## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## HOUSE RESOLUTION No. 104 Session of 2003

INTRODUCED BY McCALL, DeWEESE, HERSHEY, ALLEN, ARGALL, BAKER, BARD, BARRAR, BASTIAN, BEBKO-JONES, BELARDI, BELFANTI, BROWNE, BUNT, CAPPELLI, CAWLEY, CIVERA, CLYMER, CORRIGAN, COSTA, COY, CREIGHTON, CRUZ, DALEY, DELUCA, DERMODY, DONATUCCI, D. EVANS, FAIRCHILD, FEESE, FICHTER, FLEAGLE, FLICK, FORCIER, GABIG, GEIST, GEORGE, GOODMAN, GRUCELA, HARHAI, HARPER, HASAY, HENNESSEY, HERMAN, HESS, HORSEY, HUTCHINSON, JAMES, KELLER, KIRKLAND, KOTIK, LAUGHLIN, LEACH, LEDERER, LEH, LEVDANSKY, MAJOR, MARKOSEK, McILHATTAN, McNAUGHTON, MELIO, S. MILLER, MUNDY, NAILOR, PAYNE, PHILLIPS, PICKETT, PIPPY, PISTELLA, READSHAW, REICHLEY, ROBERTS, ROHRER, RUBLEY, SAINATO, SATHER, SCAVELLO, SHANER, B. SMITH, S. H. SMITH, SOLOBAY, STABACK, R. STEVENSON, SURRA, E. Z. TAYLOR, TIGUE, TRUE, TURZAI, WALKO, WASHINGTON, WATSON, WILT, WOJNAROSKI, YOUNGBLOOD AND YUDICHAK, MARCH 3, 2003

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL AFFAIRS, MARCH 3, 2003

## A RESOLUTION

1 2 3	Memorializing the Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee of the United States Postal Service to issue a commemorative stamp honoring coal miners.
4	WHEREAS, Our entire nation owes our coal miners a great deal
5	more than we could ever repay them for the difficult and
б	dangerous job which they perform so that we can have the fuel we
7	need to operate our industries and to heat our homes; and
8	WHEREAS, Coal mining is as much of a culture as it is an
9	industry; and
10	WHEREAS, Coal miners sacrifice life and limb for little
11	recognition, and it would be proper and fitting for our nation

to recognize our coal miners, past and present, for their
contributions; therefore be it

3 RESOLVED, That the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of 4 Pennsylvania memorialize the Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee 5 of the United States Postal Service to issue a commemorative stamp honoring our coal miners and their contributions to our 6 nation and its citizens; and be it further 7 8 RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be delivered to the 9 Citizens' Stamp Advisory Committee, c/o Stamp Development, United States Postal Service, 475 L'Enfant Plaza, SW, Room 5670, 10 Washington, D.C. 20260-2437, to the presiding officers of each 11 house of Congress and to each member of Congress from 12 13 Pennsylvania.