THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

HOUSE RESOLUTION

No. 363

Session of 1990

INTRODUCED BY COHEN, RIEGER, RAYMOND, VROON, COLE, JACKSON, PISTELLA, FAIRCHILD, STISH, JOHNSON, WAMBACH, WASS, TIGUE, NOYE, MAIALE, D. F. CLARK, RYBAK, FARMER, ROBINSON, FARGO, CALTAGIRONE, ANGSTADT, HOWLETT, ARGALL, PESCI, LANGTRY, KOSINSKI, B. SMITH, D. R. WRIGHT, MOEHLMANN, MORRIS, LASHINGER, WOZNIAK, HAGARTY, BELFANTI, E. Z. TAYLOR, VAN HORNE, GEIST, CARN, MIHALICH, PETRARCA, HUGHES, MARKOSEK, BROUJOS, TRELLO, BISHOP, TANGRETTI, PETRONE, GIGLIOTTI, MELIO, CORRIGAN, LINTON, ITKIN, DOMBROWSKI AND OLASZ, SEPTEMBER 25, 1990

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON RULES, SEPTEMBER 25, 1990

A RESOLUTION

- 1 Urging the Governor to proclaim October 20, 1990, as
- 2 "Committeeperson Day."
- 3 WHEREAS, Pennsylvania's many Democratic and Republican
- 4 elected committeemen and committeewomen work hard, both for
- 5 their political parties and for public interests of the
- 6 citizenry at large; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Our Democratic and Republican committeepeople
- 8 receive no compensation for their efforts; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Democratic and Republican committeepeople register
- 10 voters, serve as community leaders and get Pennsylvania citizens
- 11 active in the political process; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The difficulty of their task, public ignorance of
- 13 the importance of their work and the increasing reliance on
- 14 media campaigns have all led to a great number of party

- 1 committee vacancies over the years; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Elected committeepeople play a vital role in
- 3 electing legislators of both parties and in conveying the
- 4 concerns of many voters to all elected officials; therefore be
- 5 it
- 6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives memorialize the
- 7 Governor of this Commonwealth of Pennsylvania to set aside
- 8 October 20, 1990, as "Committeeperson Day" in order to pay
- 9 tribute to the dedicated and selfless efforts of these volunteer
- 10 public servants; and be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be transmitted to
- 12 the Governor.