## THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF PENNSYLVANIA

## **HOUSE BILL**

No. 118

Session of 1983

INTRODUCED BY LEHR, COSLETT, SEVENTY, MANMILLER, DAVIES, DOMBROWSKI, D. R. WRIGHT, STEVENS, MICOZZIE, E. Z. TAYLOR, BELFANTI, KOSINSKI, JAROLIN, WILSON, HASAY, BELARDI AND CESSAR, FEBRUARY 1, 1983

REFERRED TO COMMITTEE ON CONSUMER AFFAIRS, FEBRUARY 1, 1983

## AN ACT

- 1 Amending Title 66 (Public Utilities) of the Pennsylvania
- 2 Consolidated Statutes, requiring commissioners to be
- 3 appointed from designated geographic districts.
- 4 The General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania
- 5 hereby enacts as follows:
- 6 Section 1. Section 301(a) of Title 66 of the Pennsylvania
- 7 Consolidated Statutes is amended to read:
- 8 § 301. Establishment, members, qualifications and chairman.
- 9 (a) Appointment and terms of members.--The Pennsylvania
- 10 Public Utility Commission, established by the act of March 31,
- 11 1937 (P.L.160, No.43), as an independent administrative
- 12 commission, is hereby continued as such and shall consist of
- 13 five members who shall be appointed by the Governor, by and with
- 14 the advice and consent of two-thirds of all the members of the
- 15 Senate, for a term of [ten] four years. No commissioner upon the
- 16 expiration of his term shall continue to hold office until his
- 17 successor shall be duly appointed or shall be qualified. Each

- 1 member chosen shall be a resident of and shall represent one of
- 2 the following regional districts:
- 3 (1) District I Consisting of the counties of
- 4 Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Butler, Cambria, Cameron,
- 5 <u>Centre, Clarion, Clearfield, Clinton, Crawford, Elk, Erie,</u>
- 6 Forest, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, Jefferson, Lawrence,
- 7 Lycoming, McKean, Mercer, Potter, Somerset, Tioga, Venango
- 8 and Warren.
- 9 (2) District II Consisting of the counties of
- 10 Allegheny, Fayette, Greene, Indiana, Washington and
- 11 <u>Westmoreland</u>.
- 12 (3) District III Consisting of the counties of Adams,
- Bradford, Columbia, Cumberland, Dauphin, Juniata, Lackawanna,
- 14 <u>Lancaster, Lebanon, Luzerne, Mifflin, Monroe, Montour,</u>
- Northumberland, Perry, Pike, Snyder, Sullivan, Susquehanna,
- 16 <u>Union, Wayne, Wyoming and York.</u>
- 17 (4) District IV Consisting of the counties of Berks,
- 18 Bucks, Carbon, Chester, Delaware, Lehigh, Northampton and
- 19 Schuylkill.
- 20 (5) District V Consisting of the counties of
- 21 Montgomery and Philadelphia.
- 22 \* \* \*
- 23 Section 2. This act shall take effect in 60 days.