] respective
- 20 appointing authority shall appoint a competent person to serve
- 21 for the unexpired term as provided in subsection (a).
- 22 Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.