1Congratulating The Pennsylvania State University wrestling team
2on its third consecutive National Collegiate Athletic
3Association Division I Wrestling Championship.

4WHEREAS, The Penn State wrestling team won its third straight
5National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Wrestling
6Championship, becoming only the third team in the history of
7NCAA Division I wrestling to win three consecutive
8championships; and

9WHEREAS, The Penn State wrestling team won its third
10consecutive Big Ten Conference Wrestling title two weeks prior
11to its NCAA championship, the only three wrestling Big Ten
12Conference titles in the school's history; and

13WHEREAS, Penn State wrestling head coach Cael Sanderson was
14named the National Wrestling Coaches Association Coach of the
15Year due to the team's continued success and has been named Big
16Ten Conference Coach of the Year in each of the last three
17seasons; and

18WHEREAS, Penn State wrestler Quentin Wright won his second

1NCAA wrestling title and is Penn State University's sixth four-
2time All-American; and

3WHEREAS, Penn State wrestler Ed Ruth won his second NCAA
4wrestling title and has currently won 68 straight matches,
5dating back to 2011, and was named the 2013 Big Ten Conference
6Wrestler of the Year; and

7WHEREAS, Penn State wrestler David Taylor won the 2013
8Gorriaran Award for the most pins in the least time at the
9national championships; and

10WHEREAS, Penn State wrestler Matt Brown won the Elite 89
11Award for the top student athlete at the national championships
12with a 3.97 grade point average; and

13WHEREAS, Fifteen individuals on Penn State wrestling's 37-
14person roster were named to the Academic All-Big Ten Conference
15team with individual grade point averages over 3.00; therefore
16be it

17RESOLVED, That the Senate congratulate The Pennsylvania State
18University wrestling team on its third consecutive National
19Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Wrestling
20Championship and its continued success both athletically and